We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The St. Augustine is a true hidden gem in South Beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
Ranked #93 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2009

If you are looking for a small, drop your bags and walk to beach hotel, then the St. Augustine is the hotel for you. I found this hotel by mere walking by it. It is almost a hidden property located south of 5th street. It's a boutique hotel with 24 rooms and the atmosphere reveals much of what you would expect of a spa. My favorite part of the hotel was the steam showers and their newly decorated rooms. I would definitely stay there from now on. Oh, and they have their own parking and free continental breakfast which was just a bonus to find.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svictoria78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 689 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stay in this hotel for 6 days with my husband ans my little daughter (3 years).
The hotel is really great... Wonderful bedroom (very modern).
Very clean
Great bathroom
The staff was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDXmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Nice hotel in a good location - near Lincoln Rd and the beach. Rooms quite good with an awesome steam bath/sauna/shower. Used this a lot. Leaves you feeling very refreshed. Decor could do with a spruce up. Parking seemed a bit expensive at $15 per night. If you're already staying here why try to squeeze even more money out of people?
Bar disappointing - not as advertised. Staff very good and delivered my lost bag to my room when we were out.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciderdrinker68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Just stayed 2 nights before travelling down the keys,
But what a great little hotel, ideally situated on a quite part of Washington Ave but only 5-10 mins from
Ocean drive and the Beach and about 20min walk to lincoln rd malls
Hotel lobby clean and tidy, breakfast included only continental but enough, rooms small but adequate,the shower amazing!!! powerful with several jets and a steam system aswell came out feeling totally refreshed.
Only two small gripes, 1, no coffee making machine in room and 2, the parking charge.
think should be free for customers!!
Id certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markledwidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The Hotel St.Augustine was everything I expected - a hotel with the style & vibe to match one of the worlds great beach front villages.

This beautiful Art Deco building is nestled in just the perfect location - the quiet pocket of streets just south of 5th St on Washington Ave where the traffic & crowds end to the North side of 5th. So you are minutes away from the action yet in a very quiet & relaxed street.

The foyer & rooms are boutique modern and complement the surroundings well. Typical of boutique hotels, the foyer is small with no business facilities - yet I found eating breakfast over the counter at the little bar tucked in the corner was a great way to start the morning, chatting to William and his excellent staff while the adorable Bailey lazed curled up in the corner.

The rooms in particular I loved - I stayed twice and both had an excellent open plan layout that just gave a very relaxed and restful vibe - good karma or feng shui, whatever you want to call it. The only downside was wireless internet was unavailable unless you were right above the foyer area - but then what are you doing in South Beach if your sitting on the PC all night ?

South Beach itself is a great area - the Art Deco buildings are gorgeous of course. Yes it is glamorous, and expensive, and all about the look - but it does it in such a way as to not preclude anyone from visiting and having a drink without feeling out of place, nor is it too over commercialized (which is not to be said about many other parts of Florida).

There have been two consistent criticisms of the St.Augustine - the noise of the AC and the noise from the street. I will definately agree to the first - the AC is loud when its on, and theres no 'medium' setting - kinda all or nothing. But I lived with it quite well - again your not here to be hanging out in your room too much. The noise from the street - well the windows are not very thick it is true - but again this is a much quieter part of Washington Ave than up above 5th - so I never had a problem even on Friday or Saturday night.

So all in all a wonderful stay in a must visit place - I would love to return again - and while the St.Augustine was excellent value for money - just watch yourself getting dragged to some expensive upmarket bars while in South Beach ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We finished our trip through Florida here and had a good time. Miami is not really our thing, but the hotel had some great decorated rooms with lovely bathrooms. The breakfast is simple with cereals and some stuff from the bakery. On the map it looks a little far away from everything, but most things on South Beach are on easy walking distance. Otherwise you can take a bus for 25 cents and go all the way north. The busses go every 10 minutes or so untill late at night. The hotel has parking available at the back of the building for about 15 dollars a day. We wanted a late check-out and got the room 2 hours longer, with no extra charge. Great place for spending your time on South Beach!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0lien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Hotel St Augustine is ideally located. It is 2 blocks from the beach & Ocean drive. This was perfect as it was a quiet spot, but an easy and safe walk to the action of South Beach.

Our room was fantastic. Modern, clean, spacious. We were upgraded to a King because we were on our honeymoon. The bathroom is fantastic. Huge shower with multiple jets- quite luxurious. The steam feature is ok if you like being in a small area filled with steam... my husband tried it but turned it off as he found it hard to breathe will all the steam!

The breakfast is basic but fine. They have cereal, yoghurts, and pastries. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is no elevator so if stairs are an issue for you ask to be on the ground floor. There are not many stairs though - one small flight - and the staff will help you to carry any bags up anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Julia Hotel
The Julia Hotel
#110 of 212 in Miami Beach
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#74 of 212 in Miami Beach
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
411 reviews
2.9 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#107 of 212 in Miami Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $103 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing