We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
Ranked #94 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Our stay at St. Augustine was mostly enjoyable. We agree with other reviewers: shower is excellent! We like the "boutique" hotel feel and spa soaps & robes. Continental breakfast with pastries was great! We also enjoyed the Nikki Beach passes available during the week. Parking is next to hotel. We found the air conditioning to be louder than normal and walls thin. We could hear tv's and talking in other rooms. With all the positive amenities this place has, we would reccommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Augustine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 677 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2008

I originally would stay at St. Augustine's for business, but I could not get enough of it. No matter how long I stood away from Florida, St. Augustine's was where I wanted to stay everytime I would return. The decorum is Vintage Miami wih a modern touch of freshness and the staff makes you feel like your part of the family. St. Augustine's has a fresh feeling to it as well as a somberness. I enjoy the great hospitality..Management is wonderful and I hope they continue to make me want to come back..... I miss it everytime I'm away for too long. I really love the fact that it's only two blocks away from all the action and I can return to the hotel to get a peaceful night's sleep.

I'm returning to Florida this month and I'll definitley be there for a weekend stay! Can't wait!

Stayed: August 2006
Thank Tangerinetaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Stayed here for a few days in mid May, and was impressed. Showers were A++, it's an older hotel so the decor wasn't the freshest, but the AC was great with in-room thermostat, and the staff was always courteous and helpful. It was nice to be two blocks away from Ocean drive to keep things quiet at night, but still easy to access. The beach access point off 3rd street seemed less busy then up towards 5th (where the main drag starts). Only problem was our safe didn't work upon arrival, but the next day the hotel replaced it, so they did their due diligence.

The bar wasn't open, so it just served as a spot for the continental breakfast, which was actually pretty good as far as they go.

Will definitely stay here again next time we head to SoBe

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank justinsurdit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel St. Augustine for one night, and were very underwhelmed. We got a rate of $119 per night through a last minute weekday special, and would not recommend paying a penny more. The rates they quote on their website are ridiculously high considering what you get. The best part about the hotel is the website and their marketing materials, which are misleading. While the lobby is okay, the hallways are dark and dingy with dirty carpets. When we got to our "queen" room it was very small and dark, which would have been fine had we not found hair on the bed sheets (and not the kind that grows on the scalp). The lobby attendant apologized and upgraded us to a "king" room (which still had a queen sized bed), and was a little brighter and larger but still had a dingy feel. The steam shower was fine, but a clean, comfortable room would have been better.

If you do decide to stay here, insist on paying $119 or less, and be sure to check out Fratelli la Bufala, a great little Italian restaurant about a block and a half north on Washington (corner of 5th). It was a nice, civilized break from the rims and generally classless scene on Ocean Drive. The next time we stay in South Beach we will likely stay further north in one of the nicer hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertLivolsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

I just stayed at the St Augustine for 2 weeks in April.I was down there on a job & what a great little hotel to come home to after a long day. Firstly I am a sucker for steam showers/baths & there is one in every room. Grab a cold beer and steam for 15 mins & I am a new man.
My room was very modern and clean.The entire staff are a delight & seem to go well out of their way to help you.
The location is great go out the door & make a right and you are in the heart of the action.OR 2 blocks to the beach!!!!!
Light breakfast which is perfect & excellent coffee is served in the bar area.
Whether I was back in Miami for work or pleasure I would definitely stay here and definitely recommend it to anyone.
Thank you St Augustine,
Shane from San Francisco

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sonphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We loved this hotel! It's modern, clean, well priced and just a few blocks from the beach. The people running the hotel were nice and there was a lot of attention to detail, cleaniness and service. The room was just the right size, and there was lots of counterspace at the bathroom sink. As everyone else has mentioned, the shower is great, even if you're not a fan of steam baths. The complimentary bath products are nice (H2O), and there is a "spa bar" with products to purchase (we didn't). When we travel, we're rarely in the hotel, so this was the perfect place to return to after a day at the beach and a night out! Oh, and the free breakfast was better than expected (cereal, coffee, yogurt, pastry). The dog in the lobby was quite friendly. Ask for the complimentary passes to Nikki Beach Club for a free towel and lounge chair (weekdays only). This hotel is great for professionals (free wifi which actually works) and couples with or without kids. Not a place to go if you want to be in the college partying crowd.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank username2338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Just returned from our stay at Hotel St. Augustine - May 2 - May 6...It's a nice "boutique" hotel that is quiet and with a little distance from the SOBE crowd when necessary. We rented our room (211) from Dennis Daley at [--]. The room was nice...and of course the spa shower was wonderful...especially after a day on the beach...in the sun or partying...Our room had curtains up that separated the bedroom area from the bathroom area...so we had no concerns about privacy in the bathroom. We did have a few nits...no pool (which we knew about)...a bar that was pretty much non-existent...and no room service (which would have been great). But, other than those nits...the place is very nice for the price...especially in comparison to other hotels in the area

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank prettyntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#71 of 210 in Miami Beach
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Julia Hotel
The Julia Hotel
#138 of 210 in Miami Beach
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#60 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#106 of 210 in Miami Beach
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#26 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6906
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $95 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing