We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way is this a boutique hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Ranked #78 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No way is this a boutique hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very disappointing given the price and the write up! The hotel is in the heart of the Art Deco district so is well placed. The hotel itself is very tired. Paint chipped, the corridors dark and unwelcoming. No help up to your room with your bags. The rooms in the web site were photographed a long time ago. There is no luxury here. No romance. Ocean drive is a gamut of restaurateurs who are touting for your business and they are sharks. Beware they are out to fleece you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Response from Ignacio Luciano, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent visit and taking the time to write a review. Miami Beach is a touristic city and Ocean Drive is one of the most energetic street of the world, full of restaurants, clubs and hotels. We are currently finishing up some minor renovations to our property, but I hope that you were able to take advantage of our wonderfule rooftop pool and beachfront property. I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you with our Bentley service. Please contact us at bentleyreservations@meninhotels.com in order to have the best available rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    295
    150
    73
    48
See reviews for
206
479
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed 9-13th November.
The room and balcony we had overlooked a car lot which I have to say wasn't what I had imagined before hand but I guess location can't always be perfect!
The room itself was ok, well proportioned, clean but honestly there is nothing "boutique" about it and at over $300 per night then I would have expected the hotel to feel less tired. The furniture was battered and chipped and throughout the hotel there was a general feeling of decay with peeled paint chips on the flooring and really, really bad paintwork. Some of the corridor walls are covered with stained wood panelling which is coming off and really it looks like cheap chipboard. This is an unloved building and business that has seen better days. All I can say is the photos have been airbrushed!!
The breakfast area has 4 tables and feels less classy than it really is because the cups are paper and when there is a table there are dirty ashtrays on them. When we were there there were too many people so we had to go back to our room for breakfast.
The fridge in the room is a benefit but it is noisy (I think there is a freezer that recharges in the night and it is loud)
The curtains are nice but unlined so people can see in and you tend to rise with the sun!
The staff appear not to care, I got a phone call on Sunday morning at 6:45am from the guy on the front desk asking me if "this was the penthouse" It wasn't and he never thought to apologize for waking me up. At no point did anyone at the front desk raise a smile or say hello to you - you really had to go first to get a response and when we left we weren't asked if we enjoyed it - did they care when they were raking in the cash??

The one upside of the hotel is that it is on Ocean Drive and the Beach Club four blocks down gives a good service........This hotel is poor, poor, poor so I can only imagine the good reviews have been for people staying in a different room or on a different planet!

Room Tip: Dont sleep in 403 it faces a parking lot and is overlooked on 3 sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 949SULLY949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Response from Ignacio Luciano, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I apologize for any instances where you may have felt our service fell below your expectations. As for the maintenance and housekeeping issues in your room, these have been taken care now. We are currently renovating our apartments as well as common areas. I regret to hear about your feelings toward the breakfast service since we have positioned the area so guests can enjoy direct views of Ocean Drive and the beach while dining, but will surely consider some modifications based on your feedback. Once again I apologize and we hope that you will give us another opportunity and in order to have the best available rate, please contact us at bentleyreservations@meninhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

While the location of this hotel is good if you want to be in the thick of the South Beach strip, the room was rather shabby. And we had to walk half a mile to the hotel's beach club. But the part of our stay happened long after we got home. We discovered a surprise charge on our credit card - $38. When we questioned the hotel, they told us it was because we had stolen an ice bucket! I couldn't honestly tell you if there had ever been an ice bucket in the room because we never use an ice bucket during a hotel stay. When we tried to dispute the charge, the hotel hung up on us! Suffice it to say we'll never stay at the Bentley again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LOMOYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent visit. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations. Our property is conveniently located on 5th Street and Ocean Drive, with direct beach access just across the street. I know that the charge that was put on your card has been taken care of, and I apologize on behalf of the staff for any convenience this may have caused. We hope that you will give us another opportunity and in order to have the best available rate, please contact me directly at bentleyreservations@meninhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel seemed raggish from the outside but the room was great. Really big with bedroom and living room. Also included full equipment kitchen (Room #218)
Room was really noisy 'cause of the traffic. Almost felt like there was no windows at all. Didn't keep us awake the whole night anyways.

Location is right next to beach which was excellent. They have a resort 4 blocks away where you'll get towels, chairs and umbrella. We didn't go there tho. Hotel's sundeck & pool was enough for us. Highly recommend. There's a liquor store right around the corner to pick up some refreshments and just hang out by the pool ;)

Breakfast was great. Not much but it worked for us. There's only few tables outside to actually enjoy it but in my opinion that was good. Or you can take 'em to your room of course.

For this price I'd definitely choose this hotel if I'm into Miami Beach. And that's a different story.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms opening to street if you can. Because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at the Bentley South Beach. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you in the future. Please visit secret-rates.com in order to get the best rate for your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a lucky choice in finding the Bentley in South Beach, Miami. Not only did I talk to three couples who have been returning every year for 10 years, but the accommodations were everything they stated. The room was beautiful, well maintained, and probably the most spacious accommodations we visited in Florida. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and informative. The pool was clean and had wonderful views of the ocean and downtown Miami in the distance. This was a gem in our vacation and we, like others, will be returning to the Bentley in February.
The location is within walking distance to numerous upscale restaurants and the nightlife is plentiful. One benefit to the Bentley is it was fairly quiet at night and we had not difficulty sleeping.

Room Tip: Inside if you don't want any street noise or music. Outside room if you desire an ocean view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coloradoklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are thrilled to hear about your fabulous stay at the Bentley South Beach! and allowing us to provide you our excellent service and great location in South Beach. I will share your comments with the entire staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Please secret-rates.com in order to get the best rate for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bentley from 10/29-11/3. First time to South Beach, choosing The Bentley was the right choice!! Amazing location, right on Ocean Dr., staff was very friendly, room was wonderful, couldn't have asked for anything better. We will return to South Beach and The Bentley!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are thrilled to hear about your fabulous stay at the Bentley South Beach! and allowing us to provide you our excellent service and great location in South Beach. I will share your comments with the entire staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Please write us an email at bentleyreservations@meninhotels.com in order to get the best rate for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Travelled to Miami with my cousin for the Color Run and stayed at the Bentley. Ideal location right on Ocean Dr. Close to shopping, nightlife, great restaurants and, of course, the beach! Rooftop deck and pool were lovely too. Staff was friendly and Julian (and the rest of the staff) at the front desk was very helpful.
Will return if I ever find myself in Miami again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieDFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Response from Ignacio Luciano, Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach
we are thrilled to hear about your fabulous stay at the Bentley South Beach! Thank you for choosing the Bentley, and allowing us to provide you our excellent service and great location in South Beach. We are so happy to see that you were able to take advantage of our rooftop pool. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Please write us an email at bentleyreservations@meninhotels.com in order to get the best rate for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Metropole Apartments
#74 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
The Hotel
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Hotel South Beach

Property: Bentley Hotel South Beach
Address: 510 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Bentley Hotel South Beach in Miami’s South Beach, guests love to make themselves at home in our stylish, sophisticated, and spacious suite accommodations which have been designed to reflect the beauty of the beach just outside our doors. All you need to do is check-in, kick off your shoes, unpack, and relax. We will take care of the rest. Every comfort is right at your fingertips including European styled kitchens or kitchenettes, Italian marble bathrooms, mini-bars, a telephone with voicemail, high-speed wireless Internet access, in-room safes, plush terry bathrobes, individual temperature controls, and daily housekeeping services. Escape to the beautiful Bentley Hotel & Beach Club, recognized by Official Best of Florida, as the “2010 Best Boutique Hotel in Florida”, the Bentley Hotel & Beach Club offers luxurious amenity-rich suites, an award-winning rooftop pool deck and exclusive Bentley Beach Club access. The Hotels prime location on South Beach’s Ocean Drive is also only a half mile away from Lincoln Road Mall and the Miami Beach Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bentley Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing