We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to going back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
Ranked #93 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Been here three times before - last time September 2011 - going back next week ! Can't wait. The breakfast does the job - coffee, danish, cereal and yoghurt around an informal bar style setting with fantastic attention from the staff. Rooms are large as are the beds - hanging space could be larger but the place is in a great loctaion for the beach, downtown and everything Miami Beach has to offer. Get there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICKfromCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 689 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

dont let the looks be decieving, not all thats cracked up to be. Stayed here because of the shower and location, the steam shower never worked i complained and all i got was someone will be here to fix it . which never happened. location is ok but i will never be back to this hotel, do not recommend it at all there are a lot nicer hotels in the area

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We sincerely apologize for your steam shower not working- we know that it is one of the features of our rooms that our guests enjoy the most. Unfortunately this unique feature requires specialized repair; and your stay was not long enough to get it repaired by the time you checked-out. We would like to contact you in order for us to turn around your guest experience.
Please send me your details so I can reach out to you or contact me at 305-532-0570 so we can discuss .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited SOBE for a friend's 30th bday. She found a good Travelzoo deal online so she booked it. Overall, the room was nothing special. I have stayed at much nicer places in SOBE, but it served for a place to sleep. The walls are VERY thin. I knew people would be up late, but we could clearly hear our neighbors at 4 am... and they weren't even talking loudly. Now, for the bathroom... ours was COMPLETELY open. Thank god the toilet had a door. But the shower looks like the pictures... just some glass. For two girls sharing a room, it wasn't a huge deal, but something a little more private would have been nice. Our friends room was slightly different, they had a curtin they could pull to separte the bathroom a little. As long as you're comfortable with your roomie, its not a huge deal. Do not expect any type of view. We looked right at a concrete wall. Also no elevator, but its only 2 floors, so it is a SMALL place. Good location, but a few blocks from the beach! Nice free happy hour with wine and cheese. The front desk people were always very nice and attentative. For a quick girls weekend, it sufficed, but I probably won't stay here again. I didn't see a pool so I don't know if they have one. They did have a small continental breakfast, but it was mostly grocery store pastry's, cereal, yogart and oatmeal. There is no onsite restaurant. Thankgoodness there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here the day before our cruise. Taxi from airport was a flat rate $30 around there. Taxi to port of Miami around $25. The hotel price was affordable and a good value. I stayed up on Collins ave. last year and the room was about $100 more at the catalina hotel. What made this a special hotel is its hip, fresh, and you can walk everywhere. We shopped Collins Ave. and Washington Ave. we ate twice at one of the many restaurants on Ocean Drive. We had drinks at Wet Willies (too expensive and the frozen drinks melted way too quick). I recommend the Big Pink restaurant. We walked there from the hotel for breakfast. Lots of food and great service. The menu is HUGE! Would have loved to eat here for lunch!

Back to the hotel...the decor is modern and absolutely beautiful. The rooms are big with everything you need. Loved the shower...four heads I think. Loved the robes and toiletries! The cleaning staff was friendly and accommodating for anything like extra towels. It's a small hotel so they cater to their guests. The man at the front desk was friendly and accommodating as well. He went out of his way to suggest places to eat and places to go. He answered every question and never made us feel that we were bugging him. Wish I could remember his name.

We spent the afternoon at the beach. It was easy to walk to. Stopped for a drink on ocean drive on the way. We got towels at the front desk beforehand. Rented beach chairs and umbrella for $35. A guy came around making money on his own selling various drinks in a soft cooler he carried so it was immediate service. I had lots of beer...corona in a can was $5...he came back every hour for me:). You can't buy beer at the concession stands on the beach, so this was a great way for him to earn a living!

Hotel has breakfast. Pastries, cold cereals, etc. Nothing special but it is included in the price so it was nice to have coffee and a croissant to start the morning. We went for a late breakfast at the Big Pink.

The only two issues with the hotel that some guests might be concerned with are there is no elevator and the bed. You have to lug your suitcase up a set of about ten steps which was NO problem for us. The other issue is the bed...they need to purchase new mattresses....too hard for me. I'm a flight attendant and I sleep in many hotel beds so I know what a comfy bed feels like. Our night's sleep was ok because we were exhausted from sightseeing but in the morning we were a little stiff. The room, service, decor, and everything else in the hotel was wonderful. I just think since it's a small hotel it would be nice to buy comfy mattresses or mattress pads...just sayin!

One other thing...there is no pool at the hotel. This was fine for us because we went to the beach, but it might be an issue for guests wanting a pool. I never asked if we could have used another hotel's pool but maybe that could be done.

I WILL DEFIANTELY STAY HERE WHEN I HEAD TO SOUTH BEACH AGAIN:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dspreng_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I loved my first trip to South Beach Miami the staff at St. Augustine was friendly and professional. I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located in a convenient area. You are about three blocks from the beach and lovely shopping on Collins Ave, eating all around. My experience was great because of the helpful staff at St. Augustine. My next trip to Miami I will be staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StaceyS581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wow! OK, I'll say a little more. My girlfriend and I spent the night here while celebrating my birthday in South Beach. Trust me, this will be our regular stay over location from this point forward. Our room was cozy with a king size bed and standard amenities. What really set it apart for me was the very roomy steam shower. Multiple water jets for showering, a built in seat for two, and the steam room feature was awesome. They provided two bath robes embossed with the hotel's name. The staff also provided two "Little Debbie" type cakes wrapped in cellophane with the wording "Happy Birthday" printed on it, and also a written happy birthday wish signed by the entire staff.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from any room but the room itself is awesome. Most overlook an alley or the grav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Rooms were very clean and modern. Hotel staff was AWESOME and very friendly. Breakfast was OK, but nothing to complain about. If I were to go back to Miami Beach, this is the place I would stay. A mere 5 minute walk to the beach and to Ocean Drive. Loved our stay!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Julia Hotel
The Julia Hotel
#110 of 212 in Miami Beach
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#74 of 212 in Miami Beach
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
411 reviews
2.9 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#107 of 212 in Miami Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6906
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $103 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing