We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location and Services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #55 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal Location and Services”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ocean Drive; day and night buzzing atmosphere! 2 mins walk from the beach, places to eat and easy to access public transport.

The Hotel itself has very helpful and pleasant staff. The condition of the Hotel is very good, breakfast served is delicious, WI-FI internet access and I would recommend the Beacon to anyone that enjoys being in a busy area, enjoys the beach, ideal for couples/groups and single travellers and someone that likes to get away from Ocean Drive and explore other parts of Miami.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    897
    287
    83
    58
See reviews for
511
970
93
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Beacon Hotel offers everything one might want for a stay in South Beach. The Ocean Drive location is ideal, the rooms are bright and large, and the staff are always cheerful and ready to offer assistance with helpful recommendations. The bonus of free breakfast at the restaurant on the ground floor should not be minimized, as you have quite the selection of superb sandwiches and omelettes, fresh juice and coffee -- great way to start the day. For price and overall value, the Beacon would be very hard to beat.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, as there will be some late night street noise on Ocean Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The service at this small but excellent hotel is terrific. The staff made every effort to answer our every need, and we felt like VIPs.

We were disappointed by the nonstop late night action in the Southbeach area, and recognized that we are not the ideal patron for the area. Our room had a wonderful view of the ocean, but the activity on Ocean Avenue competed with its serenity. Recommend the venue for the staff and cleanliness, gorgeous view (and excellent king size bed) but if you care for a quiet and relaxing time - think beyond the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT connected to another. Ours had an active and passionate neighbor and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights before our cruise. Had a wonderful room with a king size bed, facing the ocean. The staff, breakfast, valet parking and room service, were all exceptional ! Alex is a great manager. He made sure we were well taken care of.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra cost to face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiVenice_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

On the plus side, the Beacon Hotel is very centrally located, right on the beach in South Beach in the middle of all the action. The front desk staff was very friendly and the free breakfast that came with the room was excellent. Our room was small (which was sort of okay) but the bathroom was very small (which was not so okay). Maybe for a single person the bathroom would have been fine, but for two people it was too small -- no counter space and (weirdly) a frosted bathroom door which required anyone in the bathroom to put on a shadow performance for anyone else in the room. No privacy at all. The wifi was free but pages took forever to load -- though oddly streaming a TV episode was really fast. As for the free breakfast, it was (as noted) very good in terms of the food -- a nice selection of eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc. The only problem was that some of the wait staff seemed to feel that, since you were getting the breakfast for free, they didn't need to pay any attention to you. On the first day we were there we had a nice waitress who treated us like any other breakfast customers at the cute outdoor restaurant (and I gave her a tip). Day two was okay as well (and I tipped him). But on day three and four it was though we were invisible. On day four, I had to ask three times for a glass of water and beg for a coffee refill. Since it was my last impression of the hotel, it was a negative one. Overall, we had a great stay in Miami Beach. However, whether I'd recommend the Beacon Hotel to others would depend on whether you are willing to put up with a tiny bathroom with no privacy and a sluggish internet connection. And you need to know that being in the middle of the South Beach action has a down side -- you cannot leave the hotel without being bombarded with noise and with people at the beachside hotels and restaurants pestering you to sit down and eat or drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, Front Office Manager at Beacon South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Season Greetings,

We are always grateful for an honest review & when our guest share their experience with us. We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed our location and our staff service. Know that it was our pleasure and protecting the guest experience is our # 1 priority. As such, we are taking your experience on the restaurant very seriously.

Though the restaurant is not part of the Beacon (Different company) we share the same building and thus our guest experience. We will be speaking with their management.
As for our bathrooms, while small, we have renovated them on different occasions giving them the modern look you can find today. Know that we are a boutique hotel which was built in the mid 1930s. We are considered one of the top historical sites of Ocean Dr.

We would love to invite you back for a future stay & wish to show you a different experience!

Season Greetings,

Alexis Espinosa
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The stuff is friendly and very helpful. Thanx to Marisa , she superb. The breakfast was tasty and very convenient. Ill go back with the rest of my family soon. And ill advice any1 to go and visit the hotel. Very neat in a beautiful location. Of south beach.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Onyinyechi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

It was nice staying in this hotel there where really friendly people nice for what we pay it was in the heart of the party area it was really nice room really roomy it was nice to the you could walk anywhere the only thing I'm little bit concern is the people for breakfast little bit out of place they took for ever getting up breakfast and the food was Ok not worth to pay for breakfast there for free Ok

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jesus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings From The Beacon,

Thank you for taking the time for and write us an honest review. Know that we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff & rooms. It was our pleasure to serve you.
We will we speaking with the restaurant personnel in charge and sharing your views with them.

Though the restaurant & the hotel are of two different companies we still share the same building and as such our actions reflect of each other. Whether they be positive or otherwise.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Property: Beacon South Beach Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing