We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay was very satisfactory, I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #49 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
new york
1 review
“My stay was very satisfactory, I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to South Beach”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

From the very first day the service was excellent. the staff made reservation for me at a awesome restaurant and my room was always cleaned on time. The food at the hotel was good but pricy however it is right in the middle of the South Beach action so options are but a few steps away. I very much enjoyed my stay and plan to stay at the Beacon whenever I'm in South Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samceeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    881
    268
    79
    54
See reviews for
484
946
90
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We have stayed here two other times and would stay at the Beacon Hotel again. The staff is very accommodating, the room was clean, and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjpetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Overall , a very good choice - great position bang in the middle of the busy south beach.
The only warning is to try and avoid a room at the front - because it can get really loud , really late!.
And yes we would go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I would definately stay at this hotel again. They were very friendly and accomidating. I called a week prior to my arrival to make sure they had my reservations and asked if they had a refridge in the room. They said there was only a mini bar, but they would request one for us. The only thing I didn't like about the room was there was no microwave to reheat food if you wanted to take leftovers from a restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelkissxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This hotel is in a very good location. Close to Lincoln mall road, Washington street(where all the night clubs are), the beach is right across the street, and lost of touristy restaurants. To be fair, the hotel has a character but it feels like a motel and very old, didn't give me a good feeling. The rooms were hot and humid. The AC didn't work as well, Couldn't sleep because of that. Don't stay here if you want a fairy nice hotel.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nazolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I loved this hotel and my stay in the Beacon on South Beach. The rooms were a little small but by the look of every other hotel on Ocean Drive, most rooms were probably this way. Service was excellent and everyone was so nice, made you feel very welcome. The only thing that was dissapointing was how expensive everything was, but that is pretty much a give if you stay on Ocean Drive. We were charged with a $200 deposit that we did not know about, and valet is $20 a day which comes up to a hefty amount of you are staying for a week like we did. You can park in public parking areas but it sums up to about the same amount and you still have to walk to your hotel. Most places had gratuity included and all restaurants are expensive unless you had to areas that are not as crowded and full of tourists. Room service was wonderful although everything that is in the mini-bar and that is consumed will be charged to your room, including water. There is currently some construction going on in the roof for a sun deck type which we got to see, seems like it will look beautiful, but since we stayed on the 5th floor we were awakened around 8:00 every day with these sounds. Other than that everything was wonderful. If I were to go back I would stay a little north maybe in Sunny Isles beach which is beautiful, less expensive, and not as crowded!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x0xperlax0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALTCOATS, AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hi everyone

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from Thursday 17th September before our cruise from Miami. I had emailed the hotel before we arrived as we were travelling from Scotland and would be arriving at the hotel at 9.30pm. They replied saying it is not a problem and added it into our reservation. Our Super Shuttle dropped us off outside and Ocean Drive was buzzing! There was a kind ladyt outside our hotel who helped us inside as we had many bags a toddler and a buggy!
We checked in and headed to our room on the 3rd floor, we never haqd much of a view but we never paid extra for a view, it was of Johnny Rockets the diner next door where we had our breakfast.

Our room had 2 queen beds, tv, fridge, safe, etc check out the pictures to get a better idea.

In the morning we said to reception about breakfast and they gave us a bit of paper to give to Johnny Rockets next door, we had cereal, toast and yoghart.

There is lots of buses around the corner, we got a bus to Bayside.

The bed was very comfortable, espically after all the travelling we did that day!

I would stay at the Beacon again in a heartbeat! The bedroom looked recently refurbished.

I used the free internet a few times, it was never busy.

We ate at the News Cafe, had drinks at Wet Willies, and got some water/juice etc from a Walgreen's nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandalsPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#96 of 207 in Miami Beach
836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing