We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Art Deco but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #182 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Old hotel but very comfortable. Stayed 11 days from Jan 6 through Jan 16. Rates vary during the week but average cost before taxes was $117.15 per day. A nice bargain in South Beach! Many rooms with outside stair access. Nice comfortable courtyard to relax and enjoy a beverage. Great location! Only 2 short blocks to Lincoln Road Mall. Good size bedroom, closet, safe, dining room (with extra sofa bed) and table, desk area, kitchen, and small bathroom with tub and shower. Nice bar with continental breakfast served daily. Staff was very friendly. A dozen places to eat within 2 block area including Jerry's and the Grillfish. Some past reviews mention the noise but with the exception of one night , I found it to be very relaxing. Nice TV, iron, ironing board, and hair dryer. Overall it was very clean and decorated art deco. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSnyder10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 505 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in Beach Plaza a week ago while travelling to Miami. We packed up our stuff the night before we are taking off. The next morning we woke up, found out our driver's license/ID, camera, laptop, cash and all credit cards were gone. We called the cops, they pulled the surveillance video from the hotel, found out that someone had keys to our room and sneaked into our room during our sleep and took our bags while we were sleeping, went out and searched for stuff he wants in the bag, and came back in to return our bags (so it appeared the same as last night).
I can't imagine how easy can someone get access to our hotel room key and the burglar actually has so much confident to sneak into our room when we are INSIDE the room? How can he be so sure we were asleep, and won't hear him? It just seem pretty shady to me. Thank God the burglar didn't have other worse intention than stealing--I can't imagine otherwise. This tells us how safe this hotel is.
Other than that, room is clean at least, small room, no sound proof at all, meaning you can hear exactly what your neighbors are doing. The bed squeaks, hard wood floor makes a sound whenever someone walks, so if you stay at a room right under someone else's: tough luck.
If you want a cheap place to stay and you can stay awake the whole night watching your stuff so they don't get stolen, this is place. NOT recommended at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugenia1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

This is a very unfortunate. However, this guest had forgotten to mention some details about this incident. To begin, no one got access to this room key. The guest left the room door open and so allowing anyone to access. This was all on camera pulled up by the police. If you leave your doors opened, then you invite anyone to enter. Many individuals, who rent hotel rooms, have a misconception that a hotel is a completely safe environment and that they had no responsibility to safeguard their property. If you leave you doors open, then even the guest next door has access to your room. When this happens, then the hotel has no control over who enters your room, regardless of the level of security provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I read the reviews, and some were bad but we decided to see for ourselves. We are glad we did. Ingrid (ask for her!) was great, we received a free upgrade to a very nice renovated room. (Much larger then the reviews) The beach is 2 min. away, nice, and clean. We were close to everything, lots of night life. It is in the middle of toen so if you need quiet to sleep, bring your ear plugs. Breakfast was a very full continental breakfast with many, choices. The five o'clock glass of wine is for everyone is nice, but we didn't try it so you are on your own. (we thought it was a drink credit of your choice at the bar in the hotel). We thought for the price the accomidations were very, very good and would stay here again anytime.
Many excursions are available from the hotel and many other leave from there. ***Leave U.S. Excursions alone..."Mike" (the barker across the street) will tell you will get 10 hours in Key West ....we had four...got there at noon - left at 4:30. He will tell you about the best Key West sunsets...again...we left around 4:30. "Luxury bus".. old bus, bathroom sign says: "#1 ONLY". "Free breakfast"....some guy throws a honey bun and a juice box at you......Try another company!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveler5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

This is a very unfortunate. However, this guest had forgotten to mention some details about this incident. To begin, no one got access to this room key. The guest left the room door open and so allowing anyone to access. This was all on camera pulled up by the police. If you leave your doors opened, then you invite anyone to enter. Many individuals, who rent hotel rooms, have a misconception that a hotel is a completely safe environment and that they had no responsibility to safeguard their property. If you leave you doors open, then even the guest next door has access to your room. When this happens, then the hotel has no control over who enters your room, regardless of the level of security provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Tried to check-in at 3PM and was informed the room wasn't ready. Desk clerk said he would call us. At 5PM, no call. We called the hotel & was told that we had checked in. Of course we informed them we hadn't. Finally got our room and I couldn't believe how small the bathroom was and how outdated the decor is. Bed was terribly uncomfortable. We had a huge mirror embellished in wood freestanding in front of the closet. Couldn't figure why it was there. The room was so small and it certainly didn't need this huge mirror. Called the front desk to complain about the room, but he said no other room available. Hard to believe as it was a Thursday. We believe the room we booked was given to someone else since they thought we had already been check in. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money and get a different hotel. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endlesskeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Truly disappointed that these guests did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel. To begin our check-in time is indeed 3pm however due to the high occupancy for the day all rooms may not be ready at exactly 3pm. While this is rare, it happens at hotels all over the world. Our hotel normally stores the guests’ luggage and allows them to have a drink in our bar while they wait. The clerk did inform these guests that they were already checked-in because that hotel clerk did in fact check the guests in the system, not necessarily physically in the hotel. Hence when these guests had called back to inquire if the room was ready, their status had already showed checked-in at the time. The clerk should have explained this to these guests to avoid any confusion. Hence, we did not give the room to another guest. Our occupancy is high year round so regardless of the week day, it is not unusual to have a sold out status in this hotel. Hence the hotel could not have moved the guest to another room seeing that we were sold out. Due to high guests' demand, the hotel bought large mirrors for the hotel rooms. We do hope that these guests will return and give us a second chance to truly show our South Beach hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is an art deco style hotel located only a block from the beach. While it's an older hotel, it's very clean, in good condition and the service from the staff is excellent. Rooms are average size with all the usual amenities. Overall, we had a great stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed at the Beach Plaza Hotel & must admit from the reviews were not sure what to expect, but it is a comfortable, clean & welcoming place ,the rooms were plenty large enough but lacking enough hangers & drawer space if staying for a while , Large beds that were very very comfortable & a good bathroom, although the shower was not very powerfull & a bit hit & miss on the temperature, we stayed there for 9 nights althought it seems like a hotel that has a large turnover of guests that stay just a few days , We experienced some noise at night from other guests but that can only be expected & was not a problem,The location is excellent & if you are going to South beach for a few days it is an excellent choice of hotel, the complimentary toiletries were great & the room service was done everyday & we were always provided with big fully white towels , more than we needed most days , they provide a hairdryer , iron & board in each room along with a safe & air con & falt screen tv not a massive range of stations but enough for the amount of time you spend in the room ,as it was a long holiday I would have liked more creature comforts but thats just me, nothing to do at the hotel at night just a small bar not a place that outsiders come to but ok. Breakfast was continental again nothing over the top but adequate & the daily room charge of approx $10 ( £6) includes this , wifi connection & a glass of wine at 5pm & beach towels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizze7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hotel is the nastiest hotel i have ever been, our room wasnt ready so we get upgraded but there are bed bugs and roaches in the room. We move but get the same, the elevator cant accomodate more than 3 people but its only for the front part of the hotel, the back part has no elevator just steep stairs. you have to pay for the complimentary breakfast. The location is great its right by the beach but not worth that price

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acheron81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

We are sorry that these guests were less than satisfied. If your room type is not ready we move you to another room type of your choice. We are noted for checking our guests in as soon as we have the rooms ready; even at 8am in the morning for a 3 pm check-in. All our beds are encased in bed bugs, moths, bugs resistant coverings that cannot penetrate the mattresses. It is an extra step we take to ensure that we are protected during recent outbreaks of bed bugs throughout the US. This is an important step because bed bugs show no bias; they appear in the most luxurious 5-diamond properties to the least of hotels. Our elevator is an antique elevator that is fully certified and is religiously serviced every month. Due to the fact that the elevator is historic, it only holds 3 at once. Breakfast is included in our resort fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#159 of 214 in Miami Beach
766 reviews
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#187 of 214 in Miami Beach
125 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#83 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Princess Ann Hotel
#139 of 214 in Miami Beach
630 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#94 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $138 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing