We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location in SOBE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
Ranked #110 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oro Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location in SOBE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We found the St. Augustine through TA. It's a great location, just two streets from Ocean Drive. The hotel is not luxurious or real fancy. The rooms are done in a Danish modern style with blond wood finishes. There are no elevators so if you have a problem with stairs, reserve a ground floor room. They offer a nice continental breakfast with pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juices. I would not recommend the Greek restaurant up the block for breakfast. The staff is very friendly and will help you with directions. The SOBE local shuttlebus stops near the front of the hotel and it only costs a quarter. If you drive, the parking costs go till 3 AM in the morning. One very nice feature is the hotel's parking lot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    263
    87
    40
    17
See reviews for
69
333
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel St Augustine back in October for business. I had to share a room with a co-worker. This is a difficult place to share with some one you don't know real well as the only thing separating you and your room mate from the bed and glass shower is a curtain.

The beds were ok. Nothing to write home about. I did however LOVE the shower!! they have steam showers and there is quite a bit of room to sit and detox in the steam.

When we checked in, they were having issues with the key of our door-so we had to get someone to let us in each time we returned to the hotel room.

The gentleman who was there when we checked in was very friendly. We had to be at work at 5am and he had no issues preparing us some coffee and pastries for our departure so early in the morning.

Parking was a bit tricky as they have a very small lot and my co-worker had a large vehicle-so It was a bit tricky leaving if the lot was full.

The location is pretty central with a few yummy restaurants close by. It also felt very safe. I would possibly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raisinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank-you for your review. Our staff tries to be as accomodating as possible. We are lucky enough to be in a residential neighborhood that is quiet but still close enough to walk to all the hotspots. I am happy to report that all our key issues have been resolved - we have a brand new
system now !
We also are one of the few hotels with their own parking lot- which is one of the most ecomomical on the beach - but it can be a tight squeeze for large vehicles.
Once again thank-you for your encouraging comments .We look forward to welcoming you back
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at Hotel St Augustine in late October and were pleasantly suprised on our arrival. Due to our early flight we arrived around lunchtime and greeted outside by the gentleman on shift (perhaps the manager) who took our bags inside and welcomed us to the hotel. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious for 4 adults, and felt very clean. The only negative comment would be the smell of a certain type of chemical within the main hallway area into our room. But that did not ruin our stay at all. Our rate included a continental breakfast consisting of pastries, cereal, tea/coffee and juices which was served next the reception. This was a lovely touch as the same gentleman interacted with the guests and was very hospitable. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet location and still very central to restaurants and shops. Had a B&B type feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Highlight of the stay at Hotel st Augustine was the service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed during hurricane sandy and needed to rearrange travel plans for onward journey. Staff were so helpful offering assistance to us during a stressful time. Close walk to ocean drive and the restaurants and beach. Hotel was fresh an room was very clean. Short walk to laundromat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newycrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed a couple nights at this hotel. Overall my stay was great. However, it took me awhile to locate parking as it was off a back alley behind the hotel in a dirt parking lot. Make sure your vehicle isn't too big as the entrance to the Parking lot is very small. The only other con is the loud air conditioning units in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadeyjade07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I really loved our room! The bed was comfortable, shower was huge and the steam was a big plus, linens were nice and the bathroom was very large. The location was just a few blocks from all the action but suprisingly very quiet. Our parking was included in the price and it was definately the best value we could find. If you go to South Beach I highly recommend staying at Hotel St. Augustine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRINDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We're really pleased we chose the St Augustine when we stayed in Miami Beach. It's very central, but off the main drag, in a peaceful neighbourhood. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - they really did go out of their way, making great suggestions, sorting out our hire car, helping us with reservations for the next part of our trip, and generally being great! The shower/steam room was fantastic. There was noise from the next room, made worse by a connecting door, so it might be worth asking groups staying in that room to be considerate when coming in late. However, it didn't bother us too much. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonTravels1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Villa Italia Hotel
#57 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Blanc Kara
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#168 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
L Hotel Miami Beach
#120 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Property: Hotel St. Augustine
Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing