We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! location is King with beacon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The lobby makes a great statement right off the bat - Really makes you feel like your in that art deco style
Very friendly and attentive service.2br suite -- this was an amazing room, and perfect for traveling
Great cocktails in the bar, and we loved having a restaurant right downstairs ! perfect for long nights having a breakfest right at the doorsteps
Only drawback was a noise because of the thin walls.

Otherwise this hotel has it all! My husband and i travel a fair bit and enjoy our hotel rooms as part of our trips as much as the location and city sites etc. For us it is an essential part of our travel so we have high expectations and happy to pay for that luxury. We would stay at the beacon hotel next time we are on south beach because the location was perfect right in the middle of everything on Ocean and 7th

Room Tip: Book in advance and save money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NyLady_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 18, 2011

Dearest Guest,

The Beacon Hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your great experience with us in your most recent stay here. It makes us very proud to hear about the good impressions we made with our newly renovated lobby and how our staff members exceeded and attended to all your expectations during your stay.

We would also like to take the time to apolagize about the noise level that inconvinienced you during your stay. Our hotel as you know, is an original Art Deco Hotel with a structure that dates back to the 1930's. These boutique rooms were built at it's best at the time and unfortunately can sometimes be difficult to block out all the noises coming from the hotel's common areas and hallways.

We appreciate your choice in the Beacon Hotel as your Miami Beach destination and will always have an open door for you to come visit us at any time.

Thank You!

Derek Derefaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

We have been to this hotel in March the last two years and I would recommend to anyone visiting South Beach. Location is on the beach at the south end of A1A. Far enough from the noise but easy to get to all amenities. They provide beach chairs for the beach and big towels. Beds are very comfortable and service is wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 18, 2011

On behalf of the Beacon Hotel staff we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write about your great experience with us. We feel very lucky to have serviced such wonderful guests who had a great time with their stay with us. We are very proud our staff has exceeded in providing the best quality service possible.

At this time the Beacon family would like to extend our gratitude by keeping an open door to you as well as your family and friends at any time. We take pride in providing the utmost best services possible for all of our guest and will continue to do so.

Thank you once again for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed one night after a cruise. They have transportation to the hotel from the port. You just have to call an hour before you are ready to leave. The hotel provides beach towels & lounge chairs to their guest. We plan to stay here again when we go on our next cruise in Miami.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renchi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank your for writing about your most recent experinces with us here at the Beacon Hotel.
We wished you could have stayed longer than one night and hope you will return to us with more days to enjoy.

We are happy to hear that our transportation we provided was able to facilitate your arrival to Miami Beach. We are also happy to hear our beach towels and lounge chairs that was provided were some helpful items during your stay.

Thank you once again for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your Miami Beach destinaiton and hope you will return to us soon on your next cruise!

Sincerely,

Derek Derefaka
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

One of my best friends and I stayed at the Beacon from 6/1-6/5 and we had a blast. We were a little skeptical of this hotel, being that it is an Art Deco Hotel, and were concerned about its amenities and overall convenience. Well, let me just say that any expectations we had were exceeded! The staff was super friendly, Thanks Derek, for making our checkout as easy as possible. The location! A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!, couldn't have asked for a better spot on Ocean drive. Right across from the beach, like walk across the street and you are there, right up the street from Lincoln, amazing shopping and on a serious strip of restaurants. We will sooooo be staying here again and couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTHJAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 18, 2011

On behalf of the Beacon Hotel staff we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write about your great experience with us. We are extremely proud to have changed your opinions on Art Deco Hotels and exceeding all your expectations on staying with us.

At this time the Beacon family would like to extend our gratitude by keeping an open door to you as well as your family and friends at any time. And we are very happy that you will consider us on your next return to Miami Beach.

Thank you once again for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We booked the place at a great price and it's at an amazing location, right next to the beach and very close to the South Beach Local bus line that takes you everywhere for $.25 but if we would have paid more for better quality had we known we could hear EVERYTHING.
At 7:30ish every morning there is a truck that either comes by and bangs for a good 10 mins and we could hear it. We could hear anyone talking at a normal volume in the hall. But after all the fun things we did in miami we usually passed out...if you are light sleeper i dont recommend for sure. I'm gonna say the worse though was the air conditioner, either low or high setting and even the low setting sounds like some kind of heavy duty utility fan. We didnt bother complaining 'cause we can hear the next room's fan too.
The rooms itself are clean but they are tiny, smaller than rooms in NYC and in Hong Kong, i'm a bit surprised because those places are more populated and lots of tourists go there as well. the hall ways need a serious paint job but we dont sleep in the halls so no biggie.
The reason why i gave service poor is because we went to the concierge to ask for a map of the area and she didnt know where they were and didnt really look. She said she was covering for some one else and doesnt usually work there but she made no effort to find us the map. Instead, she drew us a "memory map": on a single Post-It with a purple highlighter showing the next three streets over...which we saw when we walked to the hotel. Oh and her thong was hanging out of her pants =S They have a restaurant connected to the bottom of the hotel and the hostess lied to us. We were leaving to go walk around and she said that there will be a flamenco dancer with a live band tonight so come join them. So we came back a couple hours later and asked her if this is still happening and she said yes. Well there was a violinist and a guitarist who played with pre-recorded music but the flamenco dancer didn't show :-( was disappointed.

Bottom line-if you are a heavy sleeper, want to stay close to the beach/shops (Collins Ave a block over) and can get a super deal on this place, sure! If any one of these things don't apply i'd look elsewhere

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed at the beacon for 5 nights, after reading so many reviews on trip advisor this place fit our budget (129 a night plus tax) so decided to book it. First the positives: great location walk to everything, room decent size (bigger than new York that's for sure) and had an amazing dinner at the restaurant our first night.
I didn't find any if the staff overly friendly, polite but no one really talked to us or offered info on miami. I know it's in Sobe but this hotel is one of the noisiest I have ever stayed in. People slamming doors all night, group of guests on our floor yelling at at 5am with no one telling them to keep it down, then the tv in the bar at full volume at 2am one morning with no one watching it. Finally called front desk, "oh is it too loud?" well its on the wall directly behind our room what do you think?????
all in all the beacon was ok for us but I was expecting a lot better from all the reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philthy_jada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2011

Dear beloved Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your South Beach destination hotel. We would like to reach out to you in regards to your most recent stay at the Beacon Hotel. As a result of the lively and very active nightlife, the activity and noise levels in a South Beach hotel tend to be on the high levels than usual at times. We have in place night time personnel to control the level of noises as to accommodate all our hotel guests. In the future, we strongly suggest a phone call to the front desk staff for any inconveniences experienced during the late night hours. We are distraught that one of our staff members was not able locate a map of the area when demanded. We have seized the opportunity to train all our non-operational staff into providing the map information required. In regards to the issue of the slamming doors, management is currently installing door seals on each door as to reduce the effect of a loud noise coming from the closing of the doors. We are pleased to inform you that we have also taken this opportunity to reorient all our staff members on this issue and it should no longer be a reoccurrence.
We hope this response would have addressed all of your concerns during your stay with us. We are looking forward for your return soon, to access things for you again and hope to read your new review after your visit.
Thank you again for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your home away from home.
Sincerely,
Derek Derefaka,
Front Office Manager,
Beacon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I came to Miami to visit my sister who moved here for work and we booked a wkend at the Beacon. On my 1st night there I called down to the front desk to get extra towels and the night manager REFUSED to have them sent to me. He told me that housekeeping was closed (where does housekeeping close? It's a hotel!) and that I could not get towels and when I explained that I had no way of knowing that information considering it was not posted anywhere and I was not informed at check-in he told me that it was common sense and that I should have known. I have traveled all over the world and have NEVER experienced this type of service. Not even at a hostel! Overall the room was as to be expected for South Beach, except for the hair left on the floor in the bathroom. They have complimentary continental breakfast which is actually a piece of un-toasted white bread, a yogurt, OJ, coffee, and a small bagel. I reported the night manager and the general manager made his apologies and offered to comp my parking and possibly one of the nights of my stay, and I agreed to forgive the night managers rude behavior. However he NEVER followed through with any of those accommodations and my follow up phone calls have not been returned. My advice is to steer clear of the Beacon. There are plenty of hotel's on South Beach, don't waste your time being insulted at this one!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBunny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2011

First we would like to take this time to thank our dear guest for taking out time to write this review, We appreciate all feedbacks, whether positive or negative. The Beacon Hotel and its staffers strive to improve our hotel service and to satisfy every guest's needs.
Housekeeping cleaning services are not offered during the overnight hours from 12 midnight to 7.00 am, however toiletries and requests can and are supplied to all our guests when they are requested at any time of the day. The New employee which was involved in this incident has been re-trained on our Customer Service Principles and Hotel policies. the Items served for Breakfast meet the standard for American Continental breakfast, the restuarant does offer an upgrade to full breakfast which includes your choice of eggs wih pancakes or waffles for $5.99. We recommend guest in the future to upgrade to this option for a more fulfilling breakfast. we did in fact speak with the guest in the immediate morning after and we did rectify the problem by comp parking for the total stay ($20 daily value) and in addition we were in constant communication via telephone with one of the guests and we offered them a hotel certificate good for one night complimentary stay and it was sent out in the mail the after. in addition, the guest did not mention regarding the cleanliness of the room during any conversations with hotel management. we fee these comments are in spite and should hold no merit.
Should you need any more assisitance on this matter, Please do not hesistate to contact me at 305-674-8200 ext 614 or email me at Derek@beaconsouthbeach.com

Once again thank you for the review we will continue to strive to have our all our guest satisfied.

Ssincerely,

Derek Derefaka
Beacon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Pelican Hotel
#38 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,242 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#15 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,841 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#75 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,448 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#54 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,832 reviews
Essex House
#56 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $227 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing