We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic accomidations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #97 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Newtown, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“basic accomidations”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want inexpensive and basic in the middle of South Beach this is the place. If you want fancy schmancy look elsewhere. Originally placed in a very small room we were able to change to a larger one after 2 nights. The room was clean enough, the bed was a flimsy thin mattress, elevator had an expired inspection which is a little disturbing. The shower was bazaar- no barrier between shower floor and the bathroom floor and curtain only went 3/4 way down so water saturated whole bathroom floor. Staff was generally pleasant, location is the best thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckys-budy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are glad that you were pleased with the cleanliness of your guestroom and that our staff made you feel welcome. It is great to hear you liked the location of our hotel and we certainly hope you took advantage of it while you were here. We apologize for the issues you faced with some of your guestroom and bathroom amenities, and we will be sure to take your helpful comments under consideration for the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    518
    322
    138
    143
See reviews for
252
469
96
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time staying at The President Hotel. I have to say from staff to the room everything was on point. Very friendly and clean. normally when I write my reviews I mention names that deserve it and there were several that do but for the life of me cant remember names. Youre close to the beach bars and great food. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahoestud25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the service from our staff and the cleanliness of the overall hotel. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel and hope you were able to take full advantage of it while you were here. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Expectations are everything. We were not looking for a resort, we were not looking for dazzling amenities, we could care less if there was a TV in our room. We were looking for an Art Deco atmosphere, friendly staff, cleanliness, and a good location for walking everywhere. We really got most of that. If there was a little seediness owing to the carpets in the hallway/stairs not being tidy enough to suit our standards, we let it go. Our room, 201, was at the top of the stairs leading up from the foyer/bar, which was incredibly convenient (we didn't have to use the elevator). It was an immaculate, bright, corner room. Yes, the windows did not open but we looked out at lovely palm trees and another Art Deco hotel across the street, and the temperature was kept comfortable by a properly cycling a/c unit, which doubled as a noise filter for the traffic and our clueless next door neighbors. The TV seemed to work fine. The front desk staff and bar staff were friendly and sweet. The continental breakfast was bare bones basic but totally adequate. Didn't mind the OPTIONAL "resort fee" that was tacked on-- come on, people, there's a recession going on. Give them a break! I did not feel exploited as a tourist the way I have in my home state of California when visiting L. A. in the past. Absolutely loved the beautiful courtyard with its palm trees and shallow pool; we spent several hours reading and relaxing in the shade after exploring for hours by foot and by bike, and a Finnish family enjoyed it with their boys, too. Another thing we got a kick out of was how international and varied our fellow guests were. True, the walls are paper thin as others have mentioned, and I barely slept the first night-- but I did the second, so maybe it was just a matter of getting used to the rhythms of others who don't go to bed/get up early like we do. We were happy staying at The President because we loved the location, the serenity by day, and the atmosphere that had us expecting a shadow of Peter Lorre or Sidney Greenstreet at any moment.

Room Tip: If you want the convenience of not needing the elevator, choose 201-- but be sure to put the Do Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staff was polite and pleasant, which is why it has 3 stars, instead of 2. I booked this hotel because I wanted to spend a night in Miami beach. I arrived several hours before check-in time, but the desk clerk offered to hold my bags and call me as soon as the room was ready. I wandered around Miami beach for a couple of hours and returned to the hotel to check-in when she called. I had a 2nd floor room which was comfortable....decent bed, tiny bathroom and some room to spread stuff out. I read the other reviews about this hotel and knew that the rooms would be noisy. Whoever said "paper-thin walls" hit the nail on the head. Perfect description! I am glad I only stayed 1 night because it was really noisy. The breakfast was only toast or cereal, juice and coffee. The coffee was good. This was a good location for walking around Miami beach, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We thank you for sharing your thoughts about your experience with us. We are happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and you were pleased with the comfort of your guestroom and location of the hotel. We are glad to hear you had breakfast with us and especially enjoyed your coffee. We do apologize for the noise issue you faced with your accommodations, and appreciate that you brought it to our attention, as we will certainly take it under consideration for the future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Miami Beach has great weather. This hotel however lacks everything one wants in a resort setting. There are no amenities, the rooms are small(I had a suite). The staff is not interested in service. The room smelled as if it hadn't been used in years. The bar adds an 18% tip on the bill. Be aware this is common practice in all of South Beach. I will NOT return to this area. I had a good time, but the entire are appears to be a rip-off tourist trap.

Room Tip: Don"t stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello, Will. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your recent visit. We are sorry you were not happy with your Miami experience and your stay with us was not what you had hoped it would be. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with the size of your guestroom and service from our staff, and we will be sure to bring this to their attention. We take great pride in making sure our guests are well taken care of when they stay with us, so we do apologize for the issues you faced. Thank you again for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Yankton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ok...we read the reviews, and thought this would be an inexpensive, clean hotel. What we found was it was run down, the elevator was a little scary, (the inspection is expired) If you want a place to take a hooker, this would be it. After 10 pm the johns started negotiating on the porch, and went inside. It was quite interesting to hear the conversation. Definitely not a family hotel.
The free breakfast is toast, cold cereal, fruit, orange juice and coffee. The mattress are very small, and no blankets or comforters. The rooms are a like a little box with a few mattress on platform. The free cable tv had three channels. A beautiful remodeled shower, but no water pressure. 100 yards from south beach and you do get a chair for the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyownedbizniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sending us your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you liked the location of the hotel and the complimentary chair we offer for a day at the beach. We are glad you were happy with the service you received from our staff and the remodel of your guestroom bathroom. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you had hoped it would be and we are sorry for the issues you found with the upkeep of the hotel, and the comfort and size of your guestroom. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to better understand the needs and wants of our guests. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed over New Year so the prices were higher than normal but even so the room was overpriced for what it was. They were clean & modern but the walls were very thin and our room was connected to an adjoining room by a door so we could here the neighbours talking. The breakfast was good & the wait staff friendly. It is in a central location to the beach, Ocean Drive & not too far to walk to Lincoln mall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us over the New Year's holiday and we are pleased that you were happy with the look and cleanliness of your guestroom, as well as the service you received from our staff. It is great to hear you liked the location of the hotel and hope you were able to take full advantage of it while you were here. We do apologize for the noise issue you faced and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#85 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,209 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#174 of 208 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#118 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#90 of 208 in Miami Beach
761 reviews
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#116 of 208 in Miami Beach
482 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#125 of 208 in Miami Beach
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Property: The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Address: 1423 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing