We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Tropical Garden, Bad Rooms without View”
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Seas Hotel
Ranked #105 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Tropical Garden, Bad Rooms without View”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We came there with a four days reservation made blind with hotels.com. Unfortunately we got a room with a view to the wall of just another hotel, no sky, no city, no trees, no park, no pool: just a wall in a distance about five feet. Ouch!
This was really deceiving, being in Miami Beach and just looking into a wall.
There was no other room to get and we asked for to checkout after one nite. One lady at at front desk was very unfriendly and answered harsh, that even after move out we have to pay for four nites. But glad that there was a collegue of her, who managed that we could check out nexst day and just been charged for one day. Thanks to that lady (March 22nd).
The rest of the hotel, beside our room is ok: the pool is great in a grown tropical garden.
Restauration of the hotel is in an urgent need, but hopefully the nice tropical garden would be untouched.
So maybe if you get a better room with a view to somewhere its quite ok, directly at the beach, close to espaniola way.

Room Tip: Room WITH any view and not to the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deskSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We appreciate your constructive feedback. Our hotel has different room types, including Suites, Ocean Front, Partial Ocean view, Pool view, and Classic rooms. After reading your comments, it is likely that you reserved a Classic room, which is a quiet comfortable inside room. We apologize that the selected room type did not meet your expectations. We also regret to hear you experienced some misunderstandings at our reception desk. Your comments are being reviewed with our team in order to learn from our shortcomings.

We also are glad you enjoyed our location, close to Española Way and we thank you for acknowledging our pool area surrounded by our tropical garden.

Should your travel plans bring you back to our area, please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations team directly at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 so that we may recommend a room more suitable for you.

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    600
    317
    140
    96
See reviews for
436
453
72
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is my 2nd trip back and what a disappointment. We booked an ocean view room. Our room did not overlook the ocean as advertised. Our room did, in fact, overlook a construction zone. I’m not sure if the new pool is going to be at the South Seas or at the neighboring resort but a large hole in the ground wasn’t what I was expecting when I looked out my ocean view room. When we addressed this with the staff at the front desk, we were told it WAS an ocean view room (we just had to crane our necks hard to the left). After a bit of discussion, she offered to drop the room rate $20. When we asked to speak to a manager we were told he was not on premise. We had to ask for her to reach out to him via cell. Shouldn’t that just be a given? Is that something that a paying guest should have to ask for when it’s clear we are disappointed and unhappy?

Our room was quite rundown. We prefer boutique hotels over the large chains. We understand the rooms will be older and smaller. It’s part of what makes them quaint and enjoyable. This room, however, wasn’t charming. This room had paint peeling in chunks from the ceiling and a dirty bathroom. The coffee maker didn’t work and we didn’t get shampoo or conditioner. I didn’t need the shampoo or conditioner; I’m simply pointing out the small things that were overlooked. Even the counter where the coffee machine sat looked like it hadn’t been wiped down in months.

A few other things to note would be the early morning wake up from the construction crew, the trash that was in the hallway all morning and the elevator that another couple and I waited 10 minutes for before we finally gave up and took the stairs. Lastly, the broken pipe that left the entire hotel without water for hours. We had to arrive at our next destination without a shower. Broken pipes happen. It’s an unfortunate reality of older buildings. It was just one more thing we had to deal with on a visit that was already falling apart from the time we walked in to our room.

Won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Call them and verify the room you're getting has a full ocean view. If it's partial view, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyG524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Kelly:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we always welcome both praise and constructive criticism from our guests. On behalf of our entire team, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you like to discuss further.

We truly hope that you can give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I normally dont write reviews but I was pretty upset with my stay at south seas. My wife and I booked the penthouse suite which cost us over 600$ a night. With the exception of the ocean view the room was pathetic. There was broken tiles throughout the room. The grout between the tile was breaking apart and crumbling. The bathroom was the worst part. It was small with a dingy bathtub and cheapo shower curtain! It was a cast iron tub which means it hasn't been changed since the 1960s. The TV was placed on a low TV stand so when your in bed you cant see the TV because the bed is about 4 feet high. Ive never been in such rip off penthouse suit in my life. the pictures on the website are really deceiving. If you want to stay in a nice affordable hotel with walkable beach access consider edgewater on ocean ave. A ocean view room cost a third of the price and the entire hotel has been upgraded accordingly. I'll post pictures shortly .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Abe:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments and feedback are extremely important to us as we are constantly learning from our guests' experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We always encourage our guests to inform us of any needs or concerns they have during their stay as we can have the opportunity to fulfill their expectations. Our Engineering team has been informed and will look into the details you mentioned.

Once again, we appreciate all your comments and we hope you will give us a chance to change your mind about us during a future stay.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Location: very good for south beach. But don't forget to ask if the beach loungers and umbrellas are included...if not it's $15 per chair/umbrella per day.
Staff friendliness: very unfriendly. The front desk personnel did not care that hey had messed up our booking.
Noise: construction next door was very annoying early in the morning and in the afternoon by the pool. The ceiling insulation is poor and you can hear everything in the room above.
Extras: no cots in the whole hotel so had one kid on the floor.
Internet was free...bonus!

Room Tip: Get the upgrade to the 6th floor! All other rooms face a brick wall or a construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear James:

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that our location was suitable for your needs and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary WiFi.

We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties during your stay. Your comment in regards to the lack of cots/cribs in our hotel results confusing to us. It is our standard policy to make arrangement for families by placing cribs in their rooms upon request. We are also remised that you did not bring this matter to our Management's attention so that we could have the opportunity to fulfill your expectations. We assure you that your comments are being reviewed to have a better understanding so that we can make improvements.

It’s our intention and aspiration to regain your confidence and welcome you back to our hotel. Please feel free to contact us should you like to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

its a hotel that needs an upgrade- the hammocks are the best feature- chipped furniture, stained ned covers, old stinky carpets. ok as a cheap family alternative to a higher end hotel- the pool bar and beach aspect is great but the hotel is tired.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bezebrA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your personal experience. We are glad you enjoyed our relaxing hammocks and our pool and beach area. We are also sorry that we were not able to meet all of your expectations, as our goal is to have our guests leave with fond memories of their visit and wanting to come back. We recognize there is always room for improvement and we will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, to allow you to see that we have a product and service that will provide you and our guests with a unique, memorable, and truly local experience.

Respectfully,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have never written a review in my life, so the fact that I am going out of my way to write this really shows how horrible my experience was at the South Seas Hotel. I went to Miami from 4/3-4/7. The hotel was more like a motel. The photos online are completely false. There are NO ocean views or any views. Your room either looks at a building that is 5 feet away are a wall. You have to pay for chairs at the public beach. The service was slow and mediocre. The hotel was so out dated and old, the elevator holds 4 small people and there is only one. There is NO hotel security, as 4 of my friends just walked in.. took towels (that are small, dirty shower towels) and walked to the beach. But back to the room...no mini fridge, the bathroom was the size of a closet, and NO central air. The air conditioner went on and off and never got the room cool. Sleeping at night was a nightmare and so hot. I am 100% convinced there was mold in the room, as me and my two friends were sick and congested only when we were in the room. There are no balconies or fresh air. I can go on and on, but please don't waste your money here. You're better off spending more for a better experience.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Best tip I can give. Unless you want a motel experience for high prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrystinaCavallaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Krystina:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We were very disappointed to hear of the situations you mentioned. Our hotel has several room categories such as: Ocean Front Suite, City Suite, Ocean Front Room, Partial Ocean View Room, Pool/Palm View Room, and Standard Room. After reviewing your reservation, we noticed you reserved one of our standard rooms, a quiet comfortable inside room. We apologize that the room seemed small and did not meet your expectations. We are also confused and surprised you did not notice the presence of our pool attendants nor our security guard by the pool. Our pool attendants are constantly replacing used towels for clean and fresh ones.

After communicating with our service team, we also realized there was no record of any of your concerns brought to our attention. We find ourselves uneasy as we did not have the opportunity to learn of your situation during your visit.

We do understand your frustration and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you will change your mind and allow us to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel staff were very attentive and friendly. The pool and beach area were lovely, as was the simple but adequate included breakfast which could be eaten inside or at the poolside. The hallways were kind of dingy, and the room was tiny (328), but the bed was nicely made and comfortable. Since we didn't spend much time in the room, we didn't care about its size. Aside from the great staff, the star feature of this hotel is that it is at the end of South Beach, so didn't get any noise at night. The neighborhood was busy but nice. We could walk anywhere to and from South Beach, so didn't need the car which we left in valet parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: We were far from the elevator (328) and had practically no noise at night from hallway or street. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capekupl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your recent stay at the South Seas Hotel. As evidenced from many other reviews, our service team is indeed comprised of many rock stars and we are delighted that we provided you with memorable service. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our great location, vibrant neighborhood and beautiful pool area with direct access to the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you to our growing family of repeat guests. Prior your next trip, please feel free to contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn more about our special rates for Florida residents!!!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
420 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,373 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#127 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,215 reviews
Sagamore
#77 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,807 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Property: South Seas Hotel
Address: 1751 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing