We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Value and clean beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #77 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
The Woodlands, TX
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Incredible Value and clean beaches”
Reviewed July 28, 2005

We checked OUT of a so-called 'boutique' South Beach hotel, to check into the Doubletree (see my review on the New Clinton Hotel). Ditto for all the positives in previous reviews of the Doubletree. This hotel is not situated in a most happening spot, but has plenty of restaurants/conveniences nearby. The service was attentive, and the property, though carpets were stained and worn and the elevator painstakingly slow, were spacious, and were an amazing value for the size and beach-front location. Probably the largest bathroom I've ever had in this quality of a hotel. Bed was decked out, but a bit soft for me. Kids had their own pull-out sofa bed with their own TV with full cable. Had a full kitchen, and bedroom had a walk-in closet that eases the stress of organizing family suitcases. The beaches here are swept nightly and were spotless (no cigarette butts or dirty cups, etc.). For the kids, the zero-depth entry pool is easy, and the beach hut supplies water and sand toys to borrow. There is currently construction on the lot on south end of hotel, but we never heard anything; our room faced north-east and allowed for sunrise views over a spectacular balcony with tons of space. The foundation on this construction lot has not even been laid yet so will be ongoing for quite some time, so make sure when making your reservation, you ask for guarantee of north-end location. Prices in the restaurant were reasonable and food/service good. The free internet service in lobby was convenient, a $10 fee/day in your room for same service, a hot-spot Starbucks is two blocks to south. Really love the panhandle of Florida for the quality of beaches, but would go back to this hotel in Sunny Isles in a flash should the occasion arise. Thanks to the Doubletree for salvaging my vacation after I endured a sour South Beach experience!! Truly a great property, regardless.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dtflipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    602
    248
    128
    79
See reviews for
912
342
29
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2005

I stayed at the Ocean Point Resort hotel July 14-16, 2005 and was very pleased with the hotel. It was in a great location for a day (or days) at the beach, had plenty of restaurants, shopping, and conveniences within walking distance, and most importantly--the room was perfect for a great beach vacation.

Unlike previous reviews, the front desk staff was very friendly and attentive--even giving me a warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. The room was ideal, a large suite (the one bedroom variety) with a comfortable living area complete with a sleeper couch, a big tv, high-speed internet connectivity, and access to the great balcony. The kitchen was great--a nice new fridge (with ice maker and water in the door) and all the other things you would need to make a meal (stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, etc). The bedroom was super comfortable...very nice bed linens, another nice access to the balcony, and another tv in the room. The bathroom was ideal--a nice step-in shower, and a big jacuzzi tub. Everything was nice and clean, and I felt extremely comfortable in the hotel.

For restaurants, I recommend the Emerald Coast --a great all you can eat Asian spot (with tons of seafood, sushi, and chinese food). Also very convenient is the Walgreens and other drug-stores/pharmacies nearby and within walking distance. For those that want to go on a bit of a hike, Haulover Beach is about a 20 minutes walk down (south) the beach.

Yes, there was some construction on the south side of the hotel, but it didn't bother me at all. As long as you don't plan on sleeping away your vacation, I doubt it would bother you either. For the view from my balcony/bedroom/living room, please see my attached pictures.

Bottom line: Great spot. I will go back here in a minute.

Helpful?
12 Thank SwoodLongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2005

I will definitely return. Location was perfect and although we only had a one bedroom, the view from the side of the hotel was still beautiful. They are building another high rise right next door so it was a bit noisy. If you stay, ask for the left side facing the ocean. There is a grocery store, restaurants, Starbucks, shops within walking distance but I recommend renting a car. We drove down to South Beach for dinner which was a little too wild if you have a family; nonetheless, it's an interesting place to experience. Bal Harbour is a nice area but very exclusive and expensive. We loved North Miami where Doubletree is located. It did seem like everyone had their hand out; chairs & umbrella for four cost $30/day, everytime you need the car means tipping the valet driver, if you need a extra pillow, another tip; they won't give you anything at the desk, someone has to bring it to you, more tips. Some restaurants add the tip, so check your bill, it's easy to double tip. All in All, I highly recommend this hotel...good value for off season.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2005

We stayed here June 23-26 and really liked this hotel. The hotel lobby was beautiful and provides a great view of the ocean. There is a restaurant which is a little high in price, but does provide a great View. We stayed in a normal room and actually got to see a suite, if you can afford to splurge GO FOR IT! The normal rooms are nice, but the suite is very spacious and comfortable. The room entry is confusing as you enter one main door for two rooms...so make sure you get in the right room.

There is construction going on, but its going on everywhere. It's not that bad, just suck it up and deal with it!

The ocean is gorgeous here!!!!! BE AWARE if you want an umbrella it is at least 30 dollars a day!!! Overall, the beach wasn't busy at all....very clean.

The bars and restaurants that the hotel provides seem to have strange hours and aren't open past five. There are other places around but it can be a bit of a walk if you dont have a car.

If you can, rent a car! While there are places close by, you are limited. If you are a family just there to enjoy the beach, you'll be fine without one. If you want to go to south beach and have some fun, get a car. We took a taxi to south beach and it cost us over $60.00
Loved this hotel and would love to go back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 23, 2005

Stayed in the Doubletree June 17-22. Room was nice, clean enough, good ocean view, spacious. Construction next door (all day) was very noisy, and looks likely to continue for some time as a new building is going up and they're just starting the foundation.
Hotel signage is awful. I missed the hotel multiple times driving home. Valet parking is required ($18/day!), which was a pain when the 2 valets were busy. A lot of time was spent waiting for the car to arrive. More than happy to pay the $18 and self park, but that was not allowed.
Pool was small & of questionable cleanliness, although there were lots of kids/families having a great time splashing about. Pool bar service was just terrible when it was open.
The staff in general acted like they were doing the guests a favor by being there, but it seemed that all the hotels in FL are that way so maybe that's just what you get.
I would not stay at the 2tree again.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, nc
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2005

Exceptional value in Sunny Isles (north of Haulover Park, east of Aventura) We stayed two nights in May in a king suite, it is really a 1 br apt. with full kitchen, marble bath... Huge by Miami Beach standards, and immaculate. Service far better than the typical surly incompetants at almost every other MB hotels. Fantastic view, and beach, just across from the Rascal House, a must for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Realguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2005

First, I'll start from the beginning: we arrived at the hotel which it was difficult to find in the dark. Why you ask? because there is no sign. As the hotel was in renovations and just recently becoming a Hiton brand hotel, they had not put one up yet. Understandable, but we couldn't find it. The bellman was VERY OVER attentive, even as I asked for him NOT to take my bags. I had 5$ on me after the turnpike had took most of the free cash hanging around, but he would not give me my bags. I shouldn't have given him anything but.... He was kind of forceful, and was also ,going to take my $49,000 vehicle to parking. I felt pressured by it and also surprised by it. Guaranteed, it wont happen again. The lobby staff was kind and helpful. We were assisted to a high floor, 15th I believe and what a view! It was the first thing I noticed when I walked through the doors. We had been upgraded to a corner suite kind of on the south side of the building. It had a double balcony with 2 sliding glass doors, both from the living area and from the bedroom. You can imagine the view when both shades are open with a warm carribean breeze blowing thru. The balcony had a table with 4 chairs, and a lounger and was magnificent for breakfast seaside via roomservice and a cart.
The kitchen was white, spotless, and void of smells. Like no one had stayed or used it before! It included a coffee maker, utensils, dishes, but was missing a cock screw and bottle opener. I called the room service people and they sent security up with it. Scary, but I guess he needed to check out the situation for safety. IN the livingroom there is a good sized sofa and a flop chair. There is a rattan type dinning set with four chairs right next to the kitchen bar.
The TV's in the LR and Master are way too small for the large living area, although I feel a 27" TV is too small for any space. It was very cozy. The bed was a dream with its soft linens and plush pillows. The bath was sooooo large,and decorated with tumbled stone, and had a jacuzzi spa. Tried to use, it but it didnt have enough force, so I wouldn't bother with the extra cost for one.
The pool area is large, great for kidsand adults, and has 2 hottubs. They remain a 104 degrees and that is not a suitable child friendly temp but is the desire adult hottub temp. It can harm the smaller children less than 12 y/o so beware.... It also has a waterfall ghrotto spa which made you relax. It is beachfront. So, most of the time you will be down there. The staff is there to assist you to a paid lounger, umbrella, etc. They disappear somtimes so you have to be patient. I dont think they get tipped very often so they kind of have that I dont care attitude. But they help when asked. They have a large outdoor shaded bar area which is great for getting out of the sun for a cold one. None serves you around the pool area so get up and get it yourself. I dont think they offer that service. They also have a really super daytime poolside menu. Moderate in price. Some hotels are pricier, some are less costly.
I really liked this hotel because of my upgraded room so very spacious and tranquil. The pool area, and location on the beach. The cost has gone up since I stayed there due to the place being completed in renovations. The complaints are the carpet in the suite was very used and stained, and the bellmans' actions when we first arrived. I give it a "4" and would definately return if the prices would lower just 15% or so..... But the bellman is not getting anywhere near my bags again!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FLORIDAGirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.0 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,512 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#90 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
288 reviews
7.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#61 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Address: 17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort And Spa - Miami Beach North
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North Hotel Miami Beach
Doubletree Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing