We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raleigh Miami Beach
Ranked #36 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and location but.....”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a fantastic week in miami in February 2013. The weather was great and the hotel was as described. Very deco with the most fantastic pool. The restaurant and bar area were beautiful and the service impeccable. We ate at the hotel on our first and last nights in Miami (valentines day) and found the food to be of a high standard although the wine list was, in our opinion, over priced.

The only problem with the hotel was the walls were paper thin. We heard every conversation and ablution of our neighbours. On one night, our neighbours came in at 3 am and decided to have a mini party in their room. We called the front desk and security came straight away (we could here them too!). Despite this the noise continued and by 5 am we gave up and asked to be moved to another room for the night. Reception were very accommodating and apologetic but they did say that the lack of sound proofing was a common complaint. We think they should put signs up in the rooms reminding guests to be considerate of their neighbours.

So, in short, fabulous hotel in many ways but we would never stay there again as I really hate hearing other people's noise. I value peace and quiet too much.

Room Tip: Try to avoid inner rooms as if you add the noise of the elevator to the problem with hearing the nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    455
    152
    68
    50
See reviews for
299
748
106
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Raleigh is an elegant, classic South Beach hotel with probably the best pool in Miami Beach. The whole experience was very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed with no hassles. Rooms and facilities could use some freshening/updating (which will likely happen with the hotel's purchase by SBE) but the decor and overall vibe is very low key and quintessential South Beach without the pumping music and trendy scene...and the service is friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay, mellow breakfasts and lunches by the pool or on the beach...The Raleigh is a no brainer.

Room Tip: We heard the rooms are quiet small. We had a nice sized room on the 2nd floor with a corner balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCExplorer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The reservation process was shambolic with numerous e mails ignored and eventually explained as a “problem with the servers”. In compensation an upgrade to an ocean facing room was guaranteed. Upon arrival we were shown to a pokey room facing the street. The front desk refused to accept that an upgrade was guaranteed claiming it was “subject to availability”. I produced the e mail refuting this which caused much “back room” chatter but no result. I was given the name of the front office manager (who was allegedly contacted but “off duty”) but all my attempts to contact him by e mail and text were ignored.
As to the hotel itself, we did, the next day get moved to the correct room but this was of little use as it was late in the day and we were leaving the next morning. The room was no more than “adequate”, small with a bathroom the size of a postage stamp and an air conditioning system worthy of an industrial factory judging from the noise it makes.
Remarkably, in this day and age, the hotel does not have a gym although they do have an arrangement with a “sister property” down the road but when it is teeming down with rain this is not an acceptable alternative…
Overall, a very underwhelming experience albeit a very "retro" styling but I would definitely NOT recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-agent-boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Boris,

Thank you for taking the time to post and share your feedback. The experience you encountered at our hotel was pretty rare, but that doesn’t make it any more right. It was very nice to have the opportunity to speak with you shortly after your departure and we sincerely appreciate you giving us another chance on your next visit to South Beach. During your next visit with us I will personally ensure your stay is remarkable, positive and memorable for all the right reasons. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and trust that your review has been shared with our team.


Best Regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Miami Beach has something for everyone, and The Raleigh is the perfect place if you're looking to have a more laid-back, authentic Miami experience. Our three-day mini-vacation was so relaxing that it seemed we'd been gone a full week. The staff is superb... discreetly attentive and the property itself takes you back to the days of Frank Sinatra and classic South Beach. The pool area is perfect for spending the afternoon, and if you want to check out the beach, the Raleigh beach attendants will set you up with chairs and an umbrella. The on-site restaurant, Royal Palm, offers a very nice lunch selection. We splurged on dinner here our last evening and it was well worth it: The filet mignon was perfectly prepared, while my partner enjoyed the ahi tuna. You must try the lobster mac and cheese side dish. The activity and high energy of Ocean Drive is just a short walk away, either along the oceanside boardwalk or just down Collins Avenue. We will most definitely be back to enjoy The Raleigh.

Room Tip: The pool-view rooms are perfect. Spacious, quiet and stocked with a full bar of drinks and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming to the Raleigh for nearly a decade now. The pool is one of the most beautiful and relaxing on South Beach. Never 'sceney', this tranquil and convenient oasis keeps its classic art-deco style. The landscaping is beautiful. Rooms are comfortable, and the service impeccable. Great food, too. A hotel for grown-ups.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I love the feel and look of this hotel. It does not have the cool factor of some other hotels in Miami, but if you want a quiet place to stay with beach access and a nice pool, this place is fine. The bellman is always ready to open your door, move your car, etc. the restaurant is good but very expensive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LJDobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Raleigh is a great value in South Beach and on the beach but not too far from everything. I booked a room that was very clean, with a very dated bathroom though, for just over $100 a night. However the first night the hotel was booked. They asked if their apartments just around the corner would be okay. I agreed ( over the phone).

I would say to avoid the apartments. They were next to a loud bar and were not secure at all. I checked into the National instead for the night.

The front desk staff was great.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Raleigh apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hi3655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,810 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,411 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,135 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#17 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,191 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raleigh Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh Miami Beach

Property: The Raleigh Miami Beach
Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as a "grand dame" of South Beach Art Deco by Conde Nast Traveler, The Raleigh Miami Beach is a perfect blend of style and comfort. It's chic yet unpretentious, and historic while tastefully modern. The Raleigh offers guests world-class luxury hotel service at a prime oceanfront location on Collins Avenue with exclusive access to the award-winning sbe Miami Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raleigh Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing