We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Boutique Hotel”
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Hotel
Ranked #105 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a nice and affordable boutique hotel. The hotel is clean and neat. The location is right on the beach and close to other activities. We enjoyed the pool and beach area. We ordered pizza and it was delicious. The facility could use a couple of minor updates. The service we received from the front desk/bellman and outside bar should of been more friendly. We felt like more of a bother than a guest. However, the ladies that set up and served breakfast were very nice and helpful. If I know the service is going to be better my family will be back otherwise we will probably try a new location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Julie:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our beachfront location, overall cleanliness, and pool area. We regret to see that you were not fully satisfied with some of our service staff and we apologize for any shortcomings. We greatly value your business and have shared your review with our team.

We always strive to create pleasant experiences for our guests and do hope you will consider us for a future stay. On your return, please contact us directly at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 so that we can make special arrangements for you.

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    598
    317
    139
    95
See reviews for
435
449
71
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Hotel is in a good central location but room was getting a bit tired. Breakfast was a standard inclusion and was basic but good. Pool was very nice place to chill out and the beach access was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Miami Beach. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our beachfront location, complimentary breakfast and pool area. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as your kind words and constructive comments are greatly appreciated.

We sincerely appreciate your business and we hope to be at your service on your next visit. Please contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn more about our special offers!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The staff were friendly, helpful, multilingual, all great things. But the hotel has seen better days. Paint is peeling, carpets are worn, things are broken in and around the hotel. Housekeeping cleaned our room only one of the two days we were there. Coffee machine was supplied with decaf and black tea, but no regular coffee (requested and received, but one of those things one doesn't want to have to deal with in the early a.m., and wasn't resupplied the following day as housekeeping didn't visit our room.) The continental breakfast is particularly spare - bread and bagels with toasters that almost work, fruit that's underripe, badly made coffee. I suppose, given that we got a cheap web-rate booking well in advance compensates for some of all that, but only sort of.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for dedicating your time to review your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your words expressing the attentiveness and friendliness of our staff, it is our pleasure to make each and every guest feel welcome. We have shared your comments with our Management team and we hope to make improvements in any area where needed.

We hope to be at your service again next time you visit Miami Beach. You may contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our best rates available!

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Room was old and gross. We were right next to the elevator. TV was broke, they replaced it. The toilet broke and would not flush, noise above was so bad, did not sleep! Entire hotel was old and gross. To make things worse, our room faced a disgusting alley with dumpsters up and down. Guess you get what you pay for! No way this is three and a half star hotel???!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danigirl029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear danigirl029:

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us. It seems that your experience was not as you expected and we are deeply sorry for it. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and ensure your concerns are being addressed.

We recognize there is always room for improvement and we hope you will give us another chance to make it up for you.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for two nights ! Rooms were a but small but ok for the time that you spend in them - no view from rooms and they are a bit tied but very clean.

The pool area , beach and pool bar are brilliant and the staff are very friendly, breakfast is also very good,

The hotel is right on the beach, right on Collins avenue and only 1 block away from all the shops and restaurants!

Great hotel and would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for choosing the South Seas Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our beachfront location, pool area, restaurant, and the friendly service from our staff. We are glad that you had a nice time and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Please think of us the next time you visit our beautiful Miami Beach and always contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our Hotel Packages!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was clean and attractive but pretty typical. Nice room with a pretty good view of the ocean. They have a good private beach and a nice pool. A very good and reliable place to stay but don't expect anything amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Matthew:

Thank you for choosing to stay at the South Seas Hotel. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback about your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay overall and we appreciate you highlighting our cleanliness, pool area, and room features.

We really appreciate your business and we hope to be at your service again soon!. Don't forget to contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our Hotel Packages!

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILChick
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is your typical old school, South Beach, art deco hotel. If you are looking for new, large rooms with modern amenities, this is NOT it. These hotels offer smaller rooms and tiny bathrooms. They are old and not updated or modern, but very functional.

The location is top notch and the pool area/beach are quite nice. Staff was friendly, but the a/c is the old fashion kind and not central air.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear ILChick:

We appreciate the time you have taken to write about your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us. Our most sincere appreciation for recognizing the convenience of our location, our pool/beach area and our staff friendliness.

Thank you for choosing the South Seas Hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. On your return, please contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES!

Best regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#83 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#125 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Sagamore
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Property: South Seas Hotel
Address: 1751 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing