We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #96 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was there in November and it isn't the best hotel but it did its job. The smell resembled that of an old NYC building. It it wasn't unbearable. Once we got into the room you couldn't smell it. The staff was super friendly and assisted us with our bags and promptly checked us in and had the room ready on time. Was a bit disappointed with the breakfast, especially for the money but that is miami beach. The room was an ok size, there was three of us and we made it work. No complaints with the mattress and the sheets were cleaned. The bathroom was very clean. The only negative about the bathroom is the door hit the toilet seat and had to be pushed to open the door all the way. The walls are very thin but it wasn't terrible. Our neighbors were a bit rowdy at times but overall it was ok. GREAT price and GREAT location! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hello, Stephanie. Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with the cleanliness of your bathroom and the comfort of your bed. It is also great to hear you were pleased with the service you received from our staff, as our staff certainly enjoys taking care of each one of our guests. We apologize for the issues you had with your bathroom door and the noise level in your guestroom, and we certainly appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Thank you again for your helpful feedback and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Yes, the beds are pretty nominal and definitely noisy. And the walls are absolutely thin - you will hear people in the halls and possibly in the next rooms. And because of cabling issues, a few of the rooms have TVs with pretty poor reception.

That having been said, the location is terrific, the decor is bright and fun, the price is great, and they have by far THE most gracious and outstanding staff I have ever encountered in any hotel anywhere. A particular shout-out to Fuad, who's enthusiasm WILL brighten your day!

I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcarol1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you liked the location of the hotel and you were pleased with the decor and cost of your stay. We are thrilled that you spoke so highly of our staff, as we take great pride in ensuring our guests receive the best possible service they can from us. We apologize for the noise issues in your guestroom and with your bed, and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is not very good, and not average either. Just would say, it is okay. Was very disappointed with the breakfast for the price of the room paid. The room was spacious, clean and bright so it was nice. I would stay there again if needed. The staff was very nice though and super helpful and the bed super comfortable!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are happy to hear you were pleased with the size and cleanliness of your guestroom and the helpful service you received from our staff. We are also glad you were comfortable in your guestroom bed, and we hope you slept well while you were here. We apologize that your breakfast fell short of expectations, and we do appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went to Orlando for a week and decided to fly down to Miami for the weekend!
After looking around at a number of hotels we opted for this one as it had relatively good views and seemed to be centrally located!
Upon arrival we checked in and we given our room keys but when we went up we found the room was damp, cold and smelly with a leaky tap and a not so powerful shower. We complained about this and were immediately transferred to another room.
Wall to wall mirrors - perfect for girls getting ready for a night out in Miami. A walk in closet and a lovely little bathroom.
Staff were very friendly, helpful, kind and pleasant too.
Each evening they give you a free drink at the bar and the next morning lay on a proper continental breakfast!
The beach is a block behind the hotel and the hotel offer towels and foldable chairs to take with.
Very impressed and would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissATK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you had a nice experience with us and that you enjoyed our location and the service you received from our staff. We apologize for the issue with your first guestroom and we are happy that our staff could accommodate you with a room more suitable to your needs. We are glad you were happy with your guestroom amenities and bathroom, as well as your nightly free drink. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope you make the choice to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is the worst hotel I've ever been in my life. The price paid was very expensive and not really worth every dollar paid there.

The most important thing when you go to a hotel is the bed. The President Hotel has the worst beds I've never slept on. The mattress is cheap and poor quality. The beds are destroyed and a horrible sound every time you move the on beds. After talked with the manager (because was not money back) she did to me an upgrade to the Penthouse level. She said it had better beds and new mattress. But it was exactly the same. Sound coming out from the bed, seemed the sound of a rusty old door without grease

The walls are very thin and you could hear all the sounds of the bed in the other room

Never mind making love in those beds because the entire floor would have heard the creaking of the beds, because walls was so tinny

The only really redeeming point is the staff. it takes to help you and your stay more enjoyable.Thanks Guys

For the price I paid, I am very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pfernandez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff, but we are disappointed to hear your stay with us fell short of expectations. We apologize for the issues you faced with your guestroom mattress, and although our manager accommodated you with another room, we are sorry it wasn't what you had hoped it would be. We also apologize for the noise level in your guestroom and we appreciate that you brought the issue to our attention. We thank you again for your helpful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice place in miami beach. Really close to the beach. Nice rooms for the price. The personal was kind and friendly. Don't use valet parking. Is a rip off. Good place to stay if you are not planning to stay on your room for long hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humberto Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hello, Humberto. Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you liked the location of our hotel and that you were pleased with your guestroom and overall stay. It is also great to hear that you were happy with the service you received during your visit. We thank you again for letting us know about your recent stay and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the President Hotel on January 5 for the national Championship game in Miami. We loved the location bc we could walk where we needed to go. The rooms were small but that was ok for us mainly bc it was clean. When we checked out the thrid party valet company Associated Parking Systems took about 45 minutes to bring our car around (longer then anyone else that waited). When it finally got there, the guy gave us the keys. When I went to walk around the back I noticed the back side of my car had been backed into. The valet guy NEVER mentioned this and when confronted his response was " it wasn't like that?" We filed a claim, he gave us a folded up piece of paper with Shawn Remmer claim managers name in sharpie, no business cards, nothing. It is now Feb 19 and he has yet to call us back, email us back, or be concerned about this issue. We called the hotel and their response was " this is a third party parking company we cant help you". We still were charged $30+ for parking per night and still have no resolution to this matter. I would NEVER stay here again and when telling anyone about Miami, I always make sure to tell them about the pass the buck attitude of this hotel and parking company. Stay at your own risk!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hello, Kristin. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and you were pleased with the cleanliness of your guestroom. We do apologize, however, for the issues you faced with our valet company and we certainly want to get this taken care of for you. We take your feedback very seriously, and we would like to discuss your experience further. Please contact Veronica Superno, our General Manager, at (305) 534-9334, Ext 503 or vsuperno@penguinhotel.com so that we can remedy the situation. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Collins Hotel
#100 of 212 in Miami Beach
985 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#183 of 212 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Flora
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,534 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#68 of 212 in Miami Beach
846 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#33 of 212 in Miami Beach
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $123 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing