We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK hotel, but below par for service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #145 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK hotel, but below par for service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staff was mostly friendly. Rooms were ok.
PROS: Cool Art Deco building with nice veranda, pool area and lawn area. Good location, walking distance to restaurants and shopping.
CONS: It should be beachfront, but there was some sand dredging work being done right in front of the hotel. There was a huge fenced in area with very large and loud equipment – an ugly sight. Not hotel’s fault but… There was no hotel beachchair/umbrella service at beach, so hotel referred us to vendor that offered guests a discount. Turns out vendor was set up next to the noisy equipment and they offered ½ off umbrella rentals (a whopping $2.5 off from the $25 for chair/umbrella set). We ended up to walking away quite a distance to get away from the noise.
Then hotel decides to power wash the pool area while guests were lounging at the pool! They made all guests move to one side of pool and closed off the other side. They were very loud and it reeked of gasoline. Now hotel guests couldn’t have a nice experience at the hotel beachfront nor the hotel poolside – they should have at least postpone the pool work until beachfront was cleared.
Pool guy wouldn’t help us set up poolside lounge chairs which had being stacked out in the lawn area. I asked for help but he didn’t, he just stood there and chatted with co-workers while my 84 year old in-law had to get his own chair and struggle to lift it over other guests to get by! We were assigned rooms on main floor. We asked if possible to change rooms on another floor, but receptionist didn’t even check – she just said no. The long hallway (main corridor) was really dark and you could hear people in hallway at all hours. TVs didn’t work properly and the ‘Wi-Fi for AT&T customers only’ didn’t work at all. Housekeeping didn’t clean rooms until very late in the afternoon, even after requesting service. Manager didn’t respond to our request to talk with him. It was a very disappointing experience for us.

Room Tip: Higher floors for quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAndFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay. The beach project was a state project which has just been completed and the open, sandy expanse has been re-opened fully. Your request to speak to the manager came at 10 PM (one-half hour after the manager on duty had left) and your room issue when checked by our staff and did not seem to be a problem: but you were moved to a different room in order to satisfy your request. The General Manager was notified at that time and suggested that he would meet with you in the morning. Upon arrival that morning, the Manager and Housekeeping Manager immediately inspected the original room and found no issues. Your othere accommodations were problem-free. Unfortunately, the gentlemen working on the pool deck were performing a project for an outside vendor on our deck and were not Hotel employees: we sincerely apologize to you for any inconveniences to you during your stay. We hope that we may welcome you back and provide you with the enjoyable guest experience that we intend to give each guests who visits our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    402
    232
    131
    130
See reviews for
93
557
67
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The main hotel is a gorgeous art deco building with a beautifull lobby and pool. But that is where is stops. They also own a building across the street that consists of studio apartments furnished. They are absolutely tragic. Sparsely furnished and not decorated at all. The nicest thing in this unit is the mini fridge. It has not been remodeled since the 50's. No internet, no services at all. Its a dump!!!!

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limorobtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
The Richmond Studios are clean and comfortably furnished in this special deco property which is just steps from the beach. Guests are welcome to use all of the facilties and amenities - the restaurant, pool, jacuzzi, fitness center, Concierge, etc. - of our Richmond Hotel (just around the corner and directly on the ocean) and WiFi is coming soon to the Richmond Studios. Many, many guests (especially international travelers) are enjoying this property and we are sure that you were attracted by our incredibly affordable rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Oceanside, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just arrived home from a wonderful, long weekend stay at The Richmond, a beautiful Art Deco boutique hotel in the heart of Miami Beach (Collins Ave just a short walk from Lincoln Road).
The accommodations were delightfully updated, but retained the flavor of the deco theme. The staff was most accommodating, from Marco at the front door, to Ismael at the front desk, to Stuart Weintraub the General Manager, and Ramon at the dining room. Every need was met with a smile and an offer for further assistance. The pool area was very comfortable with direct beach access to a private, "manned" cabana area. My wife and I highly recommend this delightful Miami Beach "treasure." Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear of hotel make the pool and beach a bit more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you VERY much for your kind comments! This is the experience that we dedicate ourselves to delivering to every guest that visits our special property. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Grest location, good room, back door access to the beach, nice pool - I couldn't complain at all. Parking is a hassle and expensive but that's an issue pretty much everywhere. Breakfast is not included in price. Hotel provides complimentary beach towels and onthe beach, for $30 you can rent 2 lounge chairs and an umbrella for the whole day, which was awesome. If you are looking for something lavish, this is not for you. But if you are budget traveler, go for this, you won't miss a thing...

Room Tip: Stay on an upper level on the back side of the building to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

hi, we stayed at the Richmond from August 15 to August 19th. Beware there is a $35 + tax DAILY charge (not included in the price of your reservation) if you wish to use the hotel's valet parking service. There is no available parking in the area so there really isn't much choice in the matter. The hotel itself is nice, excellent location to the beach. My husband left his sunglasses behind and we called to see if they can be mailed back. We were told this was not a problem, however, we never received them! We waited a long time for towels and the AC wasnt really working well, but all in all it was a very enjoyable experience a few annoyances but thats life. My biggest issue was not knowing I was walking in to a valet parking charge. The hotel was pricey enough. Parking I would think is a courtesy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Richmond for your South Beach visit. We truly appreciate your business! Following your departure, we were called that your husband thought that he had left his sunglasses in your room and our Front Desk agent agreed that we could make arrangements to return them to you, however: we were unable to locate these glasses. Parking is extremely limited and costly throughout Miami Beach - especially in South Beach - and this impacts the cost of available parking to anyone that comes to the area. Our daily charge for this service is very modest for our location; and we do not charge additionally for each time that a guest takes their car throughout the day (like public parking lots a few blocks away or metered street parking does). We are not aware of any hotels in the area that provide complimentary valet parking for their guests. As we advise many of our guests, so much of the excitement of South Beach is easily accessible to our visitors: there often is no need for a car when enjoying our destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

From the very first moment i arrived at the richmond hotel till i left everything was great, from the front desk people and everybody else. It was my birthday which i didn't tell them, i'm sure if i did they would would have been even nicer. my room was cold and i asked them if they could do something about it, they went out of their way to make it pleasant for me. so for the guy who said cold room, hey dude just ask nicely and don't forget the tip.
i had the BESTEST TIME and i thank you all.
shohreh vaziri
wash DC

Room Tip: defenitely ocean view would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shohreh28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank You!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked my room through Hotwire /Expedia and $105 a nite was supposedly 40percent off. This was not the case since that night I checked the web and the room was everywhere for $98. In addition...I had asked to be upgraded to an oceanfront and the woman at the desk told me it would be $60 more a night when every website had an oceanfront room for $135 a night...that's half of what the front desk told me...luckily I did not upgrade since the only difference between the standard, superior and oceanfront if the view and it barely makes a difference. This issue is the least of the issues I have with this hotel. Getting the room cleaned seems to be more of an accomplishment then getting a meeting with the President. The first day it was raining so after walking around I came back to the room at 3pm and the room was still not cleaned. I was told at the front desk..don't worry..the room will be cleaned by 5.... Really? I shouldn't have access to a clean room all day? Then today at 5:05 I come back to the room and it is not cleaned. I went to the front desk and was told it would be cleaned right away...a half hour later I had to call again and FINALLY three women came to clean my room. You would think at least they would have offered me a free drink at the bar since I was inconvenienced twice but nothing. An apology just doesn't cut it. In addition....the pool is less than relaxing since at 12 pm they decided to power wash the deck and they were doing construction on the hotel so the pool was filled with rocks and noisy as hell. I guess you get what you pay for..to be honest despite everything I never ld have written this review if it had not been for the room cleaning issue and the fact the the front desk did absolutely nothing for me despite the inconvenience. Poor customer service.
D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstelleHNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I wish that either I or one of our managers, who are on property every day, was able to assist you. Fortunately, you were able to purchase a hugely discounted rate on a short-term promotion, however: our Desk staff was correct in the amount charged for an upgrade to an oceanfront room (our most expensive room category). In order to maintain the property properly, we - and all neighboring buildings - pressure wash our decks and try to schedule these actvities at times where they will least inconvenience our guests. Unfortunately, in your case we did not do so. While we typically get rave reviews on our housekeeping and hospitality, we evidently did not satisfy you and we are discussing your comments with our staff; as our goal is to provide an excellent guest experience to our visitors. Should you decide to try our hotel again, I will be pleased to personally assist you in making your arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#110 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#97 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#63 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#119 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing