We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #58 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just spent a night at the Beacon Hotel in South Beach. It is the real "South Beach Experience". The art deco lobby is lovely and the rooms, while a little small, are very attractive, the beds very comfortable, and the staff extremely friendly and attentive. Our only snaffu was trying to figure out how and where to leave the car to check in. It feels like you're in a no parking zone, but just pull up in front of the hotel and the company that seems to handle all the Ocean Drive hotels' valet service, just seem to show up. It's a tad chaotic as Ocean Drive is very narrow, traffic flows in both directions and there are loads of pedestrians....and there is a restaurant with tables right on the sidewalk along the curb, but just wedge yourself in and it all gets sorted out. Very fun and very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,417)
There are newer reviews for Beacon South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Two night stay in Suite 319 for a "girls" escape with four 50yo friends celebrating decades of friendship. Our cost with parking charge was $250/nt. Suite was accurately depicted in photo reviews. The room was very clean and the front desk was very prompt to respond to all requests! The bathroom sink became "stuck" in the stopper position shortly after check-in. Within 5 minutes of reporting the problem , a cracked gasket was indentified. The "stopper" was removed to allow immediate draining and promptly fixed in the morning. We "drew straws" to determine who would share the King bed on the "upper" level with a window with an ocean and street view (three steps above the lower level), the "losers" had to share a full size pull out sofa sleeper. I "won" the first draw, the King bed and abundant pillows were extremely comfortable. The two that shared the pull out reported that it was just awful with the dreaded bar across the middle of the bed. The second night, I asked for an extra sheet set. I put the large sofa cushions on the marble floor and slept reasonably well on top of them, my friend had the horrible pull out all to herself.
The included breakfasts with fresh squeezed OJ, coffee and the 8 options were quite good (we had 5/8 over two days). We ate one evening meal outside with entertainment provided by a Flamenco dancer., I ordered the "Sushi" quality tuna for $28 after a 20% discount. It was not seasoned at all (was presented "medium" and did not appear to be sushi worthy) and the only available condiment was soy sauce!
Positives include a great location right across from the beach (plus beach chairs and towels), very responsive front desk and good included breakfast offerings. The lobby is very Art Deco and there is a lounge on the second floor with two computers. Negatives: Very uncomfortable pull out sofa sleeper, questionable choice for a good dinner.
For four very close friends, sharing two beds and one bathroom for less than $65/nt with ample space including a bar and ocean view, the Beacon Hotel exceeded my expectations. I saw a standard double room during housekeeping, these rooms are small with no open space. I would suggest comparing prices for one of the two suites, especially for 3 or 4 guests. It appears that the stated fee for additional guests was not imposed during my stay. Bottom line, I would stay at The Beacon again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnmel1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wanted to stay in the Art Deco part of SoBe and this hotel is sooo reasonably priced and looked good and it really is as good as it looks. Rooms v.comfy and clean though the bathroom is rather small but hey it is an Art Deco gem. Linens and towels really good quality. Beach towels and beach chairs in the room, a robe each and there is a mini-bar and snack-bar in the room. The cocktails are really good and the restaurant has decent food too. Complimentary breakfast, a coffee station and computers and wifi are an extra bonus too. The staff are very friendly and helpful with ideas of trips if you want. The beach is just across the road and shops and restaurants just around the corner. We loved the funky reception area and the general decor and the overall location was excellent. A good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoequeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Beacon this past July. The staff was great, extremely helpful, the art was great along with a nice clean room!!

My husband and I enjoyed the location, we were able to go walking on the beach early in the morning without any problems. We had a so much fun exploring the restaurants and shopping.

Looking forward to our next stay in 2013!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our group stayed recently a few nights at the Beacon hotel and it was a very good surprise, rooms are clean and confortable (a bit small), food and drinks were also well appreciated. The hotel is located at the heart of Ocean drive, perfect to feel local atmosphere. A real hot spot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I sought accommodations at this lovely boutique hotel for my birthday during Labor Day weekend. Upon entrance, we immediately noticed the foyer. Everything was modern and inviting. The seating area makes for fantastic photos opportunities. Checking in was a breeze. Service was friendly, and we even received a free room upgrade. Our room was on the second floor (211), so taking the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator was an added bonus. The room was relatively clean besides a couple of issues: 1) the window (inside and outside) and curtains seemed to be of need of attention, this is important to gain full exposure to the ocean view. 2) It appeared that the maid forgot to sweep the floor of our room a couple of days. However, the room was a decent size and operational. The restroom area was serviceable enough for two people. The vanity could have been a bit larger for my wife’s belongings, but when you average in the size of the room this was not an issue at all. Also located on the 2nd level is a: courtyard, business center, and second lounge area. This in my opinion was very convenient. The noise level was moderate even though it’s closer to the street and in the middle of all the action. Needless to say, we didn’t have a problem getting a good night sleep. The complimentary breakfast was an added treat. You have a select list of items to choose from. Tea, orange juice, and water are also complimentary. Overall it was a very enjoyable vacation, and the service was spot on. I have recommended The Beacon to friends, and plan on visiting The Beacon in the near future.

Tips:

Free beach chairs are located in the closet of your room. Beach umbrellas are limited and located behind the reception area. Just pick one up the first day of your stay, and keep it for the duration of your trip. ;)

This hotel is located right in the middle of action (walking distance to Mangos, Clevelander, Wet Willies etc). No rental car was needed, and taxis are plentiful as well as economical.

Room Tip: Ask for the free upgrade. Its worth a try.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEXRATED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gus K, Q.A. & Reputation Manager at Beacon South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guests;
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us. It’s great to hear all the positives about the property. Also and mainly I want to thank you for those two remarks (windows and floor) that you include in your comments and apologize for the omission. I assure you we will not take them lightly.We consistently look into improving our rooms and services to provide our guests only the best. I hope you will visit us again and have the opportunity to prove you how serious we are about our guests comments.
Once again, thank you for such a beatiful review.
Best regards.....


Gus Kehyaian
Q.A. & Reputation Manager
Beacon Hotel South Beach
305-674-8200 ext. 660
gus@beaconsouthbeach.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been staying at the Beacon 5 years in a row, always for 8-9 days.
The staff is sooo helpful!! Management takes it seriously, when you ask for a quiet room - even during spring break.
Location is excellent - just across from the beach and within 2 minutes walk of shopping and restaurants.
We'll be back in 2013!

Room Tip: ask for a quet room and they'll put you on one of the higher floors
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gus K, Q.A. & Reputation Manager at Beacon South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest;

We are thrilled to know that you were not only pleased with our traditional 'five diamonds customer service" but also with the hotel overall.
We are very thankful for your beautiful comments about the staff and service. We try really hard to make it perfect for you....we just can say....What a beautiful review!
Please come see us again and be sure to ask for the repeat guest discount when calling the hotel.
We'll see you soon.
Best regards....

Guiragos Kehyaian
Q.A. & Reputation Manager
Beacon Hotel South Beach
305-674-8200 ext. 660
gus@beaconsouthbeach.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#80 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#26 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#119 of 210 in Miami Beach
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $154 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing