We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...Fabulous Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raleigh Miami Beach
Ranked #37 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2011

It was my first visit to Miami, a girls' long weekend and my friend and I decided to go a little beyond our budget because we were very taken by the Raleigh's pool. We are so happy that we decided to stay at The Raleigh instead of at any of the other hotels on South Beach. From the moment you arrive the staff are extremely accommodating. Our taxi door was opened for us, our bags were taken up to the room and the service only got better from there. The front desk staff, especially Jeffrey and Fernando, were extremely helpful in terms of giving us restaurant and entertainment recommendations and making sure that we always had something to do.

The restaurant staff remembered us each and everyday we came down for our meals. And it was lovely eating our meals outside under the trees, surrounded by beautiful orchids and overlooking the pool.

The pool is as beautiful as the pictures and the staff was great. But the best surprise for us was the beach access and the service on the beach. John, Lester and Allan work hard to make sure all of the guest are comfortable, have a nice spot on the beach and get the food and drink that they are hungry for.

My friend and I took a look at the other hotels nearby and I do feel like The Raleigh might be smaller than the others and the inside has a bit more of an older styling. It has a vintage feel, nothing is shabby, but if you're looking for ultra modern, then you won't find that here. But it's such a charming hotel.

The location is really close to Lincoln Road and a quick taxi ride or hop on the 25 cent circulator down toward the more "happening" area of South beach. All of the clubs and crowds are further down, btw. But that was great for us because we never had to worry about noise disturbing our sleep.

The Raleigh was great and I definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumacess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
There are newer reviews for The Raleigh Miami Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,322 - 1,328 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here last weekend with my husband and we had a great stay, although we had a person in the elevator tell us that he wasn't expecting the hotel to be so old without any remodeling. If you need a modern room, this isn't the place for you. Unlike some of the other hotels on Collins that are Art Deco-inspired, this one is truly Art Deco.

The main reason this place made such a great stay was the service and the beach/pool amenities. At the beach you get free lounge chairs and the attendant sets up cushions on the chair for you. The lounge chairs can be pricey at other hotels. At the pool there are lots of beds and lounge chairs to lay out in. There are also free cabanas that do not face the pool, but are located on their "oasis" section, which is a sandy section on the way to the beach that has a volleyball court.

The brunch food and pool food were very good. We did a summer Florida residents package and were surprised that the included breakfast was actually very good. Drinks at the pool are expensive but good, as well as the pool food.

We usually stay at The Sagamore which has nicer rooms, but will likely come back to The Raleigh because the service and beach amenities were so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nouny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJCotter, General Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Nouny2011,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Raleigh Hotel and posting such lovely pictures. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the pool and beach service. It is true our hotel has just turned 71 years old and is an original Art Deco landmark. That said, it sounds like you appreciated the beauty and charm that comes with such timelessness. I hope that you will be happy to hear that we are embarking on a beautification/ renovation process which will maintain every bit of magic and appeal of the Raleigh. We truly hope that you come back and stay with us soon to see the wonderful upgrades that will occur.

Best,
The Executive Team, 305-612-1120

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

You come to the Raleigh for the Art Deco pool and the vibe. It is not as modern, but that's the allure. Once in awhile, we get deals to come here for a few nights and its always consistent. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are somewhat outdated, but you get past all of that because the pool area is so great. The food and drinks were very good, especially breakfast.

At the right price, we always head down here for a few nights.

Room Tip: Last minute deals are worth it
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMKC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed at The Raleigh for 4 days, it is a gorgeous hotel in a great location, all of the waiting/bar staff were wonderful especially Ivan, unfortunately we were staying at the same time as Lindsay Lohan so some of the front of house staff became quite rude, telling the paying guests no pictures even parents just taking pictures of their children or people trying to get a picture of the iconic pool which left a bit of a bitter taste - on the 4th day we were there the pool was closed for repair, but the beach is just across the road and had waiter service again the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you. I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: try and get a pool view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LibWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Just came back from a four night stay at the Raleigh. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. We stayed in a terrace suite overlooking the pool. Although very simply appointed, the room was clean and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself was lovely especially the pool. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a problem with the air conditioning the first day and it was attended to right away. When it happened again the next day staff was very apologetic and again fixed it right away. Have stayed in Miami many times and the Raleigh definitely provides a quiet oasis away from the chaos that can be South Beach but still within walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Downside to our stay was no refrigerator or ice machine (hated to keep asking housekeeping to send ice up to our room) and we wished that pool staff was a little more attentive with service. Would defintiely stay at the Raleigh again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grkgrl2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed here with my family (all adults), and it was a pleasant experience all around. The pool is incredible, whether you are swimming in it during the day or enjoying a drink beside it at night. Beach access is also very convenient, and the service at both is outstanding.

The rooms could use some updating (in particular, better mattresses), but they are very clean and include amenities such as Kiehls products and free Figi water in the evening. I really love the layout of their King sized bed rooms. I was not a fan of the double room layout (very cramped).

The Art Deco style of the hotel is very charming and makes you feel like you are part of a different time without sacrificing modern amenities. The restaurant is great, and they allow pets as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abnyc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

+ Architecture, pool area, some of the staff were excellent and attentative.
- Some arrogant staff, small rooms, somewhat old, paperthin walls and loud cleaners in hall

We can't stress enough how surprised we were by some of the staff's attitude. Returning from a short walk, one staffer used animal sounds rather than words to enquire if we were guests by the hotel. The manager didn't respond really well to our complaints on several of the staffs.

Architecture, lounge and pool was great, but our stay was ruined by the way the staff's poor attitude towards the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,915 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,483 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#42 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,175 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raleigh Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh Miami Beach

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $203 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as a "grand dame" of South Beach Art Deco by Conde Nast Traveler, The Raleigh Miami Beach is a perfect blend of style and comfort. It's chic yet unpretentious, and historic while tastefully modern. The Raleigh offers guests world-class luxury hotel service at a prime oceanfront location on Collins Avenue with exclusive access to the award-winning sbe Miami Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raleigh Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing