We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Starlite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$258
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$473
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$250
$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$344
$324
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$399
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$266
$199
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$317
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$379
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
63
160
158
74
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
160
158
74
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin south beachwould stay here againrestaurants and barsmini fridgeactionhookahclubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 555 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms cleaned to a good standard daily. Other guests were all american, although lots of groups of youngsters, they were respectful & not too noisy. I would ask for a room on the top floor to avoid street noise. I would stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLoxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This review is solely for the restaurant attached to this hotel along Ocean Drive. People watching is great here - but that is the only favorable part of the restaurant.

Drinks are outrageously expensive. Food is mediocre at best. But the worst part is the dishonest staff and extremely rude manager. First, we were offered free, complimentary shots with our meal. We looked over the menu, ordered our meals and expensive drinks, then we perused the shot list and ordered our free shots. When we ordered these shots, we made sure they were complimentary, because the prices on the shot list were very high, and we weren't really looking for shots in the middle of the day, but we were game since they were free. The waiter assured us that they were free. Our meal was unremarkable. Our drinks seemed light. Oh well, just another learning experience. Then we got our bill and we were charged an enormous amount for the free shots. When we brought this mistake to the attention of the waiter, he suddenly then told us that the shots we ordered were not the free ones. Free shots are not listed on the shot list. We were only supposed to get a generic fruity shot with little alcohol. So, when we let the waiter know of his mistake, he went to the manager woman to ask about it. She rudely stated that they would not right their mistake. We would still have to pay a boatload for the free, complimentary shots. We then noticed that other patrons were also having this problem. The old bait-and-switch. This seems to happen fairly often here. Please, don't fall for it. Never give your business to these swindlers. The waiter tried to make amends by giving us a couple of fruity shots, but they were rather nasty. Never again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jester122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My 2 sons and friends went on vacation last year to South Beach Miami, they stayed at the Starlite and they had a ball. Loved the location right across the street from the beach; location is great with all the action at your hands. food at your door step, rooms were clean but a bit small. But who cares you're there only to sleep in and for the price and location you can't go wrong thats for sure. Front desk service was great and so friendly we they enjoyed talking to them and even would bring them donuts. Everything was so great that they are all going back to the starlite this summer already booked and paid for. They are so excited they can't wait.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellab1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is great ,but other than that awful.
We were put in the back room on the ground floor ,
Which looked out onto the garbage bins in the back alley .
You could smell the garbage ,plus truck coming by early every
morning to collect disturbed you sleep.
Room was dusty needed a good clean ,
and hairs in bath/shower
dont stay here !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Dealing with these people was surreal. After booking this hotel through hotels.com, I arrived there with the family. The first thing the desk representative that evening told us was that he probably couldn't accommodate us for the nights we booked. That's always reassuring. They actually showed us a chart of their rooms and their bookings to prove that they were not making it up. That's not the point. The point is to not represent your hotel as one having vacancies if you don't!

The following day, we were told that we would have to move to another room. The following day, were were told to get ready to move again. We asked whether they'd asked any other guests to move. This seemed like a novel idea to them. We had to repeat to them the question, "Why are you asking us to move twice before other guests are being asked to move once?" The lady at the front counter became upset, saying she was out for a long time on a medical leave, that this was her first day back and that she didn't appreciate being talked to like we were talking to her.

I have a big issue with hotels.com as well. I called the company during this debacle and was told by a representative that they would credit us for two of the nights to recognize the aggravation. A month later my credit card bill arrived, and of course, it had no credit. I called hotels.com and they had no record of my call or their promise. When I asked for a supervisor, I was told that the identify of this person could not be revealed because of security reasons. What cowardice.

The Starlite and Hotels.com, a perfect marriage of losers.

PS: Have another moment? I just received my latest hotels.com statement via email. With regard to the 10 nights and the 11th is free program, the company has us credited for only half the number of nights that we stayed on this trip. What a joke.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank tjb6448128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews