We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many are better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Many are better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was not ready at the 3pm check in time. We were upgraded to a room in the front of the hotel. It was a nice room but awful location. It was so loud we didn't sleep for 2nights. Also, upon arrival the first hotel clerk was very rude but all others were pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do have rooms located at the front of the hotel which are larger and have more amenities. However, they overlook Collins Avenue which can be a little noisy depending on the activities in South Beach at the time of your stay. With that said, South Beach is not known for being a quiet city. Most guests expect to go out and have a wild time. We also have rooms facing the courtyard. Please be sure to request one of those the next time you come to visit. Our front desk agents are shown all reviews including yours and corrective measures are always taken to ensure improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    133
    53
    87
See reviews for
50
161
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I Recommend this place if you want a clean, reasonable place in a great area! The service was fantastic too. Breakfast served until about 945. Tons of nice places nearby to eat, club and beach. I went to the club mansion nearby and also the clevelander, two cool spots

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rong198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Okay, so it's not the Ritz, but then it's not priced to be, reception staf were helpful and friendly, given that the first room I was allocated, still had people in it.. they pretty quickly got me another, room was clean, bed was a good size, furniture a little 90's, the air con a bit noisey, like an old chevy or something, but I had plenty of storage space and mini dressing room, the safe battery ran out, but the shower was hot as a turkish sauna, and everything was kept as clean as possible.
Continental breakfast OJ and Coffee and Muffins for on the run.
On business, so just doing 3 nights, don't need luxury and it's just me, central / clean / cheap.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the back - off Collins as it's busy, try and check out the Air Con for noise.. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyFWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel endeavors to make every guest happy. Come and visit with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed August 9 - 13 from a groupon. The service was spectacular. The room was clean. The smoke detector would go off if my shower was too hot! lol! But i would definitely stay there agin. Close to everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuereL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had an awesome stay at this hotel. There were a few days that we had to wait for extra towels and wash cloths, but the staff made the wait less painful. Great stay for the price! Excellent service. Overall I rate this hotel 4 out of 5 stars. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iyanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Carnival Weekend is indeed a fun weekend at the hotel. Come and visit with us during our Ultrafest and Winter Music Conference Parties in March! Those are even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, nc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

First I want to say the employees did the best they could considering the situation. I applaud everyone who worked there during my stay but the owners of this hotel needs a reality check. The room was small ok I can deal with that, but when you have women coming to south beach to party and hang out we need 1. mirrors in the room and 2. wash cloths, towels to bathe with. If you decide to stay here make sure you bring your own items to bathe with. Trying to get a wash cloth and towel was horrible. The bathroom mirror was so close to the ceiling I had to climb on the toilet seat just to apply my lipstick. The lighting was terrible I felt like we were in the bat cave. Good location but the room needs major updating. Dont stay here if you plan on spending a long period of time in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latoi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated. All rooms have mirrors, towels and all the general amenities expected in a hotel guest room. We are always open for suggestions and do use them when making improvements to our hotel. Please come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location...I got a Groupon to try this hotel ,I got a price of $129,00..but with hotel fees,taxes it is $159.00. Anyway ,we were on the 2nd floor,the above room,was no noisy,we can hear the person/persons walking because the floors are wood. There is a lot of light coming in on mornings. The plus is the courtyard,very nice and relaxing. The bar staff needs some customer service training. Overall,our stay was not that bad,considering the prices of hotels in the area. The bathroom and room were clean,so what more can one ask for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parent34646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Groupon’s terms are very clear in that taxes and fees are not included. Majority of the users understand this and are prepared to pay the appropriate differences in final costs. We work diligently to ensure that our rooms are clean. Thank you for noticing. Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#146 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#174 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Property: The Beach Plaza Hotel
Address: 1401 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing