We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Drive Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Ranked #60 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ocean Drive Elegance”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel which recently became a part of the Marriott Autograph Collection is a pleasant surprise for an Ocean Drive hotel in South Beach. The hotel is one of the historic properties on Ocean Drive. The rooms are done in the original Art Deco style with all of the furnishings expected of the area. Included are the modern amenities expected with a Marriott property.

The rooms are on the small side, but that is the norm for Ocean Drive hotels. After staying in Ocean Drive hotels before and expecting the same, this property exceeded in attention to detail with more than just a coat of paint.

The adjacent restaurant is great for a bite to eat, although just had breakfast there, but with ambiance of all of the Ocean Drive sidewalk cafes, but not in the noisy late night section down the road. A recommended stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinoG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    482
    191
    80
    66
See reviews for
184
596
73
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely spot on Ocean Drive, very attentive staff when I stayed for a week in early January. Clean and cozy, the tiny bathrooms are the only reason I cannot rate this hotel higher. Far enough away from the potential noise, and an easy walk across the street to the beach make this an easy recommendation for a week in South Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I am glad to read my staff was attentive and responsive when needed during your visit to Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is on Ocean Drive, walk across the street to the park and beach. It recently became a Marriott Autograph Collection Hotel, and had been renovated. Keep in mind this is a classic Art Deco period hotel, with smaller rooms, hallway and elevator. The staff is terrific, and the lobby and upper mezzanine area are tastefully decorated and comfortable, keeping in the Art Deco theme. While the bathrooms are small, they are nicely appointed.If you want a big resort with all the bells and whistles, go north to Collins Ave where the big guys are located. If you want a true Art Deco experience, this is the place to be

Room Tip: We had a room facing 14th St. Not too bad for noise (remember this is South Beach and Ocean Drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartinCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I am glad to read my staff was attentive and responsive when needed during your visit. I am happy to read you enjoyed the unique features our property has to offer.

We look forward to your return stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights at winterhaven and we are very pleased with our stay. Clean, god standard and warm welcome. We did not take breakfast at the hotel but enjoyed a dinner in the restaurant and all in all , a very pleasant stay and we can recommend this to other people who looks for a nice, clean and good hotel at a great location.

Room Tip: ask for a room int the front or at least not to the back where there is an alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Wickstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! I happy pleased to read about the great stay you had. We are looking forward to you return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our time at the winter haven... The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, and "quaint" with plain and simple bath rooms.

The included continental bkfst is a nice touch. They do allow you to apply the price against other items you may prefer from the menu.

Location is terrific, with the beach across the street and in the heart of the Art Deco district.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rthau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were there for Christmas week. The room was very small, and the amenities were scarce. We were there for a week, and never got the small bathroom sundries refreshed. There were 2 of us and they never replaced the shampoo, rinse or body lotion. The view from many of the rooms is of the building next door. If you have windows on Ocean Avenue, it is terribly noisy. Complementary breakfast is coffee, juice, and small packaged pastries. The location is great, right on Ocean Avenue, where all the action is. I think I would have preferred staying at the Marriott further south, and then walking up to the Art Deco District. The desk staff is accommodating and helpful. No swimming pool, or fitness center.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very cool Art Deco style hotel re: not a full amenity, huge, modern hotel. There is no spa, swimming pool, ice machine, vending machine etc, but what the hotel lacks in modernity, it makes up for with style and history. People keep complaining about the size of the room. The room I had was plenty big enough. The bathroom was not gigantic, but was stylish and well thought out. The shower could be smallish for larger people, but wasn't an issue for us. Very nice bath stuff (soap, shampoo etc). The room had a walk in closet with a dresser inside. It was roomy enough for us with space to spare. We had a great view of the ocean and Ocean Drive. The sheets were great and I am extremely picky about my sheets. A tip: push on the mirrors on the side tables to open up to 2 shelves. The location is awesome for the real Miami Beach Art Deco feel, close to everything. This hotel does NOT feel old. It is modern in looks, but there are limits to the capacity of an older building. If you can do without a spa and stuff like that, then this hotel will suit you terrifically. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. There is a Starbucks across the street. Try the place next door (Finnegans?) for a cheap breakfast. About $15 for two breakfasts (eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns, toast).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#75 of 208 in Miami Beach
153 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#70 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,177 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Property: Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection is a truly unique hotel in Miami Beach, Florida - built from a renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from it's rooftop terrace offering sun loungers and full food and beverage services. Savor fresh Italian cuisine on-site at Il Bolognese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing