We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable South Miami Beach hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
Ranked #95 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Affordable South Miami Beach hotel with great location”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night prior to taking a cruise. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. No loud noise as other reviewers have said, yes the A/C was not silent, more like what you get from a window shaker. It did not impact our sleep. The shower/steam room was a treat. The staff was friendly and welcoming. You will not get a better accommodation at this price with the great location this hotel offers. Continental breakfast as stated. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators so first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOTTSROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    292
    96
    46
    17
See reviews for
87
364
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Other reviewers have pointed out the convenient location
of the hotel near restaurants and South Beach's other
attractions like the Wolfsonian Museum and the Art Deco
District. These are all outside the hotel. Inside the hotel,
where our small group occupied 8 rooms, are the loudest
air conditioning units I've ever heard in any hotel. Turning
your unit off won't help - you will hear others running. The
helpful manager suggested leaving the noisy blower fan
on constantly. I suggest finding another hotel unless you
can sleep regardless of the noise.

Room Tip: very noisy A/C in some rooms - check yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simple_Country_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Romantic extended weekend getaway in Boutique Hotel at the beginning of January 2012. The hotel's location is perfect. The hotel is just 4 very short blocks from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The hotel is away from the crowds and noise on Ocean Drive, but close enough you're still part of the action. The Hotel has on site pay guest parking but it is a small unpaved parking lot next to the hotel. You'll be hard pressed to find easy accessible parking close to any boutique hotel in South Beach. Great simple but fresh looking lobby. Lobby bar great place for a few simple drinks and to talk with other guests before exploring Miami Beach (very limited bar selections). Employees and Staff are very Helpful and Friendly. Simple free breakfast provided by Hotel, Free WI-Fi. Rooms are clean with modern fresh looking decor; King size comfortable bed. Simple Room Layout, CD/Radio piped into large tiled steam shower, Robes Provided, Flat screen TV, built in seating next to bed. Air-conditioner/Heater can be loud/annoying while trying to sleep for some.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor. Request a room on the south side of building, better natural lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torque9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Rooms were clean and spacious. Great location - quiet enough for sleeping, couple of blocks from beach and night life. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was cereal, danishes, coffee and juice - just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwilson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel St. Augustine was a great experience for us, and suited our needs. The hotel is located within walking distance from Ocean Drive and the beach, but in a quiet spot. Although location could be a little bit better (it's a tiny bit far from central South Beach), the price is very fair and in our opinion, we got great value for our money.

The room was nice and spacious, very clean and the shower was great! Also the staff where very friendly and serviceminded.

Continental breakfast was approvable - nothing spectacular, but allright - nice touch though, and overall our stay was a great experience and we would definitaly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Line J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Roms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and the steam bath is great.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
They do not have a pool, but as The Beach is just 5 Minuten away, its Not a Problem at all. Therefore, its very quite, and there are some nice Restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludowig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at new years night and the night of new years day 2012.

Pro's:
- very close to the beach (five minutes walk to ocean drive)
- safe neighbourhood
- extremely friendly personnel, frontdesk is very very helpful
- good room size, more than enough space
- nice shower / steambath
- no noise from the streets
- parking available for twenty dollars a day
- good restaurants in the neighbourhood (we loved Bufalla)
- free good working wifi

Cons:
- extremely loud hotel from the hall and neigbouring rooms, very bad sound isolation
- continental breakfast is to laugh with, we took a decent breakfast every morning at ocean drive
- extremely loud AC, we had to switch it of at night, impossible to sleep otherwise, so cool down your room during the day and the evening, switch it off when you want to go to sleep
- the key of the safe in our room was missing, so we couldn't use it, although nothing got stolen or what so ever, so no real complaint.


Conclusion: for the price we paid in the middle of Sobe Miami it's fair (if you compare with prices of other hotels). If you would put this hotel in another location, nobody would use it at this rates.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#72 of 208 in Miami Beach
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#182 of 208 in Miami Beach
365 reviews
2.9 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#113 of 208 in Miami Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#110 of 208 in Miami Beach
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Property: Hotel St. Augustine
Address: 347 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6906
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing