We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Stay, worth every penny” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #45 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, worth every penny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location, great staff, nice hotel. Javier was a real pleasure at the front desk very helpful and polite. We stayed in their "newer" rooms very nice and clean a bit small but for a couple it was perfect. Location can't get any better. Beach is right across the street and everything is walkable near by. Worth the money, will return. 4 stars overall not 5 for me simply because 5 stars is that perfect resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    839
    257
    72
    49
See reviews for
450
902
85
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have stayed in many boutique hotels in Miami beach and the Beacon is by far my favorite. Actually, it is the only hotel that I will look into returning to. The value for the money is pretty typical of Miami. Some bonuses are clearly the location - right on ocean drive in the middle of all the action. Though the hotel had a prime location, noise didn't seem to be a problem (I stayed in a corner suite that faced ocean drive ). The included breakfast was very good and worth it. We got to select from the hotel restaurant menu with all beverages included (no alcohol). Coffee, tea, hot chocolate & water were also served in the hotel lounge area until well into the afternoon. The staff was very polite and helpful. I happened to arrive in south beach early morning and the staff made an effort to check me in as early as possible (only a few hours after arrival). For a boutique hotel, I found that the size of the room was exceptionally large. Everything was key clean and up to date. Elevator was only large enough for a max of 2 people with luggage, but that is to be expected in a boutique. Overall, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniTraveler028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I came down for our honeymoon. Im not sure how the beacon staff found out but immediately at arrival we were congratulated and had a wine bottle,flower petals on our bed and a nicely written card. To top it all off, on the following morning we were invited to a beautiful breakfast on their rooftop. These guys know what they are doing. Real professionals and kind.

The rooms and bathrooms were not that big but that was expected. We are familiar with boutique hotels. We have many here in New York.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldCitizen37k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it lets us know that our efforts are producing results. Know that it was our pleasure to add to the already special day of yours. We understand that our guest come from many different parts of the world and it is our job to make them feel at home and with family.

We hope to see you back soon! Thank you again for sharing your so special event with us.

Kind Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

On arrival we received fantastic front desk service, extremely friendly and helpful. Our rooms were great, spacious for south beach and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights as A family group of 6 and had a lovely time. The waiting staff at the hotel bar left something to be desired and we found a couple of them to be quite rude. Breakfast was amazing and far superior than we expected! Location is excellent, right in the centre of it all, beach right across the road. You even get great chairs in each room to take across to the beach, trust me they are far more comfortable than they look! All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet get a rear room not ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLaura1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for your kind words! I will be sure to let our front desk know of your praises. Know that it was a pleasure to have your family and you stay with us.

Please rest assure that we will speak with the restaurants manager about your experience with the bar. Even though the restaurant and ourselves are a different company we are still under the same roof, as such, our guest are their guest.

Please permit me to thank you again for giving us the opportunity to server you. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

we stayed one night in the Beacon preior to a cruise we took fm Miami port. we talled them in advance that we are celebrating our doughter Bat-Mizva . when we arived ther were ballons and a greeting card waiting for her in the room.
the hotel is right on the south beach and very close to the bars and caffes and next to the beach. the staff are very frienly .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yifat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings Mr. Yifat,

Thank you for your visit from all the way from Israel! We hope that we met your standards in guest service. Know that it was our pleasure to make your daughters Bat-Mizva a little more special. Believe me when I say that we enjoy it as well and that we would do it all over again.

Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you.

Many Blessings,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Beacon South Beach and found the accommodations to be exceptional. The bedroom was spacious and offered all the amenities that I needed. The bed was exceptionally comfortable - like sleeping on air. The beach and everything else I needed was withing walking distance. The most enjoyment I had was sitting at the hotel's sidewalk cafe and watching the people go by. The staff was very friendly and the check-in/check-out procedures were fast and efficient. Sine i prefer the boutique hotel experience, the Beacon was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarketingDr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings From The Beacon,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was an honor to have served you. Know that I will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the staff. We are also happy that you enjoyed our bedding so much and if you have any questions where to order for yourself, give us a call.

I agree, sitting outside for an early cup of coffee is soul quenching. There is something about that morning ocean breeze caressing your face. An individual would have to experience it for themselves.

Thank you again for making The Beacon your destination while in Miami Beach.

Kind Regards,
Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of September. This is the 4th time me (and group of friends) have stayed at this hotel in Miami .... and its the same result everytime = excellence

I have always dealt direct with the hotel as they seem to give better rates than the comparison websites (so thanks to Veronika again for giving the best rates).

I could say the same things again and again (about the small bathrooms, and lack of a pool) but really the hotel is all about an affordable nice boutique hotel DIRECTLY on the beach in the middle of the action on Ocean Drive - and for this, i couldnt ask for more

(Although maybe one suggestion would be getting a vending machine in for some cold drinks to grab on the run???)

Special mention to Javier and my main man Gus for being so welcoming again .... even when we rolled in at the early hours of the morning worse for wear! "Your favourite Irish customers" haha :-)

I will continue to recommend the Beacon to anyone that goes to Miami - great value for a clean, modern, stylish hotel that has a superb location

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JinxyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#66 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing