We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #175 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night and thought it was better than expected as it was not our chosen hotel but Travel Republic emailed the day before and canceled our original hotel and put us in this one.
We were put out when we arrived by all the building work and roadworks outside ( not the hotels fault ) but the guy in reception made us feel very welcome and was very pleasant and we found all the staff helpful.
The rooms were basic but clean and had everything we needed and the continental breakfast was ok. Overall the hotel was super for the price and we would stay again.
The bar area was pleasant with a complimentary wine in the afternoon and the seating in the garden area was nice to breakfast in.
We had a great time in South Beach and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 395Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Your kind review is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for The Beach Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 493 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Only stayed one night, booked with Hotwire. Room was huge and newly renovated included a king bed, hida-bed and a kitchen. Furnishings were old and dated. From talking with other guests it sounds that the quality of rooms vastly depends on which building you are in.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are in the process of upgrading our hotel and so room types vary. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked a 'standard triple' through an agent. They only have rooms with one or two very small 'double' beds that I wouldn't be able to sleep in with my wife, let alone a friend.

The rooms are old and decrepit and the staff are unhelpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobbyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your response. We appreciate this review as it gives us an opportunity to clarify your reservation details. If you booked a triple room, it is for three persons and not three beds. This is a description used by many travel agents and not by the hotel. This hotel has suites, double beds and rooms with king beds. We have never advertised or sold a room indicating three beds. We do apologize for this misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Worst hotel in my life ,the breakfast is horrible the people who works there treat you so bad ,it doesent have swiming pool ,looks very old and dirty ,everything in the rooms is broken ,the windows,the bathrooms doors etc ,no promotors for clubs definately not going back there ,shitest hotel in the world

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

We appreciate your feedback. It would be very helpful if the review had more specifics in order to provide a better response. Nevertheless we consider all reviews vital for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location near the beach. Yes, it's older and a little scruffy, but it's clean. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it fills you up and you can sit in the pleasant patio while eating. The staff was friendly and helpful. You really can't expect much more of hotels at this price point.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guitarman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for a pleasant review. We endeavor to offer excellent service to our guests. Come and stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Beach Plaza Hotel is perfectly located just off Ocean Drive and walking distance to anywhere you wanna be or be seen - including the beautiful beach. The hotel is Art Deco old but has a European flair with wooden floors and stucko walls. The staff was exemplary of a 5 star hotel. From front desk clerk to bartender to concierge - they were all friendly and helpful for any of our questions. Granted, the morning breakfast was just yogurt, bagels, bananas and coffee, but what do you expect for prices one half to one third of other comparable hotels just a block or so away. The beach and clubs and restaurants are all so close by you don't need to drive. Park in the public parking deck a block away and walk everywhere. The only drawback was the car noise on Collins Ave which is more an indictment on an inconsiderate society blaring music at 3am and less so on the sound deadening properties of the windows - but bring earplugs for deep sleep. Otherwise the hotel is a nice place to hang out in the middle of all the South Beach action at a reasonable price.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joeyanchovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

We appreciate your review. Yes Collins Avenue can get quite loud depending on the time of year. Come and visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were looking for a convenient hotel for one night in south Beach. Price, location and parking were the things we were searching for. We have been to Miami before and were therefore looking for a hotel close to the beach, the shopping area and restaurants. The hotel is easy to access from the Airport and has a value parking which makes your stay so much easier. Good service and fast check in/check out. A baggage room for storage. We did not eat breakfast there as we like to enjoy a good breakfast outside when we are on hollidays. Again, it is a 3 minutes walk to the beach and a short walk to the main shopping street. The rooms are okay, but maybe not a place I would stay if i was going to spend a lot of time inside the hotel. This is a hotel were you drop you bags of and enjoy Miami outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vivaparaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 210 in Miami Beach
608 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#81 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#176 of 210 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,221 reviews
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#194 of 210 in Miami Beach
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $88 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing