We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #55 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A find in South Beach”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Beacon has perfect location, across from a great stretch of beach, and a friendly attitude that more than make up for the lack of a swimming pool and other amenities. One of its selling features, at least for me, was the great American-style breakfast offered at curbside, and included in the room price.

The room I stayed in had a king-sized bed, no view, and was rather small - yet cheerful and tasteful in its contemporary decor, with a well-stocked tiny bathroom and excellent quality and number of towels.

Overall, I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercedes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    898
    287
    84
    58
See reviews for
512
970
93
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Beacon Hotel was everything we've come to expect from sexy SoBe! The employees are friendly and willing to do all in their power to make sure your comfort is priority one. I emailed them prior to arriving and ask for a comp upgrade since if was our honeymoon and they were more than happy to do so. The Ocean Front room was AWESOME! The windows open so you can enjoy the sites and sounds of Miami and don't worry about noise, the windows are practically sound proof. Will definitely stay again. Its awesome for families and more so for couples i.e the comfortable bed ;)

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the South side but the street noise from the Ocean View was very mild. One can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were there for only one day, but It was GREAT! The staff is so friendly and very professional. Hotel was so modern, but still kept that Art Deco vibe... Loved it! BEST location hands down... Beach is right across the street and right outside the lobby you can sit back, have a mojito and people watch. Oh yea, you gotta get a Brazilian mojito at the lobby bar. EXCELLENT!!! Would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laurenfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in the Beacon Hotel for one night on our arrival in Miami before a cruise the next day. Location was fabulous. We managed to go the beach for a couple of hours and fit in a bit of shopping in Collins Ave we had a few hours to kill before our departure. The free breakfast and beach towels were a big plus. Our room was 2 double beds which were comfortable with good quality bedding. The bathroom was pretty small but served us ok as it was just for 1 night, probably would have been a problem had we stayed longer. The staff were all lovely and very accommodating during our stay. The restaurant looked lively in the evening although we didn't use it other than breakfast. Cocktails were good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back to avoid Ocean Drive night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the last night of our holiday and we chose the Beacon on a recommendation from Tripadvisor. On arrival the valet parking worked like clockwork and we were quickly inside this beautifully restored hotel being greeted and checked in by the friendly and professional staff. We had been invited to confirm and refine our room choice by email in advance which was a nice touch. Our lovely room was on the top floor with a great view over the beach. Only criticisms are the surprisingly poor sound insulation between rooms and the lack of any shelving or storage space in the dimly lit shower room - a case of style over content! The staff are the outstanding feature of this hotel and made our stay really special - thank you!

Room Tip: We asked for great view so that looks across to the beach and there was very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the beacon hotel two nights ago with my husband. We had a layover in Miami for the night and we decided to stay on south beach. The hotel has an unbeatable location. You can walk right across the street and be at the beach of wall down the beach for any bar or restaurant. The hotel had a free breakfast which is nice (okay breakfast, nothing crazy). The staff is really nice and they held our bags for us after we checked out (we still had some time before the flight) and called a cab for us. Overall clean, nice hotel. The bathroom was the only thing I really hated. The bathroom was tiny and had a weird clear door. It was a little weird for my husband to be able to see me on the toilet even though the door was shut. The bathroom also only had one light so it was pretty dank in there. The room itself was clean and decorated well. Overall it was a good stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Pros:
Across the road from the beach. Towels, beach chairs and umbrella provided free of charge.
Breakfast included in price.
Friendly staff.
Reasonably good fitness room.
Free wifi for as many devices as you have.
Free iced pink lemonade on first floor for all guests.
Comfy bed.

Cons:
Rooms are adjoining and you can often hear other guests.
Safe too small to fit laptops.

Overall, for the price we paid it was a good hotel to explore South Beach from. Probably a three star hotel. Book Ocean Drive facing room, if you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Property: Beacon South Beach Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing