We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #78 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this property post-cruising in a two bedroom suite. First, the views and beach are spectacular. Rooms and common areas could use some attention and refurbishing, but well within the tolerable range - at least for now. Staff need to pay attention to little things (like curtains that are needing replacement) but room layouts and amenities provide a comfortable and secure stay. On a quieter end of Miami Beach, so if you're looking for hopping nightlife, stay to the south...but a relaxing/family time, this would be a solid suggestion. Buffet is a bit overpriced, but pretty good food. Beach bar offers great cocktails to go with a pristine view. Fees for everything, so be prepared. Also, did not appreciate the automatic gratuities everywhere (18% for a buffet breakfast! Come on, for bringing a pot of coffee?! That's simply wrong.)

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony room on a higher floor to allow for listening to the waves at night. Zzzzzzz
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Peter JMDC,

It is nice to hear that you will try and return. You are correct in stating that details are important and that is why we do have continuous training and coaching sessions with all of the team to be able to recognize quickly any shortcomings and be able to address them. It is not a perfect solution but we do manage to correct a vast majority of them.

Thank you for your comments and do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    611
    254
    131
    79
See reviews for
931
344
29
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We avoided South Beach, partly because of the hotel prices and the exorbitant parking fees. We were glad we had when we visited it - big disappointment, noisy, crowded, shabby and expensive. We decided to stay in Sunny Isles beach and were very pleased with our hotel. We arrived a day earlier than planned but the the delightful hotel receptionist moved things around so we could have a 17th floor room with an ocean view. The room was large with 2 comfortable beds and large bathroom. Bit tired looking in places but very clean. We did have a problem with getting hot water and the engineer admitted they had a faulty boiler but it was sorted out. Daniel, the concierge, is a charming and helpful employee. He gave us advice on what to see and do and helped us choose a trip. Sunny Isles is a nice place to stay if you are visiting Miami for a few days. It's not far to main attractions and near some good malls and restaurants. The hotel is right on the beach and has sunbeds and umbrellas. When we left, the hotel deducted our valet parking charges because of the hot water problem, which we thought was a nice gesture. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear SusannaT,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about the DoubleTree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa and we are glad you discovered Sunny Isles Beach as an alternative to other locations.

Sorry about the hot water but was glad to hear that it was resolved quickly and to your satisfaction. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our engineering team. Will also do the same to Daniel, our concierge.

Please come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is among the best I have ever stayed at. The views are to die for. And, due to the unique layout of the hotel, each room has a view of both the city and the beach. You can walk right out of the hotel onto the beach. There are nice restaurants and some touristy shops within walking distance. The suites are large and roomy and the beds are very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the city and the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your posting and recommendation. The views are nice, aren't they, and we are thankful the hotel developers thought about this and designed all rooms and suites with a partial ocean view for all guests to enjoy.

Your comments are very important to us and I will be sure to pass them along to all of our associates.

Hope we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We traveled to this hotel on April this year for our two first nights in our honeymoon before our cruise. The hotel is in a very good location although is not in the heart of Miami Beach, so you might want to consider renting a car, however have in mind that there is no self parking and you have to pay for Valet Parking. Not other options are available. Many restaurants in the area that you can walk to and there is a close by movie theater and shopping mall that you can drive to. But, when it comes to customer service we didn't really fell in love with the property. When I made the reservation I called immediately to let them know that we were honeymooners and we were requesting the best possible room in our category booked which was a small studio. When we arrived to Miami, I called again to let them know we were on our way and to confirm that we had one king size bed in our room. However, they told me that they were sold out of king size beds and the only thing available were two queen size beds. When we got there, again we tried to have one bed but they weren't avaible to accomodate us in a king size bedroom but they were able to give us the worst possible room on the third floor. I mean, we are honeymooners, we don't get a king size bed but we do get the room with the smallest windows ever seen full of dust and hairs in the bathtub? Not only there weren't prepared to have us a hooneymooners, but they didn't care for us to have a good time or to try to turn our experience around. We were moved to the 13th floor and everything was much better, but still...the experience of checking in to a room of this category was an enough bad experience for us to not want to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_PR_traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
First of all congratulations on your recent wedding and we do want to thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry you encountered some mis information which left you with a negative impression of our hotel.

We do really emphasize great guest service amongst our associates but it seems this time we did not live up to our fullest committments.

You also mentioned that the first room you were assigned was not as you expected it. Should you be reading this, please let us know what room number you were assigned in order that we may be sure to correct any shortcomings.

Again thank you for your comments and do hope you give us another chance to demonstrate our very good side.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights before going on a cruise. My wife is an honors member so we got upgraded to a two bedroom suite plus a personal note and gift from the manager. This was fantastic great size rooms and full of features. Was expecting a lot less after reading other reviews. Ok some of the kitchen and bathroom cabinets were old but fully functional. We were on the 18 floor with a wrap around balcony so could see the sea with a glimpse to inter coastal water way. Wish we had stayed longer and would go back.
Taxi from Miami International was $55 and $40 to Miami Cruise Terminal.
CVS store 5 minute walk and go the other way a few restaurants and a very good super market.
First night we ate in the restaurant and they were doing a $10 all you can eat Italian Buffet. We had a continental breakfast the next day which had a great choice. Also right on a very sandy beach. Hotel pool was small but who needs that so close to the beach. Would go here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with an Ocean view on a high floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Rowland K,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had a great experience during your stay, albeit a short one. Hopefully next time you visit you will be able to stay a bit longer and enjoy the view, the beach and all area attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our splendid 2 bedroom ocean view suite was everything we could want and more. More like a timeshare or condo than a hotel. Clean and well appointed with everything you could possibly need. the wrap round balcony can be accessed from both bedrooms, sitting room and dining area. The service from front desk, bar, restaurant and service staff was exemplary.
As we many beach front hotels the abrasive effect of sand and sea can be seen in some areas. We did not find this detrimental in any way.
The surrounding area offers restaurant, bar, market and shop choices.
We arrived by taxi from Miami International Airport for a pre cruise stay. We did not miss not having a car especially considering the parking fees.

Room Tip: 18th floor or high will offer the best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just back from a wonderful stay! Gabriel at the front desk was a great ambassador, welcoming with great customer service! The two bedroom suite was more like a condo! Clean, well appointed, and amazing views of both the ocean and the city line from the balcony that you could access from the master bedroom, parlor and dining room! Right on the beach!

If you go park your car - lots of great doning choices a short walk. Great gourmet market a short walk to the left, "Epicure"...yummy. Also a short walk to the right and back in a plaza is "Rice", food was Asian, fresh and fabulous! Great restaurant a short walk to the right, "Timo's", from the welcome,to service, to fabulous atmosphere and food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank hopesparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear hopesparkie,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experiences while staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort and Spa, particularly your comments about Gabriel at the Front Desk. Yes, he is a great Ambassador of Hospitality and I will be sure to pass along your comments to him and his peers.

Again thanks and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.0 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,527 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
290 reviews
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Address: 17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort And Spa - Miami Beach North
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North Hotel Miami Beach
Doubletree Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing