We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Next” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #145 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Next”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place sucks quite honestly... Better off staying in downtown maimi and getting a taxi to south beach then enduring a horrible night here... Rooms are ok.. nothing special.. bar is overpriced.. could hear everything at night from other rooms... Waste of my money.. won't go back.... Like ever.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margarita Grill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,
It's unfortunate you had such a negative experience. We are an excellent resort hotel, located in the heart of South Beach. Our pool bar restaurant offers a wide variety of excellent dishes and drinks, at very reasonable prices. It is true that the walls are a bit thin, but we do our best to relocate guest's to a more quite part of the building. I would appreciate the chance to further discuss all the issue you experienced. Please feel to contact me via email.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
ismael@richmondhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    403
    236
    133
    131
See reviews for
94
563
67
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice pool and beach area. Great and friendly service. The rooms however are itty bitty, walls are in need of a major paint, TV was not functioning and all is heard from the hallways. Bed was very uncomfortable as they put two twin beds together making it very uncomfortable with the partition in the middle. Mini fridge was very mini and not in great shape.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Sounds like you were assigned one of our double bed rooms. Did you get a chance to mention this to the Front Desk? We could have reassigned your room immediately. We are constantly maintaining our rooms, but it seems we need to double our efforts. I will share this review out Director of Engineering.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Thank you again to the Richmond family for giving us a great 10 year anniversary celebration.
We contacted the Richmond in February about our desire to come back for our 7th year. We have been reviewing this hotel on this site yearly and sent them our reviews. Ismael was extremely cooperative in both price and room type. We had a 6th floor ocean view (amazing) for a very competitive price.
One of the best things about a smaller "boutique " hotel is the attentiveness to our needs and the personal greetings we received. The staff is great, everyone remembered us and the fact that they are still working for the same hotel after all these years speaks for itself.

Shout out to Stewart (GM) who greeted us almost daily . We also met and talked with the owner ( Patricia) Also our daily hellos to the staff and help. I have stayed at many hotels in different cities and at different price ranges but the Richmond with its History and love will always have a special place in my heart. We are already thinking about our trip down next year and you can be sure that we will be staying with our Richmond Family.

Fondly,

Sue and Stan Banalewicz

Room Tip: Ask for a mini fridge for water etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much, for your great review. The pleasure was all ours. Please consider yourselves part of the Richmond Family. and we hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you,
Ismael Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good location next to the beach but the service was an absolute disaster. The room was rather decent except for the fact that we constantly heard everything from the corridor and had to listen to our neighbours snoring and talking, and we woke up frequently every night. Don’t use the hotel for anything except sleeping because of the dishonest charges, including taxes they charge 7USD to laundry a pair of socks. A plastic bag of underwear and t-shirts was over 200USD, one hour of internet was 30USD.

We once ordered a fruit plate by the pool, after over three reminders and over an hour of waiting I got a plate with old/brown bananas and two of the stuff laughed at us when I complained and recommended me to relax an change attitude. The day after they charge me 8USD for two single espressos when I ordered one double espresso. When I complained they told me that they don’t serve double espresso, when I refused to pay for two single espressos they charged coffee, a beer and meal I never ordered to my room. I talked to other guest by the pool and they confirmed the same poor service experience. A nice thing to say at the end is that the room cleaning stuff was nice but I will never set a foot at this awful hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobbieSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear guest,
I am very surprised by all the negative issues you experienced. We have been in business since 1941, and we have not done so with dishonest practices or charges. We offer off site dry clean laundry services, at very reasonable set rates. A plastic bag of t-shirts, and undergarments is most definitely NOT $200 USD! Please email a copy of the the receipt, so I can investigate the charges. We offer WIFI throughout the building @ $10 dollars for a 24 hour period. I'm confused as to how you paid $30 USD for 1 hour? Again, please email the receipt, so I can investigate the charge. Our restaurant staff has been with us for a long time, and they VERY customer service oriented. It's is definitely not in their nature to laugh or dismiss, any guest's request. That being said, I will bring this to the attention of the Food & Beverage Director. This is not lasting experience we want our guest's to leave with, and we apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact me via email, so we can discuss these issues.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Richmond at the beginning of June. The pool was nice, there was a locked gate that led to the beach which prevented anyone from wandering in to the pool, the beach was very nice in front, we enjoyed great Valet service and the people at the desk went way out of their way to treat you nice. Most rooms we have stayed in at Miami Beach are old and often tore up, but these were very nice and they were remodeling some as we visited. As with all parking is not included so you can park in the structure or they offer Valet parking at $35 a day. The pool area was very nice and we enjoyed going out the pool area unto the beach without crossing the street. We will return

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for great review. We look forward to your return!
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed with my boyfriend for his birthday.... BIG MISTAKE!! Nothing worked, AC broken we barely slept we were sweating so much. TV broken as well . Waited over 25 minutes for pool towels because they ran out. Room old, dirty and ran down. Bathroom was tiny and dirty. Worst hotel experience of my life!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It appears you had a very difficult stay, and we apologize for the inconveniences. It's a shame we did not get a chance to resolve all these issues during you stay. I would appreciate the chance to further discuss all the issues you experienced. Please feel free to contact me via email.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
ismael@richmondhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed in june after visiting New York and Toronto to celebrate our pearl wedding. Staff helpful. Nice art deco hotel. Bit tired in places eg curtains in my room has few stains on but apart from that we had all we wanted except a bar in the evening. Lovely view from our room lovely comfy bed towels changed every day beds made. Nice big room. Lovely warm pool direct access to beach although we didnt go on beach preferred chilling by pool. Fascinating Iguana big one walks round s pool occasionally and you often see baby ones. Good location for lincoln road shopping and restaurants and ocean drive i preferred ocean drive as found lincoln road too busy and commercial. In evenings we had to do lot walking which is hard for me as i have arthritis as the snack bar closed at 7pm. So downside is you cant get a drink or a meal there after this time. When we arrived at hotel we were upset as husband s case didnt turn up at miami airport. Staff were understanding when we informed them and it was sent by air canada next day. We booked everglades trip with them and really enjoyed our stay good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummybright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your great review, and congratulations on you Pearl Wedding. It's always great to hear from our guest's who had such a great vacation. We hope to see you again very soon!
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#106 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#93 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#61 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing