We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Ranked #59 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights at winterhaven and we are very pleased with our stay. Clean, god standard and warm welcome. We did not take breakfast at the hotel but enjoyed a dinner in the restaurant and all in all , a very pleasant stay and we can recommend this to other people who looks for a nice, clean and good hotel at a great location.

Room Tip: ask for a room int the front or at least not to the back where there is an alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy_Wickstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review! I happy pleased to read about the great stay you had. We are looking forward to you return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Enjoyed our time at the winter haven... The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, and "quaint" with plain and simple bath rooms.

The included continental bkfst is a nice touch. They do allow you to apply the price against other items you may prefer from the menu.

Location is terrific, with the beach across the street and in the heart of the Art Deco district.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank rthau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were there for Christmas week. The room was very small, and the amenities were scarce. We were there for a week, and never got the small bathroom sundries refreshed. There were 2 of us and they never replaced the shampoo, rinse or body lotion. The view from many of the rooms is of the building next door. If you have windows on Ocean Avenue, it is terribly noisy. Complementary breakfast is coffee, juice, and small packaged pastries. The location is great, right on Ocean Avenue, where all the action is. I think I would have preferred staying at the Marriott further south, and then walking up to the Art Deco District. The desk staff is accommodating and helpful. No swimming pool, or fitness center.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very cool Art Deco style hotel re: not a full amenity, huge, modern hotel. There is no spa, swimming pool, ice machine, vending machine etc, but what the hotel lacks in modernity, it makes up for with style and history. People keep complaining about the size of the room. The room I had was plenty big enough. The bathroom was not gigantic, but was stylish and well thought out. The shower could be smallish for larger people, but wasn't an issue for us. Very nice bath stuff (soap, shampoo etc). The room had a walk in closet with a dresser inside. It was roomy enough for us with space to spare. We had a great view of the ocean and Ocean Drive. The sheets were great and I am extremely picky about my sheets. A tip: push on the mirrors on the side tables to open up to 2 shelves. The location is awesome for the real Miami Beach Art Deco feel, close to everything. This hotel does NOT feel old. It is modern in looks, but there are limits to the capacity of an older building. If you can do without a spa and stuff like that, then this hotel will suit you terrifically. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. There is a Starbucks across the street. Try the place next door (Finnegans?) for a cheap breakfast. About $15 for two breakfasts (eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns, toast).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorker4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Like other reviewers, I was not impressed by the quality of the hotel but view the location as a wonderful trade off. I was in town for two nights and wanted the convenience of the beach and the ability to take a nice run along the boardwalk and people watch. This hotel provided me both at a reasonable ($150/night) rate. I did have to overlook ongoing construction of the roof deck, 30 minute times to pull the car out of valet and lack of room service. Also note that the bathroom is tiny. My knees touched the sink when using the toilet, and you can reach the sink if standing in the shower...I'm only 5'7" s no nba basketball reach here. Nice property if traveling solo or willing to overlook standard Marriott convenience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzu1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is located right at the corner of 14th street and Ocean Drive at Miami Beach. It is within walking distance to the heart of Art Deco district as well as Lincoln Road shopping area. Right across the street is the beach. The location is perfect. However, other than that, there is nothing else to be desired. The staffs were slow, inefficient and genuinely did not care about the long line of people waiting to check in. On average, it took about 20 minutes to check in one customer. The room is small, dark, and gum on the floor. Toilette items were given only on the 1st day, not the second day. You have to call to get them. I think the problem is that they are charging $400+ per night in winter times and still can completely sold out. Most of customers are one time and one time only customers. There is simply no incentive to be nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JQ16888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

There is scarcely a clue that this is a Marriott hotel - part of the Autograph collection. This Art Deco gem on Ocean Drive has been lovingly preserved but not updated, and that is part of its charm. The reception area and the hallways feature the original fittings - admire the hallway lights and the balcony bar area. We had two rooms with splendid views to the Ocean - and of the Fourteenth Street restrooms which must be some of the most photogenic in the world. The rooms lack most of the gizmos of modern hotels and the bathrooms (shower only in our case) are small, but adequate; you do however need to open a window for ventilation. Remember how? Yet the rooms were pleasant and comfortable and somehow relaxing. The small wall-mounted air-conditioning unit was noisy but unnecessary so we unplugged it.
The continental breakfast featured exquisite but tiny pastries and the lobby restaurant serves a perfectly decent pasta in the evenings.
Allergy warning: If slick business hotels are your thing and you like your room to be the same every time, do not stay here. If however you go for a bit of character, there is much to enjoy here. Handy for everything too.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,430 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#78 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $174 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection is a truly unique hotel in Miami Beach, Florida - built from a renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from it's rooftop terrace offering sun loungers and full food and beverage services. Savor fresh Italian cuisine on-site at Il Bolognese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing