We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location...”
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Seas Hotel
Ranked #105 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Me and my hubby stayed in this hotel in October for a weekend gateway.We had a fantastic stay in Miami-I call it the city of passions.The hotel is comfortable and located in the area with all highend hotels(Delano,Lowes,Ritz,etc),right on the beach,walking distance to Lincoln Rd and Ocean Dr.(hihg heels no problem).I liked the breakfast spread daily,good healthy options(gourmet teas etc,)
Rooms are small with wonderful beds-great crispy white sheets and soft bedding.The hotel is great deal for what you spending.I'll do it again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarnovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

Good service and reasonable room rates. Probably the best place on a budget near shopping on Lincoln. Beachfront location, decent pool. Basic breakfast included.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

My partner and I spent the last few days of our honeymoon at the South Seas. After travelling around florida for 17 days we where so impressed with this hotel. From the moment we checked in with "Ana" who absolutely fantastic. She upgraded our room because it was our honeymoon and gave us a credit at the Bar. She was funny warm hearted and down to earth and does her job so well. The two bartenders Jean and Charlotte where also just fantastic. Jean is so funny and nice and Charlotte is cute as a button with a personality to match. I can't say enough about how nice these two are. They made us feel so at home. This hotel is not the Ritz but its clean, charming and almost like a family runs it. We will never stay anywhere else in south beach.. James and Darrell miss ya girls

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrelljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Me and my wife are traveling with one child. I upgraded my room to double superior beds so me and my wife would get to big beds. I was told that because there's 2 beds in the room the childrens bed doesn't fit so our child had to sleep in one of the beds with us. Breakfast was ok, the place is on the beach. PLEASE CHOOSE OCEAN SIDE, we couldn't sleep because of all the traffic, the walls and the windows are not isolated so it feels that you are on the street. I don't recommend this hotel, that's it. Parking's expensive too...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We made a reservation very unsure of the location and quality of this hotel. We were very pleased. The location is in a busy section but once inside it was quiet. We enjoyed the continental breakfast by the pool, relaxing in the hammocks and the easy access to the boardwalk and the beach. We were glad not to have music playing around the pool and bar area -- there was enough sound from other hotels. The room was small but sufficient -- what you would expect in an older hotel.The beds and bedding were very comfortable and modern.

I was particularly impressed with all the service staff -- everyone was friendly and helpful and very professional. Our family all said they would go back to the South Seas.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Well this is my third visit to the wonderfull south seas hotel. Great location, rooms super clean,smelled awesome.the welcoming was very warming as well....restaurant delicious ..also i noticed that they have security now.that was the final touch that was needed.i feel.very secure now.they are also nice too.i really recommend this hotel to everybody.and im definitely going back.good luck!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebe1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The bus $2 will take you to the further end of the mall and just stroll home , or catch a cab if you got the shopping fever! The Icebox Cafe a must for a sweet tooth - cookies and cake ! Enso restaurant - great food and reasonable !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
485 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,779 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#126 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sagamore
#83 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,862 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,367 reviews
City Center
Villas at Shelborne
Villas at Shelborne
#195 of 212 in Miami Beach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $176 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing