We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old standby loses its luster”
Review of Sylvano

Sylvano
Ranked #32 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An old standby loses its luster”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I used to love Sylvano's and would dine here three or four times when I visited Miami. On this last trip, however, everything was off - the pasta was undercooked, the eggplant parmigiana was over seasoned and overall, the food was incredibly disappointing. Hope Sylvano's gets its mojo back until then, avoid it.

Helpful?
1 Thank citymom_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    134
    36
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is a gem hidden among the overpriced and over rated South Beach restaurants. Reasonable prices, good wine selection and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Looper745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had searched quite a bit to find a great restaurant. The reviews for this place were excellent. But our night was disappointing. Maybe their regular chef was off? It was a Tuesday night. Our meal left alot to be desired. The house salad was wilted, small and tasteless. My chicken parmigiana was pretty much like what I could make at home. My partners Veal was tough and chewy. We left fairly quickly. There was another group of Italian men nearby and a couple of guys at the bar but the place was fairly dead with little atmosphere. Felt very let down, we also had taken a taxi from another area to this place. Certainly didn't feel very welcome there and we won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic Italian Dining”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went with a group of 14 for dinner. Service was excellent, despite several from our party showing up at different times. I ordered the porcini mushrooms risotto which was cooked to perfection with the mushrooms accenting the finely ground pasta. The presentation of the plate was apparently so delicious that the group member seated next to me bit into my risotto before I could start eating. He claimed that he thought it was another delicious appetizer. The staff was understanding and gave me another order free of charge in a reasonable amount of time. My husband ate the Veal Scaloppini with artichokes which he enjoyed. Appetizers were fried calamari and zucchini. The calamari was notable in that it was not rubbery like most we have had at other places. Manager was present to ensure that the dinner was served to perfection.

Our group leader asked for photos of our group both at the table and in front of the restaurant. The staff were more than accomadating, operating the digital SLR camera provided with persistent patience. We joined the staff and management in a photo and the staff were jockeying among themselves to be included in the picture. The staff definetly enjoyed working at Sylvano's.

The restaurant location was excellent, just a block off of Collins street on Liberty. The patio was perfectly designed and decorated, blocking out strong gusts of wind, but allowing the gentle sea breeze to embrace the diners.

The only negative is parking.The restaurant is in a residential parking area. Come early and be prepared to walk, it is worth it. Also note that the current address on Liberty is not updated on many GPS units. the old Alton address comes up - plug in the liberty address. The staff are true Italians - getting directions over the phone was difficult for me to understand, especially while in SoBe traffic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our Favorite!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A little off the beaten path but so worth it! The food is authentic Italian. Reasonable prices and large portions. All the locals go here. Staff is awesome. You will also meet the owner who is always there and friendly. Best little secret of South Beach!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank trowland57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvano also viewed

Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Sylvano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing