We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot, Spot-on Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Ranked #57 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ideal location, beautifully renovated, and the staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Nina, Mariya, Lloyd, and the bartender who's name I didn't get - all of them were simply outstanding. Highly recommend the Winter Haven for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at New Haven hotel to celebrate our 24th anniversary. Nice art deco boutique style hotel directly across the street from the beach. Great onsite Italian restaurant and bar for that evening of "sit back and relax" atmosphere. This is not your typical Marriott hotel as it has the best of both worlds, comforts of Marriott with a touch of south beach charm. Rooms and bathrooms are small, but bed is very comfortable and it has that Marriott touch that guarantees you a good night sleep.
From the outside might not look convincing, but once you enter the hotel you realize that everything is going to be perfect. The profesional and friendly staff makes it even better!!!

Room Tip: Ask for corner room which has more space.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am so pleased that Marriott offers this property in South Beach. Our group had two very pleasant clean rooms. My family of four, including two teen boys, was not in the least crowded in our room. The shower was nice and roomy with great water pressure. I mention this as I have stayed in older buildings in the area that do have issues with water pressure. In addition, often older beach hotels have musty, unpleasant odors; but our rooms were extremely pleasant in this regard as was the rest of the hotel. We had a good view of the ocean and Ocean Drive. There was no problem with noise level as you often have in this area. We will definitely return to the Winter Haven. Great location, great service, great hotel, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear lisarollison,

As loyal contributor to TripAdvisor thank you for taking the time and writing your review.

I am happy to read our staff was helpful and accommodating during your stay with us.

In the future, if your travels bring to Miami Beach, please contact me directly and I will personally make the arrangements for you!

Kind regards,

John Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Winter Haven in SoBe and had a wonderful time! The hotel has a lovely lobby and spacious patio to sit and people watch. The customer service was excellent from check-in to check-out! Really appreciated the attentiveness of the entire staff, as well as, the delicious complimentary apples and iced water available in the lobby. Bottled water is also available at the front desk if you ask.

It's true that the rooms are small (typical for most art deco hotels), but what the Winter Haven lacks in space, they make up for with outstanding service!! The guest rooms are clean with chic decor and free wireless internet (plus extra amenities for Marriott Elite members!). We had room #411 with a slight ocean view and spent our days walking around SoBe. But if you want a great view or plan to spend more time in your room, spring for an ocean front room. This hotel is located at 14th & Ocean Ave - perfect area that is not too busy or noisy.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. John Perez and his entire team are top notch and know how to make their guests feel welcomed! Minor issue - elevator is a little slow and the breakfast pricing a little steep ($30 for full breakfast). But not a problem, since the hotel only has 6 floors and there are a plethora of nearby places to grab an inexpensive delicious meal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade when you arrive or via email. Also, check Marriott website for special Reward...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SouthernGurl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear SouthernGurl02,

Thank you for your kind words!

It was a delight having you as our guest and I’m very happy to hear you had as great stay with us!

We look forward to your return stay at the Winter Haven!

Warm wishes,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great service. Lisa and Mariah at the front desk are excellent. Alex, Barbaro and Lloyd at the front door are an asset to the hotel. Nice job by the hotel staff!

I recommend this hotel to others who want to be on South Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear J S,

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review us!

Lisa, Barbaro, Mariya and Alex are rock stars and I am excited to read they made your stay a memeroble one.

The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally make your reservation.


We look forward to your future visit with us!


Warm wishes,

John Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

People who stay here are in for a delightful time. It’s a jewel box Art Deco hotel, so don’t expect a huge room—but expect every possible design touch that makes it a feel-good experience! Our impeccable room was cute and elegant, with features to delight the traveler who wants something different than cookie-cutter design. The lobby reflects a bygone era with today’s amenities. The very best part of this enchanting Marriott property is the people—they are welcoming and on top of your every need. They’ll know you by name as quickly as you check in and treat you like royalty. Don’t forget about the fabulous restaurant within the hotel, either—but that’s another review. ☺

Room Tip: If you can afford a room that ends in 01 or 03, it will be bigger.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schoolmarm1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Schoolmarm1973,


Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great arrival experience you received and the difference my staff made.

We take pride in the history of hotel and we look forward to you return visit!

Kind regards,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My stay at the hotel was great! Very friendly staff and the place is clean and new. I had stayed previously at another hotel on Ocean Drive and it was a disaster, but this place was fabulous. No amenities in this hotel, but you do have a rooftop deck and the beach across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesnc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#69 of 210 in Miami Beach
172 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,221 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#63 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $154 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection is a truly unique hotel in Miami Beach, Florida - built from a renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from it's rooftop terrace offering sun loungers and full food and beverage services. Savor fresh Italian cuisine on-site at Il Bolognese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing