We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent experience, Top Notch Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #46 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent experience, Top Notch Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the rush of turning from 8th onto Ocean Drive's adrenaline, lights, music and action at night, to the kid glove treatment of valet and hotel associates, an excellent one-night stay. Hotel has appeal for young 20 as well as the mature set. Hotel associates recognized us and knew our names and room. Room, though smaller, was clean, modern with up-to-date electronics. Vintage hotel was modernized but strongly held its vintage vibe. All toiletries and sundries were ready. Bedding was immaculate with high quality mattress encasement. Tile floors were clean. Inviting and chic lounge areas over two floors. Breakfast on the veranda under shade with music and boyant, cheerful, and efficient wait staff overlooking Lummus park was an inspiring start to the day. Next off to he beautiful free beach right accross the street, or join in with the boarders, walkers, or rent a bike for the park. A short walk from the hip closed-to-traffic Espanola Street for shopping, mingling and dining beautiful at dark under strung lights. With top notch service, the associates clearly have tremendous pride in the Beacon and in showing guests the best time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so very much for blessing the Beacon Hotel with your presence and for an exceptional review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We indeed have immense pride in our Beacon Hotel and our entire team. We again thank you for sharing your valuable insights. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to the entire Beacon team.

We would love to have you stay with us at the Beacon Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    840
    257
    72
    49
See reviews for
450
903
86
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Best hotel we stayed in south beach! Its located on Ocean drive, so you can just go to the beach with all your swimming suits on! One of the best thing is that the hotel provides the beach chairs!! The room is not very big for the price, so if you are on a budget, you can find lots of cheaper hotels on collin ave. Anyway, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sisi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Beacon hotel as your preferred hotel and for providing such a great review. What an honor to have had you as a guest!

I will make sure to share your positive comments with the entire Beacon team.

We long for your return as we will be happy to welcome you back here at the Beacon Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Without or without that famous scene, the Beacon holds up to the Ocean Dr competition better than anybody. Clean and comfortable with a decent view of the ocean. Friendly staff and a great restaurant, even though you cannot room charge dinner.

That is the only negative.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth the extra cash... But not very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSox_Twitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at the Beacon Hotel and for astonishing us with your wonderful comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, the hotel, facilities and service standards. Your kind words will bring happiness to the entire Beacon team.

We are all looking forward to your next visit at the Beacon Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel is in the heart of Miami life. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and did their best to meet our requests. The hotel is like a "boutique" hotel which is quite modern inside. Although they have free Wifi, they also had two computers for guests' use. Room was clean and gym while small was ample. The beach is right across the hotel, but it is a small walk before you get to the water (approx 500m). The restaurant outisde the hotel is operated by a separate company. We had cocktails on the verandah-what we were told were going to be USD 7.95 each cocktails ended up being USD 17.95 each cocktails-it is not operated by the hotel. Christian at the front desk was excellent and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for giving the Beacon hotel the pleasure to count you among our valued guests and for providing such a wonderful review.

Your positive comments will only motivate us to do better. I will certainly share your kind words with Christian as well as the entire Beacon team.

Please do contact me at the Beacon Hotel when you would like to stay with us again as we would love to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The bellman was helpful when I showed up. The front desk was very polite. My key didn't work the first time but they fixed it and sent maintenance just in case the key battery was having issues. The room was clean and a decent size for an art deco hotel. The only down side to the hotel is the elevator, it fits 4 people or 2 people and luggage. Most of the the time I took the stair since the hotel only has 5 floors. They have beach chairs in the room that you can take to the beach, which is located right across from the hotel. Free breakfast from 9-11 am. Great location to everything on Ocean Dr. and one of the better priced hotels for that location.

Room Tip: Avoid the buy 1 get 1 free drinks, as one very large drink is $25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Beacon hotel and for sharing such a great review. It is truly rewarding to us to see that you have embraced the true Beacon culture.

I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team. We all feel honored and grateful to have contributed to such a success.

We long for you return and can’t wait to welcoming you back here at the Beacon hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a super cool hotel right on Ocean Blvd. You get beach chair rentals with your room ( a big plus considering to rent them on the beach can be $50 plus daily!) In addition, they several made to order breakfast selections included with your room charge. Make sure to try the OJ is was especially tasty!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele83MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for such a candid review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here at the Beacon hotel.

Nothing would have made us happier than the kind words you chose to share with us. We continuously strive to give our valued guests the best experience imaginable.

I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We cordially invite you to visit the Beacon hotel again very soon.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A top review for the Beacon hotel due first of all to its great location, but also to its fantastic staff who were all extremely friendly and helpful and really willing to go the extra mile. They offered us a late check-out, took action straight away when some neighbours were being noisy (suddenly there was silence!), and offer nice little extras like a free breakfast menu (more than just continental), a coffee and tea buffet every morning till noon or 1pm as well as free bottled water when you go to the beach.
Our room was also very quiet and cozy - nothing out of the ordinary but just what you need for a beach or shopping holiday.
I can also recommend the restaurant and bar at the hotel - it is definitely better than many others on Ocean Drive who will overpromise you some special offers (free appetizers, etc) which they will not stick to at the time the check comes. The Beacon hotel is different in that sense as well - they are honest and stick to their promises when they make you a special offer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us the immense chance to host you here at the Beacon Hotel and for such a perfect review. We are so proud to notice that your entire stay was flawless and up to your expectations.

It is an enormous compliment to our property and team that you have enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. It pleases us so very much to have accomplished our ultimate goal which is to satisfy our guests in every way possible. I will be delighted to share your much appreciated compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to counting you among our guests once again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#99 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#65 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing