We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, trendy hotel..aweful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #46 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, trendy hotel..aweful service”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel is right on the beach with a pool area that has multiple sections to lay out on and a dj/lounge restaurant on the edge of the pool area. The hotel has a modern and very trendy look and feel to it. The rooms were nice, but we were essentially downgraded and had to switch rooms mid-trip to avoid being in a noisy area near the night club which is open until 5am. When we actually went to the club, LIV, which is supposively the hottest club in the area, we were considered lucky to get in. Don't ask me why because we left at 1am when nobody had started dancing and the place was only 1/4 full.
The customer service in the spa was aweful as they gave up our treatment time to another guest and then tried to charge us a 50% cancellation fee which was a result of their error in booking. We almost missed the flight because they couldn't explain $450 on the hotel room bill and managed to get it wrong after asking them to fix it twice.
I will say the spa itself was beautiful and the steak house was really good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreakmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
We sincerely appreciate your recent stay earlier this month and valuable feedback.

Thank you for recognizing the appearance, location, facilities of our resort as well as our signature steakhouse Gotham. With that said, we are extremely concerned that you experienced shortcomings in the manner we handled our guestroom and spa arrangements for you. Please accept our deepest apologies for your disappointment.

Your loyalty and satisfaction are essential as we strive to become the destination of your choice. We would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss the specifics of your challenges. At your convenience, please contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688 with the reservation name, room number and dates of your stay.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,825
    2,551
    1,204
    685
    692
See reviews for
3,027
3,120
355
2,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Okay, given that heading, let's start with the positives.

Our room (junior suite for family of 5) was clean and large. The pools are well maintained. But that's it.

On arrival, we waited three hours for our bags from the bellboy who had whipped them away as we got out our taxi. So no swimming, despite exhausted kids. When we phoned to complain eventually, the bags arrived within 5 mins. I have no doubt they were waiting for a call so they could deliver to someone in a room and receive a tip.

We asked for a roller bed as the junior suite sleeps 4 not 5. Extra charge of $40 per night (not mentioned on website). No turndown service, so we had to make the sofa bed and roller bed ourselves each evening. They also failed to supply pillows for roller bed, and took over an hour to deliver them when we phoned on the first evening.

Breakfast is a shockingly craven $120 for a family of 5 for a VERY small buffet (cereals, toast, cheese etc). Anything cooked costs far more. A TINY bottle of water (250 mls) costs $4+tax. On day three, we went to the hotels beach adjacent to the hotel to be told that sun beds were $18 each and umbrellas $22 each. And they expected a tip for putting them out for us. We turned round and walked back.

The kids pool has a lovely water slide. Except they don't allow people to use it Monday to Friday because they don't have a lifeguard there. Weekends only. So website misleading again.

Everything is shockingly overpriced, verging on corrupt. Staff are dismissive - not rude exactly, but its pretty clear some of the staff feel resentful. Our maid is haughty and aloof (the odd time we saw her - as I said, no evening turndown).

We are currently on day 3 of 5, and I have felt driven to write this review mid-holiday for the first time. This is not a nice place to stay. If it wasn't for the hassle of moving a family of five, I would not stay a moment longer. Anyone reading this review - and all the others saying the hotel ekes out every penny it can - take the comments seriously and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Daniel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
We are deeply concerned about your comments. We apologize for your disappointment with some of our staff and services when your stay has not even ended. It is unacceptable that you had to wait a lengthy period of time until your luggage was delivered. We do not wait for guests to call as most guests are present in guestrooms within the first minutes of their arrival. For our rollaway fee that is noted in our website, please refer to the Guest FAQS section under ACCOMMODATION. Our breakfast in Vida offers choices of the Continental buffet as mentioned in your remark and the American buffet with a wide variety of selections freshly cooked in the open kitchen.

In the hope of reaching you prior to your departure from our resort or Miami Beach, we would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss the specifics of your challenges for the best possible resolution. At your convenience, please contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688 with the reservation name and room number.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Once again, my wife and I had a wonderful time at the Fontainebleau. Starting with a swift check in and easy arrival experience we have come to expect......the room beat our expectations with a balcony and a killer view over the pool. We decided to splurge and have dinner at Hakkasan. The service was spot on, the wine was perfectly paired with our meal. This is a must-try for visits to Miami. All of our meals were tasty and service exceeded my expectations. Room Service is also a must...the waiters were great. Felt like a VIP the entire time....what a service culture they have at my favorite Miami Resort!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Following your previous stay in June, we are overwhelmingly excited to hear about your return visit earlier this month and to receive your wonderful compliments.

Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you and your wife again. Your gracious feedback inspires us tremendously seeing that, living in Las Vegas, you must be much accustomed to some of the highest luxury and service levels of the renowned hotels.

We appreciate every part of your comment about your experience with us, not to mention the kind recognition of our staff, service, dining at Hakkasan, in-room dining and many more, but what we are most grateful for is your loyalty.

You have our full commitment to becoming your exclusive destination in Miami Beach. For anything special we could do for your next stay, please contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

If you're in your 20s, like loud music booming everywhere, people on top of each other at the pool areas then this is the place for you.
Everyone you waits on you in any way has their hand out for a tip, so bring PLENTY of cash.
The restaurants are sooo expensive, coffee is $5.
Our room didn't get cleaned until 4pm when we were back in the room.
I had to cover my 6 year old daughter's eyes a number of times due to the obcene behavior of some of the guests.
The air conditioner in the room was so loud it woke us up each time it kicked on.
The room had no balcony, overlooked rooftop, I can't even go on. You'd be better off at the sheraton next door.
The beaches are beautiful, but you don't have to stay here to enjoy them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meggan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your own feedback.

We realize that your stay with us left much to be desired this time. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment. We make every possible effort to inform guests prior to and upon their arrival of our various guestroom types and features to choose from, daily housekeeping service hours and other amenities so that our guests could have the most appropriate expectations and enjoy themselves to the fullest. It is unfortunate that we evidently missed the opportunity to do so.

In the hope of recovering your satisfaction and loyalty, we would be grateful if we may discuss the specifics of your challenges with you. At your convenience, please contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688 with the reservation name, room number and dates of your stay.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate a birthday. Fontainebleau had amazing service, beautiful views of the ocean and great restaurants to dine in. The rooms were impeccable and a pleasure to stay in. I like the fact that they have areas for parents and their kids as well as pools for adults. The best of both worlds! I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Miami Beach or city nearby stay at this amazing hotel. Nothing is better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sa4554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
We are overwhelmingly excited and grateful for your kindest compliments.

Your gracious feedback inspires every one of over 2,000 Fontainebleau team members committed to making your experiences most enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you very much again for your stay and wonderful comments. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome back you and your entire family soon.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed for a week in 2 rooms. We loved the service, the pools and beach, the stylish Bleu Bar, and the restaurants, with the exception of Vide where food and service were poor. The rooms were nice in the Chateau, with ocean views and really comfortable beds, I-Macs and flat screen TVs. Our stay would have been wonderful were it not that the hotel is totally dedicated to extracting every last dollar. Buffet breakfast for 4, $125!! Valet park, there's no self-park, $32 per day. A Coke, $7, and the restaurant prices are truly eye watering, and don't even think about the mini-bar- a 50cl bottle of Chardonnay for $38? I commented on the prices at checkout. The clerk's only comment.."that's Miami Beach". Be warned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefft53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments about your recent stay with us.

We are most grateful for your kind compliments on our service, guestroom features, pool and beach offerings as well as the dining and bar experiences that you enjoyed. Please accept our apology for your disappointment with Vida this time. With that said, we are puzzled in trying to understand as to why your perceived value did not match your high opinions of our service and amenities. The pricing in the Miami Beach area may certainly be higher than that of some other cities, therefore we rigorously strive for the ultimate luxury service quality that best satisfies our guests' expectations and defies the general image of exorbitance.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the specifics of your feedback. At your convenience, please contact us by e-mail at GuestRelations@fontainebleau.com, or via phone at 305-674-4688 with the reservation name, room number and dates of your stay.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

lovley pool , gorgeous view from hotel room, expensive drinks , no courtesy bus into Miami like last time !! and no coffee making facility in room health and safely lol , just wanted us to pay in the coffee shop !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnamariakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
We sincerely appreciate your visit and gracious recommendation of our hotel.

Thank you for your compliments on our pool scene and the view that you enjoyed. We offer a variety of junior and one-bedroom suites that come with in-room coffee makers and complimentary daily replenishment service. Please advise us of your needs and preferences upon reserving your room if we may welcome you back in the future.

Thank you again for your wonderful review. We hope to be able to host you again.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team / Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,856 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,390 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#10 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,086 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing