We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #129 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Va Beach, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Thanks for another great visit to South Beach! The staff was very courteous and helpful throughout our 6 night stay. A special thanks to Dennis for his help with our reservation and helpful hints about the area! Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsmkVaBeach_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    434
    251
    142
    140
See reviews for
107
609
79
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel during the weekend of the South Beach Wine & Food Festival, so I had already expected the rates for area hotels to be elevated during this special event weekend. I had already done my research and one of the deciding factors for me was that there is no daily resort fee, which most beachfront hotels in the area charge between $25 - $30/day. We did not have a car parked on-site, and would not have been pleased if we had to pay $35/day.

The pluses: Beachfront, boutique-y, very close to Lincoln Road's restaurants and bars, the pool was nice and clean, the grounds are lovely, the front desk staff were friendly, the room was small and basic but it was clean, with plenty of fresh linens and towels, iron, safe, hairdryer, and two robes. No daily resort fee!

The minues: The walls are VERY thin; we could hear our neighbors around and above us when doors closed, toilets flushed, doors closing, or conversations in general. The only cleanliness issue I noticed was the AC vent in the bathroom was very dusty. Parking is $35/day.

Note to management: At 11:00 am on Sunday morning, the housekeeping staff were having a meeting in the room directly across from ours; they were extremely loud and it was very disruptive. We mentioned it to the front desk staff as we checked out, so we hope our complaint was heard.

Room Tip: Beachfront or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaSunshine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We will be checking out today after a 4 night stay. We booked the hotel through Hotels Tonight. Of course i was attracted to the lower price compared to other south beach hotels. When we arrived we were shown to a room with (#430) with a droning
mechanical noise that would have been impossible to sleep in. We were then offered #415 which was close to the ice machine. I'm not sure which was worse. Finally we settled in 408 which was tolerable noise wise that is if we kept the air conditioning off. It was an adjoining room so the sound of our neighbours tv and them having sex kept was entertaining as our tv was barely watchable due to bad cable reception. The first day our room was left untouched by housekeeping. After complaining to "hotels tonight" it was cleaned?the next day but somehow emptying the trash and vacuuming was not high on anybody's list of priorities. another auditory delight is the sound of the showers/ plumbing from the rooms above. the hotel stairways are shabby, run down . By the time the parking and wifi fees are added to our bargain price - there was no bargain.
Staff was friendly but that's really not enough. I have urged Hotels Tonight to take you off their list.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Our property is a very special one and, according to almost 90% of our reviews and guest comments, our visitors typically rate their guest experience at our Hotel as either Great or Good. Our goal is for every guest to have a wonderful and memorable experience. We DO listen to our guests' comments and read every review, and although we have been extremely busy: we are re-dedicating ourselves to the two major cornerstones of our business: Hospitality and Housekeeping. Our staff is now getting some updated training in both areas. We are committed to these key aspects of our operations; and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our cordiality, unique facilities and unbeatable location in this exciting destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

esher, surrey, UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Knowing this hotel is an original art deco hotel I guessed the rooms would be on the small side which is why I booked a deluxe room. It was still a small room, a bit dark and drab. The bathroom had been painted recently as there was paint still all along the top of the tiles.
On check in the staff weren't over friendly although the bell man was very helpful.
There is a small gym at the back of the hotel along with a nice bright and airy public room which is nicely furnished with white cane furniture. This leads through to the Verandah restaurant and pool/ gardens. The Verandah served a reasonable breakfast although the waitress was not at all friendly. As we had only arrived in Miami the night before, we were awake early. The Verandah opens for coffee at 7 and breakfast at 7.30 so we were there pretty soon after 7.30. There were 2 other tables with a maximum of 5 people there at that time. I don't eat cooked breakfast so I ordered a croissant. 5 mins after ordering, the waitress came back to say that they had just sold the last croissant! They had only been open for 10 mins so that was a bit disappointing but there you go.
The pool deck and gardens are lovely. They have a red colour theme with their towels and umbrellas and the whole area was really clean.
On checking out the staff were really friendly.
If you don't like small rooms then this hotel may not be for you but it is reasonably priced for the area and has lots of other good qualities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacki_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage and thoughtful comments. We are very proud of our unique property and are dedicated to the continued restoration & maintenance of this landmark property and to providing excellent, memorable hospitality. It appears that some of our service was not consistent and you can be certain that that all of our staff must share the same commitment to the highest standards of cordiality that our owners and management demand; or they will be offered the opportunity to be retrained (or not be allowed to remain on our staff). It is our goal is to be the friendliest hotel in Miami Beach. Please contact our Manager for personal attention on your next reservation: we want to show you that your exceptional guest experience is the reason that we are here to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I came down to South Beach for mine and a friends birthday. We stayed Feb. 8th through the 12th we booked the Richmond on the Hotels tonight app... We paid and average of $152 a night, which was perfect for us. You're right on Collins and the beach is at you're back door... the pool and hot tub was well kept and very clean. The landscape was beautiful and a very relaxing setting. The "public" areas were very clen and well designed. The rooms aren't the biggest but for two people they were big enough and decorated in an Art-Deco style that gave you the feeling of being in Miami back in the 50's - 60's (besides how often are you in your room for anything other than sleeping and getting ready to go out). It's very close to everything that makes South Beach, South Beach. Close enough to Lincoln (Shopping) and Ocean Drive (Food and drinks) yet far enough to not be bothered by all the people. The staff was very friendly and attentive, Dennis at teh front desk was very helpful, helping us check into our flight home and with suggestions on where to go for just about everything. I could go on and on but the bottom line is for the location and price the Richmond Hotel would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurghBrian108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you! we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed a long weekend with my partner. Front desk check in, door service, and staff are all exceptionally friendly and efficient. The building is charming, surprisingly long front to back, with older rooms appropriately furnished with charming Art Deco touches. Bath was very clean and functional. The pool area was particularly lovely: good landscaping, beach front, great location. Relaxing! This is a chill spot where you can read all day with a colada without "the scene" -- you can walk to that easily. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
From the Richmond Family: THANK YOU!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Richmond January 26-28 and the problems started for us and other guests as soon as I checked in, which was the first problem. We showed up at 9am after an overnight flight and was told that our room wasn't ready (which is 100%understandable) but to come back at noon to 1. We did so and was told very frankly that we couldn't check in until 4. Kinda wished they would have told us that earlier, but that was an indication of things to come. When we were checking in a traveller just arrived from San Fran didn't have a room even though he was told over the phone he would have one and the front desk was scrambling to do something. There were two other guest at other times passing through the lobby that were very upset at their situation as well with the front desk.

Our room had no view at all with a view of the wall of the other hotel, and the bed was very hard and the room was quite small. The next day, we returned at 4 and our towels or room had not been changed. Left and came back at 8 and both had been done, but there were no replacement towels! Had to ask twice for them! Breakfast in the morning was passable but the wait staff did not seem to understand English well and couldn't get us cream for coffee until we went up and got it ourselves. There was a fatal accident the morning of checkout just down collins ave from the hotel which blocked the road and the organization of getting our vehicle was haphazard, which is somewhat understandable, but it seemed like the valet staff was not competent to be able to handle the situation.

Only positives are the location, which is perfect, and the pool area which is warm and just like the pictures.

I cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't ask for a good view, you will not get any view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are very sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay, however: we feel that your comments are unfair. Reservations are confirmed for our 4 PM Check-in time and when guests choose to arrive well before our Noon Check-out time (as you did), we do our best to accommodate them; even with a full property. Anyone catching a "red-eye" flight is welcome to reserve their room for the night before to ensure the availability of their room for an early arrival. Our daily maid service runs until 5:30 PM, at which time an eveving Housekeeper is on duty, and towels and amenities are replenished usually by 4 - 5 PM. A fatal accidenet DID occur in the intersection just 100 feet from our property and the Police investigation unfortunately closed all streets and side-streets for several blocks in all directions until late in the afternoon which made it almost impossible for any of the local hotels to provide adequate Valet service (and hotels guests for blocks could be seen all day long trudging down a closed-down Collins Avenue with their suitcases trying to find an open pathway). Our staff provided wonderful service despite this major challenge so your comments do not seem justified. Our staff and management enjoys providing fine hospitality service to our visitors and we hope that we may have the opportunity to providean exceptional guest experience to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing