We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, Great Location, Noisy, Unique Hotel, Not Well Suited For Children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #175 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I am 30 years old and traveled with my 38 year old husband and our 9 month old son so please consider our needs when we travel. Room 243 was very spacious and unique. We had a full microwave and refrigerator in our large sized kitchen seperate from the bedroom (stove was available, but not usable unless you were staying over 30 days). This was great because we were able to rent a crib and our son could sleep while we watched TV at night. The hotel has NO elevator, which made it difficult to get our luggage and stroller in and out. There is also no pool or restaurant. The valet parking costs $25 extra and although they said it would be 10 minutes, it took more like 25 minutes. The cost of our stay was inexpensive for the area. We were only 1 block off of South Beach and there is a beautiful walkway there beside the beach as well as endless shopping. There is a bar and a hookah bar right next to the check in that is available to the public and a nice garden area with couches to enjoy your hookah. Breakfast was complimentary from 8-9:30 and a free glass of wine between 5-6 p.m., which we didn't get to do. The bed was not the most confortable, but the noise...the noise...at different times during the night my door might as well have been open. I could hear people coming in and out, up and down the stairs at all hours. Although it is advertised as a hotel, it was more like a motel because of the set up. Think old apartment building. Then when the sun came out I could hear slamming doors from common areas over and over. Other guests slamming their room doors, etc. It was not the most restful sleep. I would not recommend this hotel mainly due to the noise factor, maybe if I had more drinks and smoked some hookah I would have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 496 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2010

Stayed here some years ago in october 06 to be exact. Hotel is not beach located, but looks very cute also from the inside. A personally decorated room. So not a modern style anonymous room.

All in the area is perfectly on walking distance. The hotels seemed to host mainly couples or groups in their 20's and 30's. We found it to be a quiet stay and liked it a lot. We found a good deal online and read some reviews. The restaurant was a good option too to eat.

Room was cleaned o.k., but my wife had one bad experience when she found out that the cleaning person must have likes my wifes chewing gum, since they ate from it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed at the beach plaza hotel during Spring Break. The hotel staff was professional and the rooms were quite clean. It was only a block from the beach, which was great. They also provide free breakfast, wine in the evening and wi-fi. The only drawback was that the bathroom was small.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shashankhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

did not get the room i booked. had to pay 25 dollars per day to park my car. very noisy outside at nite, hard to sleep. the door to the room was flimsy. the crawlspace in the bathroom that i could see into and hear the next door neighbor in thier bathroom was creepy. elevator very small. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetset363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

The hotels in South Beach are generally Art Deco. As result the bathrooms, rooms, elevators may be smaller than more modern properties. Many guests who are familiar with the Art Deco Style tend to come to this area with that expectation. Parking is a challenge in South Beach and everyone has to pay to park. We offer competitive valet rates when compared to other properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I can't believe this hotel is still in business in South Beach. Staying here put such a damper on our trip. The worst thing about it was the terrible staff. Our room was never cleaned the entire 5 days we were there and when we asked for so much as a towel we were told no. The hotel also kept our $150.00 security deposit saying that they used it to cover the taxes, fee's and breakfast (which we thought was included and consisted of a bagel and cream cheese). When we booked the trip on travelocity it said that all taxes and fees were included in our rate....don't believe it if you stay here. Also the hotel is under construction which is not mentioned anywhere on Travelocity or on the hotel website. I think that is something a traveler should be aware of. Other issues....very small rooms, no drawer space and bad smells...Stay Away!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

We are saddened that there were issues with this stay. Our staff are trained to give the best guest service possible and do endeavor to make every guest satisfied. Rarely do we get complaints about our staff being rude. We have a storeroom with extra unused towels that we keep as a back-up. It is rather strange that the hotel would refuse to give extra towels. The rooms are serviced everyday with no exceptions. If a room was not serviced, it was due to a "DND" sign placed on the door. In such a case we cannot enter a guest room. Our housekeeping department will notify our front desk at the end of the day concerning rooms that: refused service, had DND signs, or simply ask for only towels. This information is kept on record for 30 days to prevent situations mentioned in the review. As is customary hotels do ask for a security deposit against incidentals. If a reservation is prepaid through Travelocity, then room costs and the taxes associated with those room charges are also covered. If there are incidentals (parking, resort fee, bar, telephone) then the guest can use the deposit for those incidentals or pay with another method. Yes there are taxes associated with incidentals and those taxes are not covered by the travel agent. Hence the guest is required to cover those costs. Travelocity only covers room and taxes. Their terms clearly state that a credit card will be required at check-in for incidentals. If the hotel "kept" the deposit, it was because the incidentals consumed the deposit. Guests are given a very detailed invoice at check-out which shows all charged incurred during the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

THE BAD:::
The Suite was nice because we had a microwave and ice box to keep the beer cold. When we first walked in the room there was an awful smell, so we went out and bought son incense. I had to KILL a big A Waterbug!! The Upstairs guest complained about our music Playing before 10pm in South Beach....and it was not even loud. You get plenty of unfriendly travelers from over seas. Don't say good morning to them ,they don't talk back.
right now construction is going on and it gets loud early around 9am...

THE GOOD: The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was chilly and the heat was not working, they bought us a heater. The free breakfast in the morning is nice. The housekeeping service is nice and the sheets are clean. Bring your own blanket, theirs is hard. Bring some air freshener. The suite is good especially if you have kids. It is like an apartment and somewhat spacious. I would stay here again , but my next trip I am going to try somewhere else until I am 100% impressed. It was a little below my standards, but clean. call and see if they are finish construction first!!! it could affect your sleep.

overall we were a block from the beach and ocean drive, location was great, we got what we paid for!!! location

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigdeneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My trip to South Beach, Miami, with my husband was absolutely incredible! The staff at Beach Plaza hotel was phenomenal from the moment we got there. I was surprised to see just how amazing the location was of the hotel. If you want to be in the heart of South Beach while getting a very intimate experience that isn't ruined by loud music all night, then this is the place to stay. The nightly rates were very affordable as well considering the other hotels. One black away from the ocean. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teleopti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#136 of 212 in Miami Beach
158 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#181 of 212 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#76 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,578 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#145 of 212 in Miami Beach
615 reviews
Hotel Belleza
#94 of 212 in Miami Beach
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $99 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing