We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beacon Hotel visit after my SCOPE conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #54 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beacon Hotel visit after my SCOPE conference”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I had stayed in Miami Beach for the SCOPE conference prior to taking a taxi over to South Beach with another conference attendee. We were so pleased with our room after the room we had for the conference. Both of us ladies plan conferences for our non-profit organizations and have traveled to many large hotels. We found the Beacon to be perfect for that small hotel with fabulous attentions to details. We were welcomed from the start. Both Reynalod and Victor bent over backwards since we arrived early in the day coming from the downtown Miami hotel. We were treated to breakfast since we were so early. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel for other guests. I would love to drag my husband away for trip back to South Beach and we would book the Beacon for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    896
    283
    80
    58
See reviews for
501
965
93
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The location of this hotel is prime! It's and old historic type of hotel. Nothing special, however we found all of the staff to be extremely professional and personable. Breakfast coupon from the front desk gave guests a free, full not continental, breakfast! Groupon got us a free Mojito at lobby bar (delicious). My wife told me it was the best price out of all available hotels in the immediate area, I guess that South Beach sticker shock has me rattled!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHolzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Beacon for three nights on a business trip, so I essentially was traveling alone. I checked in at night, and the woman at the front desk was very helpful. Check-in was a breeze. The hotel is located in a busy spot on Ocean Drive just across from the beach. Lots of cafes, bars, restaurants within easy walking distance.

I stayed in a king room that had pretty much no view. The room was small, but very comfortable. Except for the Thursday night of my stay, I heard no real Ocean Dr noise & the hotel was pretty quiet, which was nice considering its location. My three biggest complaints about the room are: 1) The only plug to use was in the bathroom. This meant that I could plug in my phone or tablet at night, all the way across the room from where I was sleeping. And when I used my laptop, I had to plug it in in the bathroom and be grateful, the cord reached to the bed where I was working. That was super annoying. I know the building is old, but there needs to be an additional plug, or a power strip made available.

2) The small glass shelf in the bathroom is not sturdy. Every time I picked up or put down my toothbrush, everything would topple off the shelf. This is most inconvenient when there is no bathroom storage at all.

3). The only big mirror in the room is a half mirror. It would be nice to have a full length mirror. I mean, this is South Beach, where appearance is everything, and I can't see my shoes in the mirror.

The room was clean. The bed was super comfortable. The only weird thing is that it seemed like the tissue box got wet at some point and was never replaced, so all the tissues were hard and unusable. I didn't complain, but it would have been nice for housekeeping to notice.

If you plan ahead, the valet is great. We usually tried to call down ahead of time or tell them at night when we needed the car, and it was always right on time. The hotel also was efficient and very helpful at calling me a cab when it was time to leave.

I enjoyed my stay at the Beacon and would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable South Beach stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirlEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswold, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just stayed feb 1st for one night... Perfect location to walk up and down the strip, service was excellent! Clean room, kinda small but there older style hotels on the entire strip. For under 300 a night Definitely worth the money. Very COLD hotel just the way I like it, they had the hotel and rooms set at like 60 degrees... All in all great hotel

You really don't need a vehicle, if you do bring one its $20 bucks per day for valet.. Worth it, parking is impossible! There are bike rentals up and down the strip VERY easy self serve system.

Dan from CT

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked an ocean front room through Travelzoo (sorry Tripadvisor), and we were awarded with a great little room on top floor overlooking the beach. From the moment we got to the Beacon, the staff was fantastic, from stopping traffic on Ocean Blvd so the Valet folks could unload the car and whisk it away to amazing house keeping and a great staff that bent over backwards to get us whatever we needed whenever we needed it. This was the hotel where the famous 'chainsaw' scene from SCARFACE was filmed (they've updated it since then... harhar), and it was kinda' cool to be in hotel that was a part of such great Hollywood history. Yes, I am a huge Al Pacino fan. We just love South Beach and everything about the Beacon harkens back to an elegant time. It was a wonderful stay and we highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The room was lovely. Great view of the ocean from the window. The staff at the front desk were all very nice and helpful.
The room provided beach towels and beach chairs for us.
This hotel is in the center of all the action!


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great spot among it all in South Beach, easy walk to the water, restaurants, clubs and Liberty Mall.

Really helpful staff, lovely retro décor and setting, though the rooms are pretty tight. Breakfast is included and was a pleasant surprise - several quality options and a nice setting on the patio watching life go by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#78 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Property: Beacon South Beach Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing