We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on South Beach”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #128 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I checked into this hotel just prior to Christmas.

The stay was very pleasant. Rooms are well-kept and staff friendly enough. The swimming pool and jacuzzi allow for a relaxing time. Further back from the hotel grounds, you will find South Beach.

Although breakfast was lacking from my deal, there are enough options for buying food in the local area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callcrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to spend 3 days in Miami for his 21st birthday but we did want it to be affordable as well, we got a good deal off of Bookit.com and even did some research on this hotel, the pictures looked awesome, and we loved the fact that the backyard connected straight to the beach. However, when we got there, the lobby did look nice and we was expecting our room to look just as great...The elevator was small, and the hallways to our room was so creepy :( Finally we reached to our room, and it was so small, the bathroom was horrible, just awful it wasn't dirty but it just wasn't modernized. The hotel room was stuck between like old fashioned and modern, we didn't wanna stay in our room. The only good thing about the hotel was that the pool and backyard looked exactly like the picture. And the fact that since only grandma and grandpas stayed there we got the jacuzzi and pool for ourselves late at night. The pricing for this hotel wasn't even worth it. If your under 45 years of age please save yourself from this place and chose somewhere worth your money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Sorry that you didn't enjoy our crowd. The Richmond is very pleased to be a relaxing deco oasis in the middle of South Beach; not neccesarily a teeny-bopper party place. We love our delightful mix of domestic and international clientele and our typical guests are mid-20's to mid-40's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband surprised me with this short trip to Miami Beach (3 nights). He had booked everything and he made the right choice! From the back of the hotel, you have access to the famous ocean boardwalk and the beaches with the baywatchers. The pool and the spa are very nice with washrooms outside so it is very convenient. The rooms are simple but very clean and nothing is missing. Bathrooms are a little bit outdated but everything was in perfect working order and again we had everything we needed (hair dryer, iron table, locker...) All the staff was very nice and making sure we had what we needed. The breakfast offered by the hotel was quite nice and very affordable ($10 for eggs, pancakes, bacon, coffee and orange juice). We didn't find cheaper in the area. This is not a high end hotel but those who don't like the fancy stuff like us, this was the perfect hotel in a great location. I would really recommend it for a romantic gateway!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teochloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you! We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night so I can only comment on a very short term stay.

Pros: The service was very friendly and quick. The location was also in the middle of the art deco district in Miami Beach and sits next to the beach and near the Lincoln Road Mall so it's within very easy walking distance of attractions.

Cons: The room I stayed in was below average. The hotel is art deco style and the room definitely seems to be from that era. The water in the shower was too hot and it was hard to lower the temperature even after turning the cold water on to maximum. These were old fashioned knobs so i don't know if they had anything to do with this. The bathroom was very small and the room itself was old and stale. There was also no parking unless you do valet which would set you back $35/night.

All in all it's not a bad hotel if you're looking to stay in a place that's very convenient to everything in Miami Beach and you're looking to do things outside the hotel but if you're looking for an upscale or even an average, modern hotel it wouldn't really be to your taste I believe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimpleTraveler423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Before we came to stay at the Richmond I was still a little unsure we had made the right choice for our holiday as although there were many positives there were occasionally negative comments on this site. We've stayed at many hotels including some fancy resort hotels but as we were spending Christmas and New Year in Miami Beach we were hoping for a friendly atmosphere, somewhere not too impersonal where we would feel welcome and relaxed. The Richmond didn't disappoint. It was perfect and we would like to echo all the previous positive comments. Staff, location, facilities, service, food. We got exactly what we were hoping for for the entire two weeks. It only remains to say a massive Thank You to everyone who made our Christmas and New Year very special indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manctravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you!! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I read a lot of these reviews before I went and for the most part I have to say that they are true except for the whole deposit issue one woman had. A lot of hotels hold a deposit and it just takes a few days to get it back.

I stayed at the Richmond from September 28 to October 2 of 2012. This place is good if you are looking for a cheap place with a nice pool and beach access. This is not a party hotel but it's on the strip so you can easily walk to one (great location). The drinks at the pool are expensive but the bartender is nice.

The bedrooms in the pictures are not the ones you get unless you pay extra for the upgrades. They are much older looking and the bathrooms are in need of an update! One of the biggest problems with this place is the plumbing. You can hear neighbors taking their showers and when they do the pipes go crazy and wake you up. This isn't a problem on weekdays, but on the weekends when the hotel gets a bit more crowded it's awful.

At the front desk Ismael seems to run the place and when I first met him he was very accommodating. We arrived really early and he allowed us to check in with no fees!! I was very happy with the customer service until our check out when my friend discovered bug bites. We went to the front desk to check out and told Ismael about the bites because we were worried about BED BUGS and he told us there was nothing he could do because we were leaving. He told us he would send an inspector and get back to us that day and perhaps do something about the price. He never got back to us so I called back and he basically said the same thing and I waited a few days to call him again and he ignored us again.

I am not sure if there are bed bugs there or not because we were very cautious and washed everything and had to dry clean some of the nicer items. With the money we spent on this we could have just stayed somewhere a lot nicer. Either way Ismael could have saved us a lot of money, concern, and time had he just gotten back to us but it seems like he only cares about the customers he thinks matter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It has taken me a little while to write this review because we have been working our way back to Australia. We stayed at the Richmond Hotel on our way back from Puerto Rico and booked 3 rooms, one each for my adult children and their partners and one for my husband and I.

We all find our minds wondering back to your hotel reminicsing on what a fabulous stay it was. Your service is second to none and all were extremely welcoming. We have stayed at some of the biggest hotels in the world and it was so nice to have such personal service.

The hotel is spotless and if we needed something it was delivered in a flash. Laying around the pool was like being in a scene of an Agatha Christie novel, with all little sub plots- very exciting.

From the attentive door people, to the pool cleaners, your staff are something to be proud of in a world were hotel staff are becoming almost robot like.

Tracey Ryan

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 214 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#119 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,614 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 214 in Miami Beach
4,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#68 of 214 in Miami Beach
879 reviews
Hotel Ocean
#173 of 214 in Miami Beach
557 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#126 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $146 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing