We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, clean and quiet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #135 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Great location, clean and quiet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here on a Sunday night in the first week of July. The hotel was pretty quiet, not too many people around the pool during the day, though there were plenty of people on the beach. It seemed like a good mix of people, some couples in their twenties and thirties, a few families, solo travelers and possibly businesspeople. The pool and hot tub are open until 11 PM and when a friend and I went in around 9, we had both to ourselves. The room and bathroom were clean, new, and comfortable, and the TV was huge. I really liked the decor of the hotel as well. I see a lot of reviewers posting pictures of teeny tiny issues like a crack in the ceiling or a speck of dirt behind the toilet - people need to calm down, who cares? I am a clean freak and I felt absolutely comfortable here. The hotel is right on the beach, you just have to step over a small boardwalk. There's a beachwalk that runs behind the hotel and neighboring hotels, and it's nice to take a walk and peer in to their backyards/pools, especially at night. I enjoyed the fact that the hotel is quiet and doesn't play any music in the pool area - the Shore Club right next door certainly seems to have a more partylike atmosphere, as does The Delano a few hotels down - we could feel the bass from their music all the way on the beach. Didn't hear it at the pool, though. We also made use of the exercise room which had two Precor ellipticals and a treadmill. Lincoln Road with all the shops and restaurants was only a 5 minute walk, and if you want to save a little on parking, there's a huge garage that's very safe about 8 minutes away walking on 17th street by the convention center. All in all, I really enjoyed the hotel and would come again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elletee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    419
    242
    136
    137
See reviews for
98
578
75
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I visited the Richmond hotel by firs time whith my husband,we enjoyed the installation except a few things ,the carpet was dirty,And we asked for towels and it wasn't any available...but we loved the food in the restaurant by the chef Gustavo..and will never forget the valet parking service..very fast,very welcoming,we arrived late night very tired and Carlos was very nice and helpful..always recomending the best places to go..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stayed several nights at the richmond hotel in miami south beach in may, 2012. we really liked it. the pool area is so lovely & clean, & the beach is just a short walk through the back gate. we met the woman who owns it (in the family since the 1930s) & she appears to stay active in the running of the hotel. she maintains the art deco decor, even with newer items, & we liked the old-fashioned bathroom, windows that open, nice little restaurant, pretty lobby, etc. also, the price was right for us. we didn't have any issues at all -- everything was perfect. the sad thing is that her family is not interested in taking it over, so we just hope whoever the next owner is will care about maintaining its original feel. the only thing i would suggest is a coffeemaker in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you! We love this Hotel too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rooms were very small. The bathroom floor was covered in bugs and the sink in the mornings was also filled with little bugs. We stayed there for four nights and each and every day we had to call the front desk and request towels and clean glasses because housekeeping would never provide them when they cleaned the room. Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are surprised by your review; we are unaware of these issues and do not seem to have any reports of these problems. Many of our visitors comments on our wonderful housekeeping and the charm of our authentic, restored art deco property. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and show you the wonderful qualities that so may other guests have enjoyed and reported in their comments on our landmark South Beach hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Abilene, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I usually never write reviews for hotels but this one is too good not too!!Sure the room is small.. but it is beautiful and unique!!!) I took a small power strip with me to plug in camera and phone charger)The lace is gorgeous and very well kept!It has been renovated and is in very good taste!All was very clean and I am picky! The pool and hot tub are lovely and the pool is salt water!The beach path is so very nice has a wood deck!The chef went out of his way on my birthday with a complimentary piece of cake with a candle and birthday song ! The breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced!I stayed 5 nights and wanted to stay 5 more.Very quiet and within walking distance of almost everything!!!The beach is so beautiful !Worth every Penney you spend !I wasn't looking for the Ritz this is a home away from home!:)Loved it!I Will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Terrible rooms. Mold in the room, stains on the floor, out dated bathroom, old furniture. Only nice thing was the pool and location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blackbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are very sorry to have disappointed you. We pride ourselves, and as many of our other guests comments will attest to, on our high levels of guest service and exceptional standards of housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We are two females in our late twenties who recently stayed at the Richmond from 6/14-6/18. This was the fifth hotel I have stayed at in South Beach and probably only one of the hotels ties with this place. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. We received anything we asked for including, towels, and an extra ice bucket. One of the staff members even turned the music up at the pool for us! Someone was always holding a door open and they helped with our luggage. We were allowed to store our luggage when we checked out because we still had time before our flight.

The rooms were small but not cramped and very clean. The closet was large enough for our clothing-and we packed a lot! I am not sure as to why others are saying it is dirty. The room was perfect for two young women in their late twenties who really just used the room to sleep and shower. Also, there were complaints of being able to hear people in the hall and other rooms. I did not experience this at all. I only heard people if I was walking directly by their room. I slept like a baby every night and the pillows and bed were very comfy. The pool area was very nice! It was clean and the beach access was great. There was a cabana bathroom so that you didn't have to walk back inside the hotel.

The only negative thing I could think of was that it took a little while to figure out how to get the water temperature in the shower not to be scalding hot but we figured it out-no big deal. If you are used to resorts and paying big bucks for a room, then stay at a RESORT. This is a charming, traditional type of South beach hotel. You won't find much better for this price. I would definitely return to this hotel anytime!!!

Room Tip: The airport bus stops right in front of the hotel and it only costs $2.35 vs a cab which is about $2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Stephanie L,
We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments which serve to reinforce our staff's commitment to old-school hospitality. Your description of the value that we deliver is extraordinary and inspiring. Thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon and welcome you back to your new home in South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#96 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#80 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#32 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
City Center
Villas at Shelborne
Villas at Shelborne
#168 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing