We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reconsider”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #99 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reconsider”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Only two positives here: Great location to the shopping and the beach. However, I will keep it simple. Extremely thin walls, squeaky beds, poor Internet connection, adjoined rooms (creepy and drunk neighbors wouldn't shut up all night), creepy and drunk neighbors had a room key card that actually opened my room door at 3 am while I attempted to sleep! Broken hair dryer, tv failed to turn on and when it did only a handful of channels (most of which were not clear to even attempt watching)...then there is a daily reset fee???!! Like I said, reconsider your stay here. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Charmz82,
I just sent you a direct message through your Trip Advisor account. Please get back to me as soon as you receive this message so we can find out exactly what happened during your stay and therefore remedy this situation in one way or another. Thank you so much in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    518
    324
    138
    143
See reviews for
253
470
96
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our last night in Miami. The hotel is conveniently located near Ocean drive and the beach. It was very clean and modern. The room (309) had two double beds, flat screen tv, a shower and usual facilities. The balcony was very nice for having a drink and breakfast. Continental breakfast was very basic, toast and cereal. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful

The downside was really the noise in the room at night from people and traffic passing by. I had a lot of difficulty sleeping that night, it felt like you're sleeping outside!! The windows are very flimsy, there are obvious gaps between panels, and I think the hotel can certainly do something about this. Not sure if its the same for other rooms but reading other reviews, seems the case.

There is a mandatory charge on arrival (about $15 + tax) which covers the continental breakfast, a free drink and a few other freebies like beach towels etc. If you're driving, the hotel valet parking costs $30 (+ tax) for 24 hours, this reflects the general parking rates in the area although there's a nearby public parking lot for $20.

Overall a good, clean hotel,well located but the extreme noise levels in the room do let it down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewtaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Drewtaps,
Thanks so much for this review. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very good deal for great location in Miami Beach! Around the corner from Ocean drive and beach! Rooms were very clean and bathrooms were nice and updated.... As i have stayed in other hotels in Miami Beach before i don't think you can do any better than "the president hotel" in this price range...Staff went beyond all our expectations for us. They left no question unanswered, were helpful , friendly and seemed to enjoy their job! I would like to point out the help we received from Rim and Jamie, who made our stay a rememorable one!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationgirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Vacationgirl911,
Kudos to Rim and Jamie! Thank you for posting this review and come back soon! South Beach is on fire all year long......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the president hotel last week for 3 nights. It was just a quick getaway. We got the hotel for a great price through booking.com and despite some of the bad reviews we didn't have any problems. It was in a great location right on Collins in the middle of everything. Close to the beach and restaurants/ clubs. It was a small room with a small bed, but it was fine since it was just two of us. They offered one free drink person every night at the bar between 5 and 7 which, was good, although some other hotels offer a free hour of happy hour. The pool is very small, not really a swimming pool more to just sit around, but most people dont come to south beach for the pool, you go to the beach! So not a big deal. Overall, we had a good stay, its not a luxury hotel, but its not a luxury price either. Its very similar to a lot of other boutique hotels in the area but it is a great value for the price, better than most. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear SFrazer,
Wonderful review! It means the world to us! Thanks so very much and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked the Hotel through kayak.com. When I arrived there, they didn't have the reservation. We called kayak and they confirmed the reservation on the phone with the lady at the front desk. But instead of checking me in, I had to wait another 2.5 hours because they needed a written confirmation. They didn't apologize for the inconveniences once. After they finally were able to pull up the reservation, they gave me a king size bedroom. Since I was travelling with 3 friends and we booked a room with 2 queen size beds, one of us got an extra bet and one had to sleep on the floor. When we received the extra bed, the housekeeping left it in front of our room. Not even thinking about setting it up for us.

All in all it was the worst Hotel experience in my life! Unfriendly staff and probably the worst organized Hotel you can find in the states.

Room Tip: Confirm the booked room in advance. Otherwise it is very likely that they have lost your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Christopher,
I just emailed you directly to try to get more information about your stay. Please reply to my message. Thanks a lot in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was a bit wary of this hotel because of the mixed reviews, but booked it anyway. The location is fantastic, 1.5 blocks from the beach in the heart of South Beach and walking distance to everything. Reception was friendly, we got there early, they held our bags and called us when our room was ready early. There is a free continental breakfast, free happy hour drink (bartender was really nice). The room was decent we were in 227 and from our tiny bathroom we could see the beach through the alley between buildings :-). The walls are flimsy and it is loud at night, made sure to buy some earplugs. The bathroom could have been cleaner but it was ok, very very small and no bathtub. Overall it was a nice stay, good people watching from the front porch on Collins Ave.
One thing that irked me was I was charged 80cents to make each 1-800 call, I would have used my cell phone, but the calls were 1 hours 45mins to the airline to change my ticket because of hurricane sandy and I know the battery would not have lasted so long. I contested the charges at checkout and they removed them, but said they did charge for 1-800 calls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Donov,
We love guests that focus on the positive side of things instead of having a whole stay ruined for an insignificant detail....You are a trooper! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bed was hard, room smelled a little rank. Cont Breakfast was a joke. Only stayed one night and that was enough. worked out because of the rate but that was about it. The front desk person was nice. Can't really say anything else. Even if the price would be the same and what I paid, still won't come back. Beds are just too hard for me

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica S, General Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear E L,
Thanks so much for this review. I take your comments to heart and I am working on resolving some of the issues you mentioned. Have a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,210 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#174 of 208 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#119 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#91 of 208 in Miami Beach
764 reviews
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#118 of 208 in Miami Beach
483 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#126 of 208 in Miami Beach
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Property: The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Address: 1423 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing