We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic hotel right in the heart of south beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Starlite Hotel
Ranked #157 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Long Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic hotel right in the heart of south beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location right on the ocean drive strip of south beach. Walk right outside and you have the beach directly across the street not to mention the numerous restaurants. Great price but very basic, which is great when you want a good location and a place to sleep without spending tons of money. Rooms were very clean, decent space comfortable beds and flat screen tv's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GG_NYC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    140
    149
    69
    88
See reviews for
67
164
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the night and the hotel was wxteemely clean and beautiful! We were offered around of mimosa's as we were leaving the hotel to join at there cafe. They were awesome! The staff was friendly and very courteous. They had hookah and huge mojitos! How can you go wrong! LOVE THIS PLACE by the way Patty at the front desk is a trip!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamarisMoyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although this is an older building, the rooms are updated and clean. We booked it to be close to the Beach action; And at a reasonable price and we're pleasantly surprised. Would stay here again.

The bar outside (I think connected with the Resturant next door, however is NOT RECOMMENDED. We had the 2 for 1 ($30.00) 16 oz. cocktails (mostly ice) and the Mohito was too sweet. I asked for a less sweet one for the second one with more mint and got a duplicate of the first sweet one - ie NO CHANGE. As a 20 year Services Management Consultant, here's a tip. If you add the 17 or 18% tip to the cheque automatically the staff has no incentive to perform....a no brainer, and very un-american in my opinion. Not directed at this Resturant in particualr as they all seem to do this on the Beach and even on Lincoln Road (which I really don't understand)!

I se from the other reviews, this lack of performance is standard at the resturant/ bar. AVOID!!!

Room Tip: Good hotel but AVOID Bar/ Resturant outside. Actually the best restaurants/ bars ARE NOT ON the Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This Hotel is perfect in so many ways! It doesnt have all the features of a major hotel... But there in the middle of everything! Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and the most important part! The BEACH!
The rooms are Good.. looks like they were renovated recently. And there staff was great. Patty at the front desk was so helpful and it felt like she truly cared about us enjoying ourselves..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at the Starlite Hotel in South Beach for Ultra Music Festival in March 2013. I have to say I was really expecting the worst after reading so many negative reviews. But it was definitely better than what I had read. Sure it might be a bit dated but for the price and location it worked out very well for me. I was not really in the hotel very much as I was at the festival most of the weekend. The location couldnt be better for south beach, so many food options close by.
The hotel was a little bit loud but what do you expect, its south beach on spring break.
It was a bit a hard to sleep in just because so much light came in the room and the blinds didnt do much. but other than that, i cant cant complain. I would definitely stay there again if i was doing a miami trip on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank willzskillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms cleaned to a good standard daily. Other guests were all american, although lots of groups of youngsters, they were respectful & not too noisy. I would ask for a room on the top floor to avoid street noise. I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraloxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This review is solely for the restaurant attached to this hotel along Ocean Drive. People watching is great here - but that is the only favorable part of the restaurant.

Drinks are outrageously expensive. Food is mediocre at best. But the worst part is the dishonest staff and extremely rude manager. First, we were offered free, complimentary shots with our meal. We looked over the menu, ordered our meals and expensive drinks, then we perused the shot list and ordered our free shots. When we ordered these shots, we made sure they were complimentary, because the prices on the shot list were very high, and we weren't really looking for shots in the middle of the day, but we were game since they were free. The waiter assured us that they were free. Our meal was unremarkable. Our drinks seemed light. Oh well, just another learning experience. Then we got our bill and we were charged an enormous amount for the free shots. When we brought this mistake to the attention of the waiter, he suddenly then told us that the shots we ordered were not the free ones. Free shots are not listed on the shot list. We were only supposed to get a generic fruity shot with little alcohol. So, when we let the waiter know of his mistake, he went to the manager woman to ask about it. She rudely stated that they would not right their mistake. We would still have to pay a boatload for the free, complimentary shots. We then noticed that other patrons were also having this problem. The old bait-and-switch. This seems to happen fairly often here. Please, don't fall for it. Never give your business to these swindlers. The waiter tried to make amends by giving us a couple of fruity shots, but they were rather nasty. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jester122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#178 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#186 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#95 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#99 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#132 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Hotel

Property: Starlite Hotel
Address: 750 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Starlite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Miami Beach
Starlite Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing