We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,741)
Filter reviews
14,741 results
Traveler rating
8,920
2,818
1,363
802
838
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,920
2,818
1,363
802
838
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tresor tower sorrento tower lapis spa bleau bar liv nightclub pool area beautiful hotel junior suite lobby bar ocean view amazing service beach service people watching pool staff valet service valet parking beach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
11,581 - 11,586 of 14,741 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2010

the loud air conditioning system which goes on and off all night stopped us having a good nights sleep (+ loud door banging (poor self closers) noisy inconsiderate Clients late at night)
Sitting on the balcony was quite pleasureable - be sure to take in the smoke from the barbecuue 11 / 12 floors below - which lasts from before lunchtime to well into the afternoon.
Sorry , but we would not book here again.
Generally when we stay at hotels we do like to have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Thank you very much for your recent visit and valuable feedback regarding your own experience.

It is extremely unfortunate that what was expected to be a restful nighttime was disrupted by the malfunction of the in-room air-conditioning unit and neighboring guests. We apologize for the disturbance and wonder if we were ever given the opportunity to react and resolve the situations. The barbecue offering by the pool area was one of our holiday services. We regret that it kept you from fully enjoying your relaxation on the balcony, most likely due to its location being directly above the lawn adjacent to our main pool. If we may be granted the chance to host you again, we would gladly suggest other accommodations from the vast variety of guestrooms and towers that would best suit your personal needs.

In the hope of restoring your satisfaction, we would be grateful if you allow us to directly connect with you. At your convenience, please kindly contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688 with the reservation name, room number and dates of your stay.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I have to say first off- this is a beautiful hotel. Beyond that, I am quite disappointed.

In my view, certain things should be complimentary for those that pay the high price required for such a hotel. I feel this hotel tries to "nickel and dime" you whenever it can. That leaves a very low class impression upon me.

Examples-

1) Internet access is provided via an iMac computer- however they do NOT inform you (until you stumble upon it) that you are charged for this~$18/day for access to various things (gym, local calls, AND internet). I have been in 2-3 star hotels in which Wifi is free! The Mac is nice to look at but don't need it.

2) Got a drink at the main bar (Bleau)- it said $13 for the drink on the menu. The waitress charged me an "ice fee" of $3 (and did not tell me when I ordered). So the bill ended up being $21 with taxes & automatic 17% tip applied. I don't mind that 17% gratuity is added- but think its just low class to not inform you of an "ice fee". Who does that! Apparently they gave me slightly more liquor to compensate for the ice.

3) Small things like nail clipper, face wash, etc...should be supplied at your request at such a hotel. Again, I have stayed at MUCH lower star hotels and this is a no automatically provided. These are just examples though I think it is indicative of ways the hotel attempts to just get a little more cash from its hotel guests.

4) Also along the lines of #3- there should be at least a coffee maker in the room (again 2-3 stars have this!). Another "little thing". They charge you $XX for a coffee maker as well as a microwave. Also I do not think its too much trouble or expense for that matter (again given what you pay for a night!) to provide low cost bottled water instead of the $10 water.

5) I was told by guest services two different things by two separate people- one that indoor pool access is only available for an additional access fee. Another person informed me that it is only accessible to those who are owners. Not sure of the truth! Again given the hotel rate I find it ridiculous this exists. Miami does not have 75-85 degree weather during end of december anymore so such a hotel should provide for free access to its indoor pools.

My overall impression of this hotel is that it is way too expensive for the value one gets. I would recommend investigating lower cost hotels. Your Miami Beach experience is not augmented by staying here (you can always visit and get a drink or eat dinner if you desire).

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your own viewpoint and opinions of your recent stay with us.

Please allow us to respond below:
1) Our hotel fee of $17.95 per day includes various service amenities, which are separately available at higher prices at many comparable luxury hotels. For details please refer to GUEST FAQS in our official website

2) Please accept our apologies for failing to inform you in advance of the charge for additional liquor provided when ordered on the rocks

3) You certainly make an excellent point. We currently offer complimentary mouthwash, dental kits and other frequently desired items upon request for our guests' convenience. Your suggestions will be valued and considered for our next amenity improvement plans

4) All our junior and one-bedroom suites in the Sorrento and Trésor towers are equipped with in-room coffee makers. Each of these suites also features a kitchenette or kitchen with appliances including a microwave.

5) Registered hotel guests or visitors are invited to enjoy our 75-foot co-ed pool located inside Lapis Spa. Any service of $75 or higher includes the complimentary use of this indoor pool as well as many other amenities, or $35 per guest for access to these facilities. We apologize for the conflicting information given by some of our team members, and assure you of appropriate training to prevent reoccurrence

It is extremely unfortunate that your recent visit left much to be desired this time. In the hope of restoring your satisfaction, we would be grateful for the opportunity to directly connect with you. At your convenience please kindly contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688 with the reservation name, room number and dates of your stay. We hope to hear from you.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We were very worried after reading a lot of negative reviews in the trip advisor, but we found a beautiful hotel, quick check in, great view from the ocean view room and the best the pc in the room, which helped us plan the rest of our trip.
We've tried the vida resaturant and the Solo and they were pricy, but the service was excellent. The pool restaurant's service was very slow and pricy also.
The beddings were excellent, but the hotel policy is to clean the room between 9-17, so each time we left the room and came back, the room wasn't made yet, while the hour was 15 pm.
We were promised to have assistense with hot water for the baby food, but each time we've asked the room service to bring us the hot water, they wanted to charge a service charge and we had tp explain each time that the hot water is for the baby food.
The vallet parking is expensive, but other hotel in the area charge the same, so there is nothing to compain about abd the vallet service is excellent.
The hotel has a beautiful spa and gym,but I didn't have a chance to use it.
The location of the hotel is very good, not far from SObe and there many restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

We are sincerely grateful for your recent stay and the wonderful feedback in your review.

You are perfectly right in pointing out the correlation between excellent service and prices. They must match at all times. Thank you very much for recognizing the staff and service quality in many areas including Vida, Solo and valet parking. Please accept our apologies for the less desirable experiences at the poolside restaurant and in-room dining. We assure you of continued efforts to reduce and eliminate such shortcomings and to provide the true luxury service expected in every part of your stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. If we may be of assistance in any personal needs and wishes, please contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688 with the reservation name and dates of your visit.

Happy Holidays,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We stayed here from May 12-16, 2010 for the International Vein Congress. For a meeting location, this was great. The conference rooms were large, the audiovisual equipment was good, and the food offered was pretty yummy. Aside from the meeting, we tanned our hides outside and this experience is a bit surreal. There are rows and rows and rows of beach chairs laid out for the specific purpose of getting bronzed. If you are not out early to claim one of these chairs, you can bet that you will have a hard time later finding one. You can pay for a great seat that is poolside, but you will literally pay for that privilege. The bed and room itself were clean, modern and comfortable. The restaurants on site, Scarpetta's, Vida, & Gotham Steaks, were awesome. We also dined at Wish in South Beach, and this was definitely worth it. The food at Wish was delicious, the ambiance is romantic, but the prices were kinda high. On site is the nightclub Liv. This was definitely the hotspot of the moment. Getting in was impossible. There is no line, you just gather in a large crowd and the doormen randomly lets the beautiful people in. As a paying hotel guest, it would have been nice for the hotel to at least allot entrance on a 1st come-1st serve basis. They do not. In fact, staying in the hotel gets you no special privileges as far as the nightclub is concerned. Now, we certainly don't think that they need to let every Joe in, but come on, throw us a bone for paying their outrageous room rates! Overall, a great place to have a meeting and experience Miami.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai-Lan-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind compliments and recommendation to other travelers.

We are much inspired to learn that your business trip in May was a success, and that you enjoyed our dining venues, pool services and guestroom amenities. Regarding our nightclub LIV, we apologize for any disappointment experienced. Registered hotel guests are invited to take advantage of expedited entry at the beginning of its normal hours of operation, upon paying regular admission fees and meeting its dress code.

Your expressed satisfaction and loyalty are most appreciated. We hope to be able to host you again on you return visits to Miami Beach.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Though only staying for one night, we had a great experience at the Fountainbleau. Knowing our stay was brief, we tried to experience the most of the resort. Upon checkin, a large bus group arrived at the same time, but we were told we could checkin at the smaller area, and even though well before 4pm, were checked in early and given a beautiful 10th floor room in the Chateau building. The room was beautiful, nice touch with Macs and internet access. Stunning view of pool grounds and that turquiose Miami ocean! We had a quick lunch outside by the pool, good sangria, fast service. Had a wonderful spa treatment at Lapis. Very nice facility, although the female attendants could have been a bit more helpful in explaining the facility. Excellent Swedish massage by Debbie. We dined at Gotham, were seated immediately and enjoyed a superb dinner, with a very attentive staff from the minute we were seated. The food was excellent and visual presentation was beautiful. A great, gourmet meal! The lobster bisque was superb, as well as the tirimasu! Would totally recommend dining there. We were also given a coupon booklet upon checkin, and used many of them. Only wish our stay could have been longer.. we would love to return some day soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpandmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

How kind of you to take the time to share your inspiring compliments.

We are extremely grateful that you chose us as your destination, and that you fully enjoyed our service from check-in to dining by the pool and at Gotham, guestroom amenities as well as our spa treatment and facilities. Thank you very much for mentioning the lack of helpfulness experienced with the staff you encountered. Please be assured that we take your feedback most seriously for continuous training of our team members that is currently in place.

Our entire team of over 2,000 employees anxiously awaits your return visits.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews