We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #42 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in the Beacon Hotel for one night on our arrival in Miami before a cruise the next day. Location was fabulous. We managed to go the beach for a couple of hours and fit in a bit of shopping in Collins Ave we had a few hours to kill before our departure. The free breakfast and beach towels were a big plus. Our room was 2 double beds which were comfortable with good quality bedding. The bathroom was pretty small but served us ok as it was just for 1 night, probably would have been a problem had we stayed longer. The staff were all lovely and very accommodating during our stay. The restaurant looked lively in the evening although we didn't use it other than breakfast. Cocktails were good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back to avoid Ocean Drive night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    809
    250
    69
    48
See reviews for
427
878
84
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the last night of our holiday and we chose the Beacon on a recommendation from Tripadvisor. On arrival the valet parking worked like clockwork and we were quickly inside this beautifully restored hotel being greeted and checked in by the friendly and professional staff. We had been invited to confirm and refine our room choice by email in advance which was a nice touch. Our lovely room was on the top floor with a great view over the beach. Only criticisms are the surprisingly poor sound insulation between rooms and the lack of any shelving or storage space in the dimly lit shower room - a case of style over content! The staff are the outstanding feature of this hotel and made our stay really special - thank you!

Room Tip: We asked for great view so that looks across to the beach and there was very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the beacon hotel two nights ago with my husband. We had a layover in Miami for the night and we decided to stay on south beach. The hotel has an unbeatable location. You can walk right across the street and be at the beach of wall down the beach for any bar or restaurant. The hotel had a free breakfast which is nice (okay breakfast, nothing crazy). The staff is really nice and they held our bags for us after we checked out (we still had some time before the flight) and called a cab for us. Overall clean, nice hotel. The bathroom was the only thing I really hated. The bathroom was tiny and had a weird clear door. It was a little weird for my husband to be able to see me on the toilet even though the door was shut. The bathroom also only had one light so it was pretty dank in there. The room itself was clean and decorated well. Overall it was a good stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Pros:
Across the road from the beach. Towels, beach chairs and umbrella provided free of charge.
Breakfast included in price.
Friendly staff.
Reasonably good fitness room.
Free wifi for as many devices as you have.
Free iced pink lemonade on first floor for all guests.
Comfy bed.

Cons:
Rooms are adjoining and you can often hear other guests.
Safe too small to fit laptops.

Overall, for the price we paid it was a good hotel to explore South Beach from. Probably a three star hotel. Book Ocean Drive facing room, if you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Beacon is a charming hotel evocative of the grandeur of the era in which it was built. It has been modernized very tastefully, but don't expect chain hotel ambiance. There were great bath products and amenities like beach chairs and towels in the room, free WiFi, a friendly and helpful staff, and the perfect location to stroll Ocean Drive. Be aware that the area in front of the hotel is crowded with lively young people, but a few blocks away are more sedate restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreateConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel & staff was unbelievably accommodating ! Our stay was most enjoyable ! We so enjoyed the hotel and its location is excellent! The rooms were spacious & clean. Beach chairs and breakfast included were a real plus!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breakeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this Art Deco Hotel. We had been in the Florida Keys for 10 days Scuba diving and this over night put us within a few miles of the Miami Airport for our return flight home. Loved the convenience of the location. Valet parking-just pull up in front of the Hotel they take your car and you can walk to everything. At check in they gave us each a bottle of water. Room was nice, linens comfortable. Hot breakfast is included, we chose an omelette, waffle with fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The beach is a 2 minute walk across the street.
Clean, cool, easy stay when going to South Beach.

Room Tip: It is always nice to have beach and in this case a street (Ocean Drive) view. Close to an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsdive07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avalon Hotel
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#30 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing