We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet troubles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Ranked #57 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I found this wonderful property on this website so I felt I should post a review if my own experience. The hotel and staff are excellent. You couldn't ask for a better location. It was close enough to the main district but enough distance to avoid noise and be in a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and elegant. Yes , the rooms are small , as is the bathroom , but keep in mind, this is a place built in 1939 so it maintains that charm! I enjoyed the retro ambiance. We were only there one night, leaving the following morning on an early AM flight. The trouble we had was with the valet at 0530 this morning. It took over a half hour for the valet to bring us our car!!! Had I known it would take that long, I would have requested it when we awoke at 0430. We had a rental car so knew we had to get on our way to catch our flight in time. I was very dissatisfied with their valet process. I would have appreciated a refund for the 25$ they charge you to valet because of the stress it caused. I even offered to walk to the garage to get the car myself but the garage was too far to do that. I hope that management will read this so that they can address this issue for future guests. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gatordoc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Gatordoc01,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not have the upmost guest experience. Feedback like your makes a difference and allows us to personalize guest experience. In the future if your travels bring you Miami Beach, please feel free to contact directly and I will ensure you have a perfect stay.

Warm wishes,

Javier Egipciaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went to Beach Beach for wine show but enjoyed the stay in this classy hotel probably more. Excellent condition with a classy touch. The staff was fantastic and very helpful.center of all the South Beach action.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mike L M,

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great experience you received and the difference my staff made.

Warm regards,

Javier Egipciaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very impressed with this hotel. Particularly worthy of mention are the staff, who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Its location is ideal, directly opposite the beach and at the edge of the art deco district. The public areas capture the elegance of the era the hotel was built. The bedrooms are modern with art deco furniture and fittings. Our standard double room was not huge but adequate, spotlessly clean and had a nice en suite shower room. A continental breakfast was included in the room rate and was sufficient for us. There were no negatives worthy of mentioning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel offers a really charming winter haven for those of us from northern climes. This part of Ocean Drive is all about the simple sophistication of the Art Deco buildings and the hotel offers a chance to experience what it must have been like to stay here in the forties and fifties – one expects to see Don Draper types wearing sharp suits in the lobby. The Art Deco theme is carried through the whole building and our room was beautifully furnished with real attention to detail.

Service was exceptional (hence the five stars), Louis in particular offered such a warm and efficient welcome that we felt immediately at home after a long drive.

If you really want a swimming pool stay at one of the huge hotels nearby (or just cross the road to one of the best beaches in the world?). But if you want a little taste of the elegance of past times, the Winter Haven is a gem. Our room was double glazed, so well sealed off from the bustle of Ocean Drive and security was good.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_UKWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to John Perez for suggesting a room location that is comfortable and quiet (bed is great!) This hotel is in a good location, near all the action and across from the beach, yet the rooms are quiet and comfortable. The restaurant is consistently good. The only negative is as others have noted, the small bathroom and in particular the sink/toilet set up. Very tight! We are enjoying our stay and would definitely recommend Winter Haven!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel was fantastic! From the GM/Javier to the entire staff, they were all smiles and helpful and FUN! The food was great and service out front was excellent. My room on the sixth floor was outstanding! The location was perfect, within walking distance to everything. I highly recommend this property for anyone! I cannot wait to go back here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11312love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

There were four in our party and we stayed mid December before cruising. The hotel is a small boutique hotel with a great heart. We had a really wonderful time the two days we stayed. We experienced great food and extremely helpful and friendly staff.

This was a lovely location and would recommend it to any of our friends in the full knowledge that they would enjoy it just as much as we did.

Well done Winter Haven from four English travellers you gave us a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#69 of 210 in Miami Beach
172 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,221 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#63 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $154 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection is a truly unique hotel in Miami Beach, Florida - built from a renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from it's rooftop terrace offering sun loungers and full food and beverage services. Savor fresh Italian cuisine on-site at Il Bolognese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing