We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel on South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #129 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
182 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The best hotel on South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at the Richmond hotel for 10 nights during March and found it to be a real hidden gem. I needed to stay close the the convention centre and have stayed in various hotels on Collins Avenue over the last few years...each one complete with a horror story of price, cleanliness, loutish behaviour from the spring breakers, and just general poor quality.

The Richmond bucks that trend superbly, with clean rooms, friendly staff, a wonderful manager in Stuart Weintraub, a fabulous pool and pool area, location right on the beach and with a short walk to the convention centre, Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive etc. Stay here - you will not be disappointed. Every member of staff is friendly, welcoming, helpful. The maids look after the rooms superbly and the whole stay was a real pleasure - i will be coming back, together with my colleagues for the future. And did i mention the rather fantastic pool? You literally float on the surface !! This IS the best hotel on South beach... and when you are staying at the same time as the loutish spring breakers i can tell you it's a real treat to get a good night sleep and not pay through the nose for it. Stay here, you'll love it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BGIBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you VERY much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    434
    251
    142
    140
See reviews for
107
609
79
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights In April 2012. Location is great, Ocean view room on 6th floor is a must.
Rooms were a tad bit worn but really how much time are you in your room? The pool area was very nice. Pool was clean and was great for a swim after being on the beach all day. Staff were very helpful.
South beach is noisy, I was worried about sleeping but it was fine after 1am. So, go out for late dinners, walk back (it is safe, we walked miles daily) or clubs if you are into that.

A couple of things, ocean front 5th or 6th floor is recommended. Have the staff cover the air conditioner vent if you do not like cold rooms as the thermostat does nothing for the ocean front rooms, can be very cold. We then left windows open, nice for sleeping. You are staying at an old Miami establishment, not a chain, nor is it corporate, is a privately owned hotel that feels like a privately owned hotel. We checked out some largish corporate hotels and thought they were sterile and way overpriced. I would stay at the Satai, absolutely classy and elegant. Go have cocktails there.

Overall the Richmond is priced accordingly and the location, staff, view from room and pool area is great. Just don't expect something it is not. Our room was overall pretty darn clean, bedding was very clean.

Room Tip: Ocean front, 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our first time in Miami, so we decided to stay at the Richmond, since it was one of the few available, although not the cheapest one. The only good thing about the hotel was the location. We had problems from the moment we arrived. The room was awful, very outdated with very basic furniture. At least it was cleaned every day.
The staff were rather unhelpful and incompetent.
I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: I doubt there is such thing as a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, your review does not provide us with your personal information so that we can respond directly to you. We hope that you contacted one of our managers during your visit so that they could assist you; especially as we rarely receive negative comments regarding our staff. Fortunately, you were able to find a suitable property in the area; as we have noted that you have posted a very positive review regarding a local property for a stay during the same period that you reported staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

If you want a hotel with an awesome staff of Yelannis and Robert,delicious meals prepared by Gustavo who was also very knowledgeable about All of Miami, gorgeous pool with beautiful gardens and direct access to beach,superb location of one block from Lincoln Road Then The Richmond Hotel is for you! Ignore Any of the hotels'negative reviews! I love this Hotel and it is the best bang for your buck! A big shout out for Marcello(recommended by Hotel) for getting to airport on time.Look forward to coming back soon! Evelyn DuVal

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duval9779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you very much! Come back soon and please tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just came back from a 5 day 4 night stay at the Richmond and it has its prosand a few cons. The location is right smack in the middle of everything you need to enjoy Miami and the beach is literally at the back of the hotel, check in was a breeze and the service at the hotel is amazing everyone is so friendly and accommodating definitely makes you feel welcomed. Our room was on the 3rd floor we didn't have a view but didn't care who spends there time in the hotel in Miami, the room is a bit small and our bed was very firm my back ached every morning but some people like a firm bed to each his own. The pool area is amazing the pictures don't do it justice and pool is heated i took a dip late 1 night and the temperature was perfect even with the late night breeze coming from the ocean don't forget the hot tub with jets that are like a built in massage I loved it. There is a bar by the pool with great food and fast service very friendly staff there as well to bring you anything you need and they keep the pool area clean and stocked with towels. The only problem we had when we were there was the TV didn't work at first, but the maintenance guy came up the 3rd day and in literally 2 seconds he fixed it by simply adjusting a chord and our keys deactivated on the third day we had to go to front desk to get new keys to our room. Also the bathroom is not huge its a basic size toilet, mirror, vanity mirror, and a shower there is very little space for your personal items i used the desk in the room to put all my make ups and such, the shower had very little water pressure which i wish was better but it got the job done.Overall I would recommend the Richmond to anyone going to South Beach this hotel has everything you need to enjoy Miami to the fullest especially if you want sun, beach and a hassle free experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were in town for WMC and wanted a second room at a hotel not mixed up in all the music madness. This hotel was perfect. It's not a luxury hotel, but it is clean, spacious and the service was solid. The room itself had all that we needed and it was a very relaxing place for us to go to get away from the parties and noise. The windows didn't seem to be double paned, so you could hear music nearby. It shouldn't matter as much during normal times in the area. Surrounding hotels had daily pool parties, but I don't think that's normally the case. The outdoor pool area is beautiful and it lets you right out to the beach. I would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to family/friends looking for a quiter, smaller oasis in the South Beach madness.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmac0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed in Miami for four days on business recently and was moved here from another hotel (long story, error made by Hotels.com staff) so I didn't really know much about the hotel except from a quick look at trip advisor prior to giving Hotels.com the ok.

Upon arrival I thought it was great compared to the hotel I came from (location CANNOT BE BEAT!).I read reviews here stating the walls are paper thin and I think that's true, but I was in a section of the hall where I didn't really hear anyone so that was cool! I did hear toilets flush in other rooms sometimes, though....they are like jet engines! lol

the bedding and sheets were clean (I am freaked about bedbugs in hotels but after my research found nothing and after four days I was left unscathed, so that's good too!)

The best part about the hotel is the pool area, which is saline! I swam every day and relaxed after my conferences in the huge saline jacuzzi. It's walking distance to the beach, too and the beautiful beautiful boardwalk. I went on long walks every evening, too. LOVED IT! If you like to get out of your hotel room and explore around you, this is the PERFECT hotel.

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT:
not sure if management checks these, but if they do I have ONE thing that needs to be changed: the hallways are VERY dark and kind of scary. The lighting is just really dim and as a woman traveling alone I was very uneasy about it.

That said, I need to tell you the CLEANING STAFF IS HONEST. I made a bonehead move and left my wallet in my room with cash, etc in it and when I returned the bed was made and everything in my wallet was still there. WHEW!!!!

I might stay there again if I return, at least you know what you can expect!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlavorsOfSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing