We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up to local standard if not better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #47 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Up to local standard if not better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

1) I chose this hotel because I only had a couple days in South Beach, and I wanted to show my kids the true vibe of the area. Also, I wanted an ocean view. Certainly the Beacon delivered all this and more.
2) Pulling up to the hotel on Ocean Drive is utter chaos. Without the valet we would have been sunk. These guys have things running like clockwork out there. It was fun in a bizarre way, leaving the car double parked on this cuh-razy street while we swizzled between gorgeous people sipping drinks on the street to get into the hotel itself. The only flaw with the whole entry drama, one bag did not get removed from the car, so it was kind of a "who's on first" experience to figure out how to get it out.
3) The lobby decor is totally fab. I love the orange the the glity decorations. More is more. Check in staff was polite and attentive.
4) the Room..Well about what I expected for the area. I wanted ocean view, I am sure you sacrfice some size for view. It was so tiny in there, I was constantly knocking things into the toilet wth my elbows. Also, there was a shelf too close to the faucet, so you couldn't get nice hot water.Kind of tepid. The floor was marble. Easier to clean sand off? It was cold but they sent us a space heater.All in all a great stay in the heart of south beach
5)STaff was very confdent and helful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Beacon Hotel and for taking the time to write and share details of your recent stay. We are pleased that your stay with us was memorable.

We do appreciate you giving us such a constructive feedback on your experience with us. I will make sure to share your kind comments with the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to hosting you again at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    883
    268
    79
    53
See reviews for
483
948
91
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location, the staff and the complimentary breakfast was the biggest plus for our part. Especially the breakfast, several very good hot dishes.
The room was okay. Decent size and spotlessly clean. The decor in the lobby is a bit tacky, but the room itself was simple but tastefully decorated. We stayed in a room in the back of the hotel, and it was quiet and nice. The staff was were helpful and friendly.

I'm not sure if I will stay at Ocean Drive next time we're going to Miami, you grow tired of bouncers at all the restaurants / bars that you walk past all the time. But, at the same time it's very nice to stay somewhere where it is close to everything. I would recomend Beacon Hotel for everyone who want to stay at Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solsikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are very grateful that you chose the Beacon Hotel as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you so very much for submitting such a kind review.

We are also pleased to know that your holiday experience met your expectations. I will make sure to share your positive comments with the entire Beacon team.

We can’t wait to welcome you back at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay in the heart of South Beach, the Beacon Hotel's for you!
Located on Ocean Drive, you are steps away from the ocean, yet in the middle of all the excitement that's South Beach. The rooms are nice-sized--ours had an ocean view--and the morning coffee service is certainly a treat. Yes, it's noisy--but this is South Beach. The staff is friendly and most helpful. And, the comp breakfast is a real breakfast.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very busy location in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive.
Valet parking a must and it works really well for $20 a day.
Small rooms, very small bathrooms, but great beds and very clean!
Good service throughout!
Stay away from the restaurant though, expensive and rather bad.
Paid $30+ for two beers with tax and gratuity, served in plastic glasses....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corvette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We choose this hotel on the strength of the reviews here and were not disappointed. The reception and common areas are clean and very much of their era.

Our room was basic and compact which is what we had expected having not booked a more expensive room - you do get a sense that the hotel has been refurbished as well as it can be on a budget and given that it is a period building.

What really raises this hotel above the ordinary is the fantastic service provided by the staff from the reception through to the bar staff and porters. We were well looked after and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spainagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing a very kind review. We are grateful we were able to be of service to you.

We will have the immense pleasure to share your very positive comments with the entire Beacon team. We proudly acknowledge that our staff is committed to giving our guests the best personal service.

We are looking forward to your next visit here at the Beacon Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location, across from the beach. Easy to walk to everything in the evening. Breakfast included and it was just fine. Small rooms but clean, bed was comfortable. Staff was wonderful, always held door, remembered our name, offered suggestions. They offer parking for a fee and the car was always there when we needed it, give them 20 minutes notice. Ocean Ave is always alive, woke up for airport run at 4:30AM and people were still dancing on the streets from the night before. Not a quiet area but not a problem either. If you want to be in the middle of the action this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: I imagine the front of the Hotel would be noisier but we were in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing your valuable comments.

We are very pleased to see that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We can’t wait to welcome you back at the Beacon Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

A gorgeous hotel with fantastic friendly staff. We stayed in room 501 which is a corner top floor room - really lovely, bright, clean and spacious with lovely views to people watch in the evening and morning... Found a hidden gem on the 2nd floor - some really nice quiet outside seating area to chill in with the added bonus of free coffee!!! Definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#96 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing