We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Coming back!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

First time in miami the beacon was perfect! Very nice and clean room. Javier at front desk was very helpful he went above and beyond for me and my wife very appreciative Javier helped me find a great place to eat dinner and was very informative about the area

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jesus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    898
    287
    84
    59
See reviews for
512
971
93
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location, right in the center of Ocean Drive. The staff was very hospitable and friendly from the time we checked in until we checked out. My friends and I were there for my bachelorette trip and the front desk staff made sure we had a good time and provided us with party passes. The rooms were kept very clean and looked just like the pictures. The breakfast was probably our favorite part of the stay! It was delicious and there were many great options to choose from. We will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I, and our friends spent a few nights here while travelling around Florida. We had a great stay! We loved the location, the "style" of the hotel and the price. The rooms were small, as others have mentioned, but that seems to be the norm on South Beach. The bathroom doors were a little strange but not as bad as we had expected from other reviews (the glass is clouded and as long as the room isn't back lit you can hardly see in). Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. It is a wonderful option if you only have a short visit and want to be near the excitement of Ocean drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLove2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great location; great staff. The breakfast was included (delicious deal) and free Wi-Fi. The beach chairs were an added convenience too. The rooms are small, but what do you expect to have on Ocean Drive?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojourner814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I booked The Beacon for a 2-day getaway for my husband and I for his birthday. I chose this hotel because I wanted a boutique hotel on South Beach. They had good reviews and also offered free breakfast. When I made the reservation through the hotel's website, I mentioned that it was my husband's birthday. We received a comp upgrade and were greeted with balloons, chilled champagne, birthday cake, and a birthday card from the staff. The hotel was in a great location, and the beach chairs and beach towels were great and super handy for the beach right across the street. I thought I might miss having a pool, but we didn't at all. We had a great time at the hotel. Service and staff were wonderful. Free breakfast was good. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel restaurant, but the food looked good. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again without question. Only constructive criticism is that the lighting is poor in bathroom and room for make-up application. Also, A/C unit in our room is wall-mounted near the ceiling and blew directly on the bed. There was a vent that could be adjusted, but it kept falling down...wouldn't stay pointing upwards. Fortunately, we like lots of cold air when we're sleeping, so it wasn't a big deal for us. Overall, great hotel at a great rate!

Room Tip: We definitely enjoyed having a beach-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a quality hotel on Ocean Drive and got very lucky here. The complimentary breakfast was superb the beach chairs and towels were a plus. Prime location..... Couldn't ask for a better deal. The staff was top notch! Juan Carlos, Javier to name a few who made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have just returned home from a five night stay at the Beacon Hotel. We had a great time and I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay on South Beach.

Firstly, it's great value. Lovely clean and modern rooms with great service in a great location. Its in the heart of the Art Deco district, right across the road from the beach. The hotel provides beach towels, beach chairs (they come with a cool pouch and straps to make it easy to carry!) and umbrellas (for the beach and the rain because, let's face it, it's Miami and it's going to rain at some point!) It's within walking distance of everywhere on South Beach.

The service was second to none. Staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is included in the room rate and includes a great selection for all tastes and desires.

The only thing on the negative side would be the size of the bathroom. It's snug but it's clean and modern. I would say all the positives far outweigh this slight negative and I would say this is THE place to stay on South Beach. What are you waiting for, get booking!!



  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Property: Beacon South Beach Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing