We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I thought it would be..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #47 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everything I thought it would be..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We searched many hotels before settling on the Beacon for our one night stay in January before our cruise. We wanted to stay in a hotel opposite the beach, and also to enjoy the Art Deco feel of the area.

We checked in late afternoon and were promptly met by a porter who whisked our luggage off while our car was parked for us (for a small charge). Our corner suite, two rooms with a king size bed and fold out sofa bed for the kids was perfect. The bathrooms were tiny, but of course, this is an old building and these features only added to the whole experience for me.

My husband and I headed downstairs for a drink while the kids enjoyed the fast free wi-fi. The sofa bed was not made up, but one call and a house staff member was straight up to make it for them.

We headed out for dinner and were completely spoiled for choice. After reviewing menus, we settled on Caffe Milano - excellent food and service. Miami South Beach buzzes at night, and we loved walking along the beach front enjoying the sights and sounds.

Our bed was very comfortable, and despite the cafes and bars downstairs, we slept well. In the morning, we collected our breakfast voucher and enjoyed a lovely breakfast at the cafe downstairs. We had just enough time for a walk up to the Art Deco Museum before check out. When we returned to the hotel, I asked if we could go up to the roof top garden as I had seen the pictures on Facebook. We were told it was not open at this stage, which was unfortunate. However, as we were packing up, we had a call from reception saying Jose could take us up there. I was very impressed by this, as they made the effort to open it for us, and it was definitely worth a look.

Overall, excellent customer service, location is brilliant, hotel is charming, mixing old world Art Deco with modern day comfort. One day we'll come back and spend longer than one night.

Room Tip: Corner suite - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    883
    268
    79
    53
See reviews for
483
948
91
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very comfortable beds and very friendly and professional staff! Rooms are a bit small but there is no need for a bigger room. The beach is just across the street and the hotel itself is in the middle of the action on SB. I will definitely stay again next time I'm in SB. Also, they offer complimentary breakfast, which is nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good service, the rooms include beach towels and chairs. When we left it was Memorial day weekend and oceandrive was closed off. The hotel arranged a taxi for us and someone from the hotel helped us with our luggage to where the taxi was waiting for us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inocencia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Janet PB
The Beacon hotel will definitely be the hotel i choose when im in Miami again. The staff was great.They treated My husband and me great. The location is great.The chairs and towles they offer were so useful.. The complementory mojitos they offer were tasty, we got lucky they gave it to us more then once. For check out they offered to extend our check out time. Thank you so much.. see you on our next trip.. I reccomend Beacon hotel..

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Free breakfast was the highlight of our stay. Great view of Ocean Dr. We didn't have any problem with the noise. Location was right across from the beach, nearby access to restaurants all within walking distance and shopping only a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I could not have picked a better hotel. The staff was friendly, the location was perfect, and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was great. This hotel definitely made my Memorial Day weekend trip one to place in the books. I will definitely return to this hotel for my future stays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the beacon hotel Memorial Day Weekend with 3 other ladies celebrating 2 25th birthdays and a graduation. It was simply amazing. It is located right in the middle of Ocean drive literally minutes walking distance from bars, clubs restaurants, wet willies, fat Tuesday, and of course the beach. The service was ABSOLUTELY amazing. The front desk clerks were very proffessional, very friendly, and accomodating. House keeping kept our room in tip top shape. The complementary breakfast was amazing. Not the usual. Old buffet style but real food located right outside the hotel where we could people watch. I could not have asked for a better stay. I am recommending this place to EVERYONE that visits Miami. Can be good for party girls, families, couples. The lobby and the gotel itself was BEUATIFULLY decorated. I definelty enjoyed every minute of this trip and the hotel was no exception.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaNdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#96 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing