We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Hotel located in the heart of the beach area.”
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Hotel
Ranked #104 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Older Hotel located in the heart of the beach area.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in transit to the Caribbean. The room was spacious with a massive bed and good air conditioning along with a well appointed bathroom. I liked the old black and white photographs of the beach area during the 'art deco' heyday. Our visit included breakfast, which was a cold buffet with most of the expected items and attended to toast your Bagel etc.

There is a pool at the rear of the hotel, but you would be better to head through the gate to a lovely stretch of beach: however, remember the access code to get back into the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have smaller Queen Sized beds, and it is really worth having the super king that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    598
    316
    139
    95
See reviews for
435
448
71
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winfield. pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The room was small but clean. We had a problem with our toilet and were upgraded to a BEAUTIFUL room. Ana, at the front desk was helpful and friendly through out our stay. Nice breakfast, good bar, great pool side and beach location. We will go back...Thanks again Ana for all your help!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyak58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great boutique hotel, we had oceanfront room with a great view.
The bartender was very nice and friendly, pool great and just walk through the gate to the beach.
The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive, room was kept clean and lobby was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent, just a few blocks from Lincoln Road and right across from the beach.

The front desk were always helpful and accommodating. The room was fairly basic with a view of a wall but more than adequate for our needs with a bathroom stocked with nice toiletries and lots of fluffy towels. The free Wifi was strong enough to Skype in the room.

Free breakfast was a nice touch - basic but enough to start the day - juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries - although it would have been nice to have toasted bread (the only thing on offer was bagels). The pool area was pleasant and uncrowded and the area behind the pool (with hammocks) was a nice secluded spot. One side of the pool was in shade for the whole time we were there, although there is also a raised deck for sun-worshippers. The pool attendant did a great job keeping the pool area clean, providing pool towels and topping up the iced water (with apple) - very refreshing.

The 'gym' was actually just a couple of pieces of fairly old machinery in a room by the side of the pool

The hotel was booked on Hotwire so we didn't know what we were getting until we paid, This can sometimes be a gamble but we were more than happy with the South Seas Hotel at a price which is much less than many Miami Beach Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was unfortunate to stay in this hotel on the weekend of 9th November. The from beginning to end was uncomfortable for reasons mentioned in the title. Stay there at your peril then mirror my review!

One great guy there named Irwin but unfortunately one good person does not compensate for all of the above.

BTW......Its a real shame because the position is prime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelator71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is located next to Lincoln Road which has many shops and high end stores, as well as great restaurants. The rooms really do look like the photos and the property is well kept, the staff is friendly, and my room was cleaned daily. The property is not brand new, but is also far from worn down. If you are looking for a reasonable priced stay, a great pool, and an engaged and helpful staff, then please stay at the South Seas.

Thanks, Gabriel for helping me check out quickly and very early in the morning!

Will definitely return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NNWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The South Seas Hotel was a great experience for the whole family! We spent 3 days in Miami Beach, the hotel is nice, clean and perfectlly located. The staff is the best! I´m not use to deal with so flexible people! May be is the mixture of nationalities! All of them tried to help and find suitable options for our travel with kids. Thank you Marcia, Fabiola, Rudy, Robert and the ladies who served breakfast. We will return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeticiaC589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#85 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#128 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Sagamore
#76 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Property: South Seas Hotel
Address: 1751 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing