We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at Beacon Hotel at the beginning of June for 1 night and having stayed at a less than average hotel on a previous trip to Miami I can highly recommend the Beacon.

Firstly the location is great as you are on Ocean Drive right opposite the beach and close walking distance to many bars, Collins Avenue and Washington Avenue. The atmosphere is buzzing and full of people 24/7 so you definitely feel the party atmosphere. I must note that even though it is busy outside, once you're in the hotel you cannot hear any noise.

The staff are very friendly and although the only parking available at the hotel is $20 valet, its efficient and convenient for Miami. We arrived early and our room was not ready but we left our luggage and used the time to walk up Ocean Drive which is a great way to get a feel for the vibe in Miami. Personally, I would not recommend the restaurants on Ocean drive as they tend to be overpriced and you get a lot of people walking closely past your table as most of the tables are set outside. I would highly recommend booking lunch or dinner at one of the top hotels on Collins Avenue, we went to a lovely Italian restaurants called Bianca and it was incredible.

We were given a standard double room which was airy, clean with plenty of room, if anything I would say that the bathroom could have been bigger but for 1 night it was fine. We didn't opt for a room with a view as we spent most of our time outside rather then in the hotel. We also had a hot breakfast included in our rate which was really nice, there were about 6 choices of different breakfasts including omelette, pancakes, bacon and sausage served with orange juice and tea or coffee.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Beacon if you are looking for good value, cleanliness and good service.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor without a beach view and perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    898
    287
    84
    59
See reviews for
512
971
93
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
downsouth
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was my second to watch soccer aka football prior to the world cup. England played 2 matches. The hotel once again was excellent namely the room, food and all staff were so helpful. If you like to party ideally situated but if you want to sleep well then book a rear room. Here to the next time.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericDownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The small and older hotel has character and charm with a blend of Art Deco and modern amenities. The lobby has modern and has fun, funky chairs and more comfortable ones that are nice to wait in while the valet brings your car up. There are bathrooms with a lovely large handicap stall - great for changing into/out of your bathing suit if you room isn't ready or when you need to change after the beach and you have checked out. They will also provide comfortable beach chairs and towels for you to use if your room isn't ready. There is another set in your room. We arrived at 11:00 am on Sunday and they called us at 1:30 pm to let us know our room was ready (check-in is 3:00 pm). The same lady at the front desk was always there and pleasant and helpful.

We got the Deluxe room #604 on Sunday (significantly less than Fri/Sat price). Pros: marble floor, pretty aqua blue bedspread with a very comfortable bed and soft cotton sheets, hairdryer, bathrobes, two beach chairs and beach towels, mini-bar, air conditional unit that worked well, overhead fan, and fancy bath amenities from Paris (shampoo, conditioner, gel, cream, soaps).

Cons: Room and bathroom size was similiar to a cruise ship size (small). The shower door came within 1/2" of the toilet when opened. I bumped the shower walls and there was no sink ledge or big enough shelf for cosmetics. There was a dresser in the bedoom with a mirror but the lighting was poor, so I had to go back and forth to the bathroom to use the lighting there.

In the morning, you go to the front desk to get your free breakfast card and take it to the restaurant (outside seating). You can select any one breakfast on the card for free. There was eggs with sausage/bacon; French Toast; bagels and lox; omelette; etc. I think it would have been nice to have a lighter option like fresh cut fruit, bagel/muffin, and yogurt. It also include orange juice and coffee /tea if you like. The waitress was friendly and pleasant. You should bring money for a tip.

As others said, location is great. Across the street from the beach. The foot showers were not working for several streets near the hotel, so you will need to brush the sand off your feet or bring your own water.

Hotel location is right on the main strip with all the restaurants, bars, and nightlife (closer to the action then the Lowe's hotel). We had lunch at the Clevelander restaurant. Huge chicken strips (equal to two chicken breasts) and nice big order of fries that two can share. Cocounut shrimp were a nice size. Prices for both were very reasonable. Service was very good - it took a little bit to wait for our drinks and get our checks but the food came quickly, and there a dirty dish or glass didn't stay long on the table. There was a manager watching an pointing out things to the staff. We had dinner at Otentic (several blocks away towards the cruise ships) which had better quality food and a wonderful dessert medley than the expensive restaurants along the strip.

The Palace drag show on Sunday afternoon was not much. They have a $35 Sunday brunch with unlimited mimosas with two seatings (one starts at 1:30 pm and there is an earlier one). Periodically, someone would come out to sing. The man/lady who did Diana Ross was hilarious shaking her booty on the back of a car stopped in traffic. Bring cash for tips if you like that kind of thing. My husband said the Friday/Saturday show with lots of performers was really good with a stage and big crowds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GodLovesYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is in a very central location in the midst of South Beach activity and is in the heart of the art deco district. It exudes Miami, art deco charm with plush furnishings, terrazzo floors and art deco lighting. The front desk and lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are plush and decorated in art deco style. The bed was very comfortable and I did not hear any noise from the bustling street activity outside. My only complaint was with the service in the restaurant which could be improved upon. The breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Beacon Hotel provides not only easy access to the Atlantic Ocean Beach across the street but Beach Chairs and Beach towels to take from your room. Plus they provide a full breakfast menu in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debborahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This place is amazing. The staff was super friendly and efficient, the location is ideal and not too mention the room was clean and comfortable. The bar/restaurant associated with Beacon is also one of the nicest on the block and their margarita packs a serious punch. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was delighted to stay at the Beacon Hotel! Not only is it one of the Historical Art Deco buildings right on Ocean drive by the beach, the interior was decorated stylishly, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We received a lovely older looking room, that had been updated with small details that modernized it, like a beautiful ceiling fan, and art-deco looking paneling around the door frame. I like it that they supplied us with big cotton robes, beach towels, and beach chairs. The lobby was so pretty! In the morning I went straight out the front lobby to the beach and ran barefoot. What a location! I enjoyed a delicious breakfast afterwards, which was included in the cost. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Property: Beacon South Beach Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing