We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the hotel was awesome, but the surroundings may be annoying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #52 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the hotel was awesome, but the surroundings may be annoying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

the bad
-- the hotel is located on the most unbelievably touristy area in Miami.
-- the staff at the restaurant (where breakfast is included) couldn't care less about serving you
-- if there's some event and they close ocean drive it will be a bit difficult to get to the hotel.
-- bathroom is small but everything works

The Good
-- Hotel Staff are unbelievable (Gus was AWESOME!!)
-- as long as you don't face ocean drive hotel is super quiet
-- Beach Towels and chairs for the beach are supplied to take to the beach
-- hotel floors are not carpeted because of all the sand tracked in. Very Clean
-- When Ocean Drive is closed down, staff are extremely accommodating to get you to taxis and have a cart to take your luggage to a location to catch a cab.

Room Tip: Don't get an oceanfront room as it will be very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanCanucksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel and for taking the time to review us.

Your very encouraging feedback on our hotel will be an inspiration for us to serve you better. I will make sure to share your positive comments with Gus and the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to count you among our valued guests in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    874
    265
    78
    52
See reviews for
478
940
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallaght, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

the rooms were ok, was expecting them to be smaller actually.but could hear everyone on our floor opening and closing their doors! Location is central on south beach, but you nearly have to fight your way out the door as it is a very busy touristy area. breakfast was very nice, drinks and diner were massively expensive, spent 90 dollars on two cocktails!! Staff were very nice and friendly. all in all ok Hotel, but could probably got one half the price just staying one block back from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for using your valuable time to review us.

We are truly sorry that our location did not correspond to what you expected to find during your stay. Your comments greatly matter to us and give us the opportunity to work harder to make each and every guest happy while staying with us.

I do sincerely hope that you would consider staying at the Beacon Hotel once again. Please do contact me if I can assist you with any future reservations. I am confident that we can restore your faith in the hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lot of energy when you step out the front door onto Ocean Drive. Good staff people, stylish common area. The room was fine, you are paying for the location. Not the location if you want seclusion. Good breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for this opportunity to host you here at the Beacon Hotel and for submitting your positive comments.

Your king words will be passed along the entire Beacon team. It is the entire Beacon team’s commitment to delight you every time and ensure that you have the most pleasant experience with us.

It would be my honor to welcome you back very soon at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Beacon and the stay was fantastic. The room was surprisingly spacious for a hotel of this age, although the bathroom was a little tight.

The staff was friendly,helpful and very professional in all the interactions we had with them.

Drinks at the bar ( as I understand, a seperate entity from the hotel - can't charge to your room) were extremely expensive, so you may want to take your own beverages.

The hotel was clean, the breakfast was good and we had a great time during Art Deco Weekend.

Room Tip: For quiet, you may want a room toward the back of the hotel - for view, the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for such an inspiring review.

Your confidence in our property is what motivates us to always strive for excellence. I will make sure to share your kind comments with the entire Beacon team. Thank you again for your faith in the Beacon Hotel.

We hope to welcome you "home" again in the near future and I will gladly assist you with your future reservations.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a VERY touristy area. If you stay a block or two in from the beach you will get much better value for your money plus much bigger rooms. The rooms at the Beacon were not inexpensive, they were very small and the bathrooms were ridiculously small. While the breakfast was good, the service was slow and the waitresses were snotty with attitude. More interested in their cell phones than the diners. Do NOT eat here and whatever you do, don't have a drink - outrageously expensive. You are better off staying near Lincoln road, which is less seedy but still very close to the beach

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havefunCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for taking the time to review us.

I sincerely apologize that our location, hotel facilities and service standards did not quite meet your expectations. Sharing your insights on your personal experience means a lot to us. For that reason, I would like to invite you to share more detailed information regarding your observations. We definitely will pay closer attention and take stronger measures to prevent such a situation from happening ever again. Please contact me at elvis@beaconsouthbeach.com to further discuss details.

It is our hope that you would consider staying with us again if you return to South Beach. I would like regain your confidence and ensure a great experience.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a superb, friendly, clean, well-managed, modern, stylish and welcoming boutique hotel. I really couldn't fault the place.

The staff were warm, helpful and welcoming. The room, if small, was clean and well laid out, the bed was huge and comfortable, there is no view from the window (other than rooftops) but that really doesn't matter as you can be on Ocean Drive and Miami beach in a matter of seconds.

The bathroom may have been a little on the small side but it was clean and perfectly useable.

The hotel thoughtfully provide free beach chairs, beach-towels and free coffee (good quality) in the mornings. The breakfast was delicious.

Valet parking was $20/24 hours, which isn't expensive for the area.

The hotel has a warm, positive, safe and friendly atmosphere and the location is just perfect for everything that South Beach has to offer.

I would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay and I recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thensx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for giving us the chance to host you here at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing such an exceptional review.

It sounds as if you had a truly magnificent stay and that your expectations were routinely exceeded. Your kind words will bring joy to the entire Beacon team. We can’t thank you enough! We feel truly honored to have met you.

We long for you return and can’t wait to welcome you back here at the Beacon hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the rush of turning from 8th onto Ocean Drive's adrenaline, lights, music and action at night, to the kid glove treatment of valet and hotel associates, an excellent one-night stay. Hotel has appeal for young 20 as well as the mature set. Hotel associates recognized us and knew our names and room. Room, though smaller, was clean, modern with up-to-date electronics. Vintage hotel was modernized but strongly held its vintage vibe. All toiletries and sundries were ready. Bedding was immaculate with high quality mattress encasement. Tile floors were clean. Inviting and chic lounge areas over two floors. Breakfast on the veranda under shade with music and boyant, cheerful, and efficient wait staff overlooking Lummus park was an inspiring start to the day. Next off to he beautiful free beach right accross the street, or join in with the boarders, walkers, or rent a bike for the park. A short walk from the hip closed-to-traffic Espanola Street for shopping, mingling and dining beautiful at dark under strung lights. With top notch service, the associates clearly have tremendous pride in the Beacon and in showing guests the best time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so very much for blessing the Beacon Hotel with your presence and for an exceptional review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We indeed have immense pride in our Beacon Hotel and our entire team. We again thank you for sharing your valuable insights. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to the entire Beacon team.

We would love to have you stay with us at the Beacon Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#101 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing